Criminal logo

Crimals World

Explosive evidence

By Sara KlinePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
The collection bag for evidence pertaining to the case.

Mason was trying to get me out, But time was of the essence. I knew at any given moment the place about to explode. The gunfire from Smith's gun had sparked a fire and the gases in the room was about ignite the biggest bomb ever. While Smith and his crew were occupied, Mason took it upon himself to save us and get us out as quickly as he could.

Sally and the team was back away from the place and she was using her binoculars to see if any one was coming out. She watched and watched and finally she saw mason and he was waving a white hanky of mine in the air to get attention. She hollered and said we need assistance to get them out before the place explodes. Men from all over ran to our aid. As they grabbed us and ran us out of the way the place blowed up and Smith and his members all went with the building. But we did not know that a handful had escaped.

EMT'S ran to my aid as mason called to them to come quick Branson was shot. Sally dropped hearing her partner of 40 years was shot. A man she knew was careful and mindful of his surroundings and yet I was able to get myself shot. She came over to the ambulance and sat next to my bed and she said to me you will be alright. Fire fighters had there hands full. The investigating had there hands full along with forensics.

My wife was notified by Sally that I was shot. She hurried to the hospital when she arrived she was told I had to have surgery the bullet grazed my liver and spine. I was going to heal perfectly fine and I would be ok. Meanwhile at the scene investigators and fire marshalls had confirmed the remains of Smith and other fellow members of the group. They were able to collect enough evidence to convict the handful of men who escaped.

My team had there handful of leads and enough evidence to find these handful of men and women. I was ready to leave the hospital and get started on the search for these individuals. But my wife had something to say on that matter. She wanted me to heal and to let the best in the force go out and search. I was torn. I had stitches in my hands from the zip ties and stitches in belly and back.

I wasn't focused on the pain or the surgery i just went through I was more interested in closing the case. My team was my best support system and Sally came to me and told me she was leading the investigation till it was closed for myself and my family. She even told me Mason joined the team to bring down the rogue and ex cops who where amongst the criminalistic behaviors that nearly cost me my life.

I was proud, I never imagined my own team would come together on my behalf. Its amazing to know that I have a great team and staff behind me. I now could focus on the healing.

What was my future going to bring and how big was this organization? The answers to these questions was coming sooner than I expected. This is not easy the line of work I am in, but I enjoy my job cause I help keep the citizens safe. But since the incident I am not so sure I can do that anymore. My partner Sally looked at me and said Branson you risked your life to save a good cop and you tried to get the ones whom are bad.

Thats more than any officer or detective I ever known would do. You take the opportunity and you make it what it is, no one else has ever done that before. You quit and the force is lost without you. My partner then walked away and I told her to wait, I am not quitting the force I never would. I took this job for a reason and that reason is to rid the streets of bad guys like them. We will put forth a team and work towards catching these criminal masterminds and putting them behind bars.

We have to go back to the scene and make sure that we did not miss anything every little piece of evidence is crucial in this case. Sally told me to rest up and get out the hospital and she will take a team with her to the scene and clean up everything and get everything possible to help with the capture of the criminals behind it.

I smiled and told her to go and I will get out this hospital as quickly as I can. After Sally left the doctor and staff came in with my wife. The doctor said to me I was the bravest man he ever met or the stupidest. I looked at him confused. He told me I was lucky that my spine was not affected from the gunshot and that I made it out alive, he explained if it was a little more to the left I would be permently in a wheel chair.

I told him I guess god and the angels did not have that in the plan. He told me I get out tomorrow and go home and take it easy. I said by easy you mean do my job in the comfort of my home. The doctor laughed at me, but I was serious. I told the doctor I will be careful and do the paper pushing and supervise a team.

I called my chief and he was glad to hear from me, he advised he was coming to see me and talk in person. I waited he arrived at my room. He told me that he would work with me to continue doing my job cause I was the best detective he had on staff. I told him of my plan with sally and he said he will assist how ever he can. We put things in order and he said once I was cleared to come back to office I still had my desk but as supervisor of the criminal investigation unit.

I was shocked, me as a supervisor, me as a boss and in charge it was crazy to think and yet I was ok with it. I told my chief I would do everything in my power to produce excellent detectives in my unit.

But for now we needed to put these criminals behind bars first and then I can focus on the next chapter.

Till the next chapter capturing the masked clowns of terror.....

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sara Kline

My name is Sara I live in the country in a small town in pennsylvania called St thomas. I enjoy writing and craft making but I do this in the comfort of my home. I enjoy making my own hours and bossing me around. let me create your design

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.