Criminal logo

Brother Pulled The Trigger.

He really, really gets what he really, really wanted.

By Rajaroy Joseph AlphonsePublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1
Brother Pulled The Trigger, by Rajaroy Joseph Alphonse.

Daniel Gibbs is sweating. It makes it hard to keep a firm grip on the snub-nosed revolver that he bought recently for a cheap price. So he switches it from his clammy right hand to his clammy left hand, all the while pointing it at Gemma. Her soft, thin and pale hands, not pale anymore, are tied to a wooden chair.

Daniel: What makes you think I won't hurt you?

Gemma: You promised you'll be there to protect me always.

Daniel: I really, really don't mind breaking it unless you tell me. Where is it?

Gemma: You're drunk?

Daniel: No.

Gemma: Yes, you are. Stop pointing it at me. You may accidentally pull the trigger.

Daniel: Where is that bloody notebook?

BANG!

Three days later, Gemma's family and a few friends have gathered at a cemetery during the early hours of a cold morning. A thick fog has spilled on the ground. Four men are lowering the coffin using a pulley system. A single raven caws from a distant tree.

A Guilty Daniel At The Funeral, by Rajaroy Joseph Alphonse.

Daniel is slouched on the shabby brown steps by the entrance, a good forty yards away from the gathering. He looks younger for his age, but even younger when an unexpected breeze ruffles his yellow-blonde hair. Holding a cigarette between his slender fingers, he stares at the funeral. His eyes are not cold or brutal this time. Instead, they're dreary and overwhelmingly guilty.

Later that day, a pair of tungsten lights come to life. Two men are taking sips from their whiskey glasses, sitting in a living room.

Dad Jones: Tomorrow would be Gemma's birthday, her twenty second.

Daniel: ...

Dad Jones: I know how... but why?

Daniel: ...

Dad Jones: Why did you...?

Daniel: Dad?

Dad Jones: Don't you dare call me that.

Three nights earlier, the shimmering city lights have taken over the nightly streets. The clamoring and chattering of drunk people outside a nightclub, subdued by a rock music, at least two blocks away from Kent's Lane, is echoing in the cold air. Slumped against a lamp post, Daniel takes a smooth first drag of his cigarette.

Daniel and Gemma at Kent's Lane, by Rajaroy Joseph Alphonse.

Gemma: What time is it?

Daniel: Quarter of eight. Sure you don't wanna smoke?

Gemma: No. I like when it's cold outside.

Daniel: Whatever.

Gemma: I broke up with Ben.

Daniel: Obvious, ain't it?

Gemma: What do you mean?

Daniel: You fight with him everyday.

Gemma: I hate when someone uses me.

Daniel: MY DEAR LITTLE SISTER, we're not here to talk about Ben, huh?

Gemma: Okay BIG BROTHER. Gimme that.

Daniel: You said you don't wanna smoke.

Gemma: Just one drag. It's freezing. Where is your unknown friend by the way?

Daniel: How am I supposed to know? You're the one who dragged me here. Besides you said you like the cold.

Gemma: Ha ha. Very funny!

Daniel: Did you bring that notebook of yours?

Gemma: Why?

Daniel: I still think you're trying to prank me.

Gemma: I didn't bring.

Daniel: I'm not gonna steal it from you. I'm your brother.

Gemma: Doesn't matter.

Daniel: Just... don't speak to me, huh?

Gemma: Jeez, you're acting up now.

Daniel: Gimme back my cigarette.

Gemma: No, I won't.

Daniel: ...

Gemma: I wanna see my brother go mad.

Daniel: Someday, I'm really, really gonna kill you, you know.

Gemma: Ha ha. Very funny!

Daniel: You're right.

Gemma: What?

Daniel: Shh! He's here. He's the one.

Gemma: What time is it?

Daniel: Seven Fifty-eight, exactly. Wow!

A shifty friend of Daniel's appears at the end of the street carrying a green bag. Gemma pulls out a small black notebook from her denim pocket.

Daniel: You lied to me.

Gemma: Shh!

She flips to the last page and peruses it while Daniel's friend stops next to a trash bin. He looks around nervously, then chucks the bag into the bin before drudging away.

Gemma and Daniel rush to the spot and pick the bag. Daniel's eyes light up. Inside the bag is a wad of cash in two bundles.

Gemma: I told ya.

Daniel: It's exactly twenty-thousand.

Gemma: I still have four more wishes which means you've got one more.

Daniel: But tell me about it first.

Gemma: I got this notebook from someone. I can't tell you who. Well, it comes with five wishes. You need to start your sentence with "I want", like I want this, I want that.

Daniel: Huh.

Gemma: And then you'll get a reply on the same page. Just follow it.

Daniel: Huh.

Gemma: The only catch is that you can't be greedy. That's the only rule.

Daniel: Okay, I think I know what I want now.

Gemma: Go ahead.

Daniel: I want fifty-thousand dollars tomorrow.

Gemma: You sure?

Daniel: Huh.

Gemma: OK. Do you mind waiting over there?

Daniel: Why?

Gemma: 'cos I say so.

Daniel: Sure do bossy.

Daniel plods to the other side of the road and waits there while she writes down the wish.

Daniel: You OK there?

Gemma: Good to go.

Daniel: What now?

Gemma: Go to that shop behind you and buy a lucky dip for tomorrow.

Daniel: Really?

Gemma: Just do it.

A few minutes later Daniel strolls out of the shop waving the ticket to her.

Gemma: I'm gonna read these numbers. See if they match.

Daniel: O-K-A-Y.

Gemma: 08-36-52-57-59-01-02

Daniel: You're joking!

Gemma: Well, that's how it works.

Daniel: Hey?

Gemma: Please don't.

Daniel: Just one more and I'll bail out. I swear.

Gemma: Listen Dan. You got your two wishes like I promised, didn't you?

Daniel: What about a million dollars?

Gemma: You're not listening.

Daniel: Do it sis, please.

Gemma: I think we're done here.

Daniel: ...

Gemma: Even if I try, and even if it works, I don't trust you Dan. You know what I mean? I love you but with your record of violence and prison time, I can't.

Daniel: Please.

Gemma: I don't care what others say, you've always been good to me. That's the only reason why I sacrificed my first two wishes for you.

Daniel: Please.

Gemma: Forget it. I'm not gonna bet them on you.

Daniel: Gimme one. And you'll still have two more.

Gemma: What if I say no?

Daniel: Sis, it's really, really easy for me to snatch that notebook from you right now.

Gemma: Wow! That's bold of you!

Daniel: But I won't.

Gemma: Try it.

Daniel: I don't wanna hurt you.

Gemma: Go ahead. I wanna see you hurt your sister.

Daniel inadvertently shifts his right foot forward. Even though it's non-provoking her reflexes kick in impulsively, and she punches him in the face. Only after throwing the punch she gasps, and realizes her mistake. She stares right into a startled Daniel's cold eyes for a good few seconds before bolting out of the scene. Daniel who never expected such a response from his little sister, looks at her running away and doesn't move a muscle. He then wipes off the blood from the corner of his sore lips and scoffs of disbelief.

Later on the same night,

Gemma: Well...

Dad Jones: What?

Gemma: I left the notebook on your desk.

Dad Jones: You don't like it?

Gemma: I don't need it dad.

Dad Jones: ...

Gemma: Why didn't YOU use it? You could have made it, to a millionaire, billionaire or God knows, a trillionaire.

Dad Jones: Are we not happy here without the money?

Gemma: THAT IS the point dad. Maybe give it to someone who needs it?

Dad Jones: Hmm.

Gemma: What about Dan?

Dad Jones: What about him?

Gemma: He knows.

Dad Jones: No, you didn't!

Gemma: Sorry dad. He wanted some money. So I helped him.

Dad Jones: ...

Gemma: You can't give it to him?

Dad Jones: Your brother is a freaking drunkard.

Gemma: I know what you mean but...

Dad Jones: Not to mention his lack of remorse.

Gemma: But he's harmless.

Dad Jones: He isn't. You simply don't know.

Gemma: ...

Dad Jones: If he asks about it tell him you lost it.

Gemma: He won't believe.

Dad Jones: I'm tired sweetheart. We'll speak tomorrow?

Gemma: ...

Dad Jones: I'm proud of you though. 'Night.

Gemma hangs up the phone.

By the time she opens her heavy eyes a couple of hours have passed. An indistinct figure is rummaging through the shelves and drawers in her bedroom. The last thing she remembers was someone hitting her with a hard object from behind the bedroom door. She can't feel her arms that are now tied to the chair. As her cloudy vision clears,

Gemma: Dan?

Daniel (approaches): Sorry sis.

Gemma: What's wrong with you?

Daniel (points a gun): ...

Gemma: You are not gonna hurt me.

Daniel: What makes you think I won't hurt you?

Gemma: You promised you'll be there to protect me always.

Daniel: I really, really don't mind breaking it unless you tell me. Where is it?

Gemma: You're drunk?

Daniel: No.

Gemma: Yes, you are. Stop pointing it at me. You may accidentally pull the trigger.

Daniel: Where is that bloody notebook?

BANG! He accidentally pulls the trigger.

Daniel: No! No! No!

Daniel: ...

Daniel: I didn't mean to. Gosh! What have I done? Sis!

Daniel: No! No! No! No!

Three nights later,

Dad Jones: Tomorrow would be Gemma's birthday, her twenty second.

Daniel: ...

Dad Jones: I know how... but why?

Daniel: ...

Dad Jones: Why did you...?

Daniel: Dad?

Dad Jones: Don't you dare call me that.

Daniel: 'was an accident; I was drunk.

Dad Jones: I don't wanna see you again, ever.

Daniel bites his lips and walks out of the room. Just before stepping out, something by the doorway catches his eye. The black notebook lays on a footstool. He looks over his shoulder.

Dad Jones: You have two more wishes left. Take that bloody thing and get out of my life.

Later that night, a lonely Daniel is sitting on a bench next to a canal. The street lamp sheds a warm light upon him, accentuated by a thick fog. He opens the notebook and flips to the page where Gemma had jotted down her first wish. "I want $20000 for my brother". Below that, written in a God-gifted handwriting is, "Go to Kent's Lane tonight. Your brother's friend will show up with a green bag at 07:58. He'll chuck the bag into a bin. Pick it after he leaves. You'll find what you want".

A Lonely Daniel By The Canal, by Rajaroy Joseph Alphonse.

He turns over to the next page. "I want $50000 for my brother". "Go to the nearest shop. Buy a lucky dip. The number will be 08-36-52-57-59-01-02. You'll win the prize money".

He sniffles and then turns the page. He squints at his dad's handwriting. "I want to punish my son". The anonymous response says, "Let him leave with the notebook".

He draws in his brows and scoffs. He then grabs a pen and writes on the next page, "I want a million dollars". He waits for a reply. Words conjure on the paper, "There's a grey-colored bag below the bench. The money is inside". Daniel shudders, quickly bends to look below the bench and spots a grey duffel bag.

Overwhelmed by guilt Daniel cries. He then flips to the next page and frantically scribbles his next wish. Upon seeing the reply, he leaves the notebook on the bench, picks the bag and walks away.

Daniel is now plodding down Kent's Lane. He stops next to a dark alley and saunters into it. Suddenly a man yells, followed by the sound of a scuffle, ending up in a gunfire. A masked man dashes out of the alley carrying the grey bag with him.

Back at the canal, the notebook lays open on the last page where Daniel penned his last wish. "I want to see my sister and apologize to her. I was drunk, greedy and blind. I miss her now".

"Go to the alley at Kent's Lane. You'll be mugged and you'll die there".

Daniel's Last Wish, by Rajaroy Joseph Alphonse.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Rajaroy Joseph Alphonse

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.