Criminal logo

Based on a True Story..

Campfire Ghost Story Submission by Marissa Pietrobono

By Marissa PietrobonoPublished 2 years ago 13 min read
1

The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window. Its flame flickered and danced as it illuminated the cob webs that decorated the glass panes facing into the kitchen.

Suddenly, a hand holding a wet rag slammed the window, furiously wiping away all the cob webs.

“I thought I did this window already! Ugh! These candles are really showing us just how many spider webs we missed!” Jenny groaned as she waved the rag to get the last web in the top corner.

“I had a feeling we would need these” Ben said matter of factly as he unloaded a few more candles onto the counter. “The electrician did warn us he’d probably need to come back out tomorrow. The wiring is shot here.” He shook the lighter a few times, but only sparks came out as he tried to light the wick. “Can you pass me another lighter babe? This one’s almost out.”

Jenny and Ben had been working tirelessly throughout the day into the night, cleaning and finishing unloading furniture into their new dreamy getaway cabin in the woods. A 25-minute drive from the mainland and no neighbors for many miles, it was an oasis for those seeking some peace and quiet, while still not too far from the small city down the mountain. A nice escape home for them, as well as a good investment for potential vacation bookings, they couldn’t pass it up when their realtor notified them it had hit the market after staying vacant for the last 8 years. After staying a few nights at a hotel in the small mountain city while getting the bulk of their housework done, they decided it was finally time to spend a few nights in their new project home.

Jenny rummaged through the grocery bag next to him.

“Here this one is new. You know what else would go great with these candles?”

With a coy smile she hands him the lighter and gently set down a bottle of red wine on the counter.

Ben’s face suddenly grew grim. “Babe…I forgot the wine opener at that hotel..”

Jenny starred in silent shock.

A moment passed and a smile began to crack on Ben’s face.

“STOP! Ben! Oh my gosh why would you scare me like that!”

Ben laughed and walked to get the opener.

“Now THAT is a good horror story to tell by a campfire!” He laughed as he began twisting it into the cork.

“I would have murdered you. And this creepy cob-webby cabin is the perfect place to hide your body babe!”

“Well you would know. You watch all those serial killer documentaries to ‘wind down’ at night like a psychopath!” Ben smiled and poured, handing Jenny a glass.

“I’m only kidding” Jenny said and she clinked her glass with Ben’s. “I don’t think this place is creepy. I think it’s romantic- and I am so happy to be spending our first official night here together.” They shared a kiss and took a sip.

After enjoying their wine and relaxing by the fireplace, they decided it was time for bed. They blew out the candles, and cracked open the bedroom window just a tad. The weather was at that perfect blend between the very tail end of summer and the nice crisp welcoming to fall, where the air is cool and has the sweet smell of autumn just beginning to waft through the trees.

“I can’t wait to finish the fire pit outside and relax while watching the leaves change to those fiery sunset colors. And as a bonus I get to watch you chop firewood!”

“Yes babe.” Ben let out a laugh, kissing Jenny goodnight and they drifted to sleep.

A few hours later, a sound from above startled them both, waking them at the same time.

“What is that?” Jenny sat up, feeling the nightstand next to her for the lighter for the candle.

“I think it sounds like rodents? On the roof? Or maybe in the attic?”

Jenny and Ben had not tackled the attic yet. It was sealed off pretty tightly and seemed more like the size of a crawl space, so it had been last on their list of renovations. Jenny lights the candle and sets both back down next to her on the stand.

“Doesn’t it sound like they are running back and forth above our heads?”

“Yeah, I may have to set some traps. We can head to town tomorrow to get some.” Ben stood up on the bed and slammed his fist on the ceiling. Suddenly the noise stopped.

“Or you can just do that every night babe” Jenny quipped a moment later as Ben sat back down.

They waited a long while. As the sound seemed to cease for the night, they drifted back to sleep, only to be woken up once more by the same strange sound about two hours later.

“Oh my gosh seriously?” Jenny groaned as she sat up once more trying to feel for the lighter to light the candle that was on the nightstand next to her bed.

“Shoot..I think the lighter fell on the floor. I can’t feel it.”

“That’s alright babe. I’m convinced it is squirrels chasing each other, running back and forth and back and forth. Let me do my trick I guess.”

Ben once again stood on the bed, gently balancing himself and feeling for Jenny. It was pitch black inside the cabin. The moon was no longer glimmering in the distance as it was hidden behind dark clouds and trees. Ben began slamming his fist on the ceiling. As the noise abruptly stopped, what sounded like a faint giggle was heard by them both. A few seconds passed as neither of them made a sound.

Jenny whispered, “I hate to ask this but please tell me you heard that…”

Ben slowly sat back down on the bed. He let out a breath as if he had been holding it.

“Yeah but…that could have been one of the squirrels. They chitter chatter and make weird noises. Don’t worry babe. It wasn’t like..”

“A person?” Jenny interrupted. “Ben what do we do? I think it was.. Seriously, is there someone living in the attic? Like a hoarder or vagrant? I swear I just heard someone giggle- we both did!” Jenny starts to panic as she frantically searches for the lighter, bending over the side of the bed with her fingers sweeping the floor to find it.

“Jenny no, it’s okay, calm down, it’s definitely rodents up there. They aren’t used to people being here and they make funny sounds. We’re being silly and we had some wine before bed, it’s the first night in the new place we just need to relax, it’s alright. Here I’ll hold you.”

Jenny pulled herself back up to the bed and scooted into Ben’s embrace.

“I’ll shut the window and lock the bedroom door if it makes you feel better. Just wish I could see.”

“Yes please, and I know that stupid lighter must be under the bed or something. I’m sorry.”

“It’s alright.” Ben shuffled his feet on the floor to make his way around the room. First to the door to lock it, then back to the window near the bed to close it fully. As he gets back in bed, Jenny clings to him. They lay in silence, listening and waiting. After what seemed like another hour they both began to ease back into sleep.

The next morning they knew they had to investigate.

“The electrician is coming back this afternoon, I say we wait for him to check it out. He may have to get up there anyway for some wiring or whatever, and he may have some tools that can help! Plus I’d feel better having someone else with us….in case it is a person Ben.”

“Alright yeah, that makes sense. Let’s head to town before he gets here and grab those traps and other supplies. Also, babe it’s not a person. I’m telling you.”

“Well I know you heard what I heard. And as far as I know hyenas don’t live around here. Let’s go. I’m going to need more wine after last night.”

“I’ll get you a whole box of it babe.”

They shared a laugh and headed to town.

After securing the traps and some more supplies for the cabin, Ben and Jenny decide to reward themselves by grabbing a dozen donuts from the local bakery. While walking out they recognize their friend Carl who resides locally in the small city area. He has his dog Koda with him and they stop and chat. They invite Carl and his wife Sally to their new cabin, as well as Koda of course. Carl obliges and agrees to meet them there shortly.

As Ben and Jenny arrive back at the cabin, they see that Dan, the electrician, has beat them there.

“Hey Dan! We bring gifts!” Jenny shouts and she flashes open the box of donuts.

“Hey! That’s great, thanks! Um.. There’s something I need to show you guys..”

“Is it something expensive?” laughed Ben.

“Nah, I think I saw something..strange..” Dan replied. Straight faced, Jenny and Ben knew he wasn’t joking.

“Rodents?! Is it something to do with rodents?!” Jenny could feel her heart beating faster.

“I wouldn't say that, no. I have to show you. Can we get into the attic?”

Ben and Jenny looked at eachother.

“We can but might need your help- it’s sealed off pretty tight but yeah, we actually wanted to take a look up there today. We swear there are squirrels up there. They kept us up all night running back and forth.”

“Oh, alright.” Dan replied. “Yeah, I definitely saw something but it seemed mildly bigger than a rodent…I was working on the wires going up to the roof area and while I was on the ladder I noticed there was a broken piece of wood- it was small, not big enough for a rat or squirrel to get in, but when I looked in I could see inside that attic area, It’s pretty tiny in there but I swear I saw something funny up there- it spooked me, right when you guys were pulling up.”

As Dan was finishing speaking, Carl’s truck pulled up to the house with Sally and Koda along. Jenny was just about to ask what it was he saw, but with this distraction Ben and Jenny turned to greet them as Koda bolted out of the truck as soon as Sally opened the door.

“And he’s off!” Sally joked, walking to give Jenny a hug. “Oh! Donuts! We just had some ourselves- Carl did say that was where he ran into you guys. So delicious. And how about this new cabin! How exciting for you and Ben!”

“Thanks Sally! So great to see you guys. Welcome to our very humble abode!” Ben hugged Sally as they continued to exchange hellos and introduce Dan.

“Well, let’s get inside and have some donuts” Ben announced. “Carl I’m glad you're here, Dan needs to get into the attic, and when I tried I wasn’t able to open the stairway to it by myself so I’m glad to have your manpower!”

“You and Sally both!” Carl laughed as he jokingly lifted his arms to show his muscles.

“Oh as if! Here Jenny, shove a donut in his mouth to hush him up please!” Sally said as she nudged Jenny. The guys began to walk ahead inside as Sally noticed Jenny’s face was grim.

“Hey? Are you alright?” Sally asked as they trailed behind the guys.

“Not really.. Ben and I had our first night here last night and we definitely heard some creepy noises in the attic. Ben was blowing it off but I think we may have someone…I don’t know.. hiding up there maybe? We heard what sounded like squirrels running around and Ben would hit the ceiling and it would stop, but then I swear we heard giggling. Ben did too- like someone is playing a prank. And The electrician said he saw something ‘weird’ up there while working. I don’t know. I’m just upset. I wanted this to be our dream cabin and not some typical creepy cabin stereotype!”

“Awe Jenny I’m sorry” Sally said softly as she placed her hand on Jenny’s shoulder. “What did Dan see up there? I doubt there is a person up there, Ben said he couldn’t get the stairway open alone and you would know by now if that was the case. It’s probably birds or bats! Did you think of that?”

“No, I didn’t. I guess you're right. Dan didn’t say yet but I guess we will know shortly.”

Jenny and Sally walked inside and Jenny placed the box of donuts on the table.

The 3 men huddled under the lever where the attic stairs were to come down. There was a handle along with a short rope. Ben decided to grab the handle as Dan grabbed the rope. AS they both pulled it began to slowly pry open. When it got low enough, Carl placed his hands to help pull down then unfold the stairs. Dust blew downward and all 3 men started to cough.

“Oh gosh, it definitely hasn’t been opened in forever” Sally remarked as her and Jenny waved away dust that crept to the kitchen area.

As it settled, Dan opted to go up first. He slowly stepped up, testing each ladder plank to make sure it was steady. As he got to the top with his body still on the ladder, he couldn’t help but say “No way..”

No one said a word. As they looked around at eachother Dan spoke again.

“I didn’t think this was what I really saw, but I did. Come on up.”

Ben, Carl, Sally and finally Jenny each made their way up to the attic area, and each one gasped when they got to the top.

It was indeed a very small attic, with everyone crouching and almost huddling together.

In the back area sat a very old and decrepit rocking horse. Stoic, made of hard wood with cloth material, and very very dusty, it certainly had not been ridden in many, many years.

Dan finally spoke up after a few minutes of utter shock from the group.

“When I looked in here, I thought this was what I saw. It just creeped me out so bad, and then I swear I saw someone run by. The hole I was looking in became almost blocked off for a second, as if someone walked by. I was startled and that’s at the time you guys showed up.

Jenny looked around but realized no living person could be hiding in the attic as she originally suspected. Although that gave her a moment of relief, she then quickly became uneasy once again as she realized something else.

“Ben..is that our lighter.. The one that I couldn’t find last night?” It was laying on a protruding piece of wood, right next to the rocking horse, where no one had stepped foot yet.

Ben remained silent. He stepped forward closer to the horse and slowly picked it up.

Indeed, it was the same lighter.

He looked at Jenny and shook his head in disbelief, still saying nothing.

Jenny’s heart sank and she then realized something else.. The rocking horse was placed directly over the area where Ben and Jenny’s bed sat.

“Hey Carl, Can you and Dan do me a favor?” Jenny’s voice cracked as she tried to talk.

“Ben, Sally and I are going to go downstairs for a moment to our room. When I say the word ‘go’, can you start… rocking the horse..”

Still stunned by the discovery, Carl and Dan shook their heads ‘yes’.”

One by one, Jenny, Sally and Ben headed down the stairway back to the main floor and walked to their bedroom.

Looking directly at Ben, Jenny shouted “Okay, go!”

A few seconds later, the exact same noise that awoke Jenny and Ben the night before was heard.

Back and forth, back and forth- the ancient decrepit rocking horse made its presence known, simpy rocking the way it was intended to…except with no physical child on it to make it happen…

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.