Criminal logo

Awaiting Justice for Victoria Martens

A Reflection of the Gruesome Crime, a Year Later

By Madawna BristowPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

I will not disclose any graphic details here in this article. However, if you have not heard this story, I advise you to please take caution before you get on Google and do a search. The nature of this crime is extraordinarily heinous and distressing.

We have all seen a news story that has evoked the most passionate of reactions within us. For me, these stories almost always involve the abuse and/or death of a child.

I feel I don't need to explain the why's of this, so I will continue with the assumption that you and I share the same elementary understanding of what of what it means to protect not only our own children, but all children of every sex, race, and religion of every nation.

There are a couple stories, two in particular, that I have heard in my lifetime that have surpassed the others by way of horror. These two stories find me feeling desperately helpless and frozen in fear.

The first of these stories involved the abuse and murder of a newborn baby. Nearly ten years ago, a few co-workers sat around me casually discussing the story. I was enraged and horrified that they would even talk about it so casually. To this day, I find the memory of that story creep in on me and I push it away aggressively before it overwhelms me.

The second of these two stories was a story I accidentally stumbled upon last year while scrolling my Facebook feed. In my heart, I knew I should not open the link, yet I found myself submerged within the abhorrent details.

The story entailed the tragic abuse and gruesome killing of a young girl, the day after her 10th birthday.

The little girl was named Victoria Martens. Friends of the family say Victoria was excited about turning ten, looking forward to her new school year, and had big dreams about her future.

Tragically, her life was cut short.

Returning to her home in Albuquerque, New Mexico on August 23, 2016, with anticipation of a big birthday celebration at a friend's home, she was walking into an unspeakably horrific fate. There, in the "safety" of her own home and the "care" of her own mother, young Victoria was drugged, violently and repeatedly abused, and murdered.

Yes, Victoria's mother, Michelle Martens confessed to sitting, watching, and enjoying the show as her boyfriend, Fabian Gonzalez, and his cousin, Jessica Kelley, a convicted felon, tortured her sweet, little girl and stole her future from her without hesitation.

A year has passed since Victoria Martens lost her life. I still can't sleep well on the nights that her face pops into my head.

Now and then I search Michelle Martens, looking for updates; in particular, her trial.

Recently, I came across a few new developments. The first story I came upon was recorded conversations between Martens and her mother. Martens tells her mother she is getting threats. People are threatening to purposefully get incarcerated, find Michelle Martens, and kill her. Her mother responds with an, "Oh, boy."

The feelings I find in myself in regards to Michelle Martens and her accomplices are overwhelming. I have never felt such a deeply profound hatred in all my thirty-eight years of life.

Fabian Gonzalez and Jessica Kelley are incurable, diseased, vile wastes of human resources. These two are proof that demons are real and walking among us.

Michelle Martens. She may be even worse. A mother is supposed to protect her children. We are here to guide them, to love them, to sacrifice anything and everything for them. Most of us would give our very lives to protect our children, if that's what has to be done. But, Michelle brought a child into this world, raised her, fed her, taught her, laughed with her, hugged her, kissed her, then used her and discarded her.

Now, I anxiously await their fate. I await their sentencing, but that will not be the end of it for me. Until the day I hear that each one of these vile pieces of human waste have met their ends, I will keep watching for updates and when that day comes, I will laugh and I will celebrate that finally justice has truly been served for that little angel, Victoria Martens.

guilty
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.