Criminal logo

Average Joe Turn Drug Dealer

Can't scream or enjoy the ride - what a strange roller coaster

By Usama JavedPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
STRANGE TIMES IN LIFE

‘’OMG it’s $20,000!!!’’ he screamed in disbelief. ‘’Quickly hide this before mum comes! you know her she will over-react like always!!! and you better keep your mouth shut missy she does not need to know this’’ he said to Susan giving her a shoe box with quite a lot of $100 bills he had gotten out of his jacket pocket earlier and had been counting.

‘’She overreacts because she worries, besides you are always up to no good, do I even need to know where you got this much money from, you’re just 21 Adam?’’ replied Susan who was still in shock as it was a lot of money for this household.

‘’Don’t worry sis just hide it please, its ours now I will get you something nice – things are changing for us’’ Adam replied.

Adam that’s me, life wasn’t always this good to us or at least I thought it wasn’t, little did I know, you take someone’s money they are bound to come looking for it– grew up in a poor family, dad died while I was young, mum worked as a nurse and due to her hours, she was never home sometimes I’d feel like I had forgotten her face, was a little brat growing up, never a brilliant student but somehow made it to college, I guess there is hope for us all.

Susan my sister was a few years younger but a brilliant kid throughout – I did envy her sometimes for all the praises she got from friends and mum.

So where did I suddenly accumulate all this money from as that’s why you’re here aren’t you? Well, it started in the early days of college, you know how college is, lots of booze and hell lot of parties. In one of these parties, I met a Greek fella named Labros – a very tall, thin, lightly bearded fair looking guy who was a proper party animal and a drug addict – well he’d claimed to have tried pretty much every drug there was so in my eyes yeah, a drug addict compared to me who had never even had a cigarette.

Listening to his psychedelic trip experiences from the past when ‘’for the first time’’ he tried magic mushrooms, ecstasy, acid, ayahuasca etc was what started our friendship in the first place plus my mild curiosity on the subject or perhaps it was the joint we shared during that discussion I guess we’ll never know.

I started going to his place quiet often and would sometimes crash at his for the night as college was closer to his rented property. On one of the Friday’s after college Labros had planned an evening at his place and of course I was invited. That evening his drug dealer came to his place too – a guy whom everyone seemed to be calling ‘’G’’.

In the beginning it was awkward but after a few joints we all were having a great time – this ‘’G’’ guy who’s name I still don’t know till this day became a supposed friend. Friday nights became a regular and I’d see him a lot to a point where I started hanging out with him and his crew. What was I thinking right – I mean the guy was a drug dealer!

He knew about my situation, knew where I lived so one day, he rang up early morning – mum wasn’t home nor was my sister asked ‘’what you up to Adam? Me and boys were thinking about chilling are you free, should we come around yours?’’ And me being ignorant as I was said ‘’yeah why not?’’. Now I know what you’re thinking – inviting a drug dealer to your house, he not going to be hosting a charity event is he? Like I said ignorant me plus I didn’t want to say no and disrespect him.

He came with his boys – we sat smoked some weed in the backyard. Then out of no where one of his guys pulled out a massive ziploc bag full of weed nuggets from his rug sack along with some tiny sealed bags and a weighing scale. As soon as I saw it my heart just sank deeper than the depths of Mariana trench. An innocent college student who didn’t even realize was now part of a drug dealing gang who was bagging weed with the intent to supply. YAAY ME…

I made an excuse to go to the toilet mainly to ensure that the front door was locked and that no cops were rolling outside ready to bust in catching us red handed. Probably made about three trips during the course of their stay just to make sure, the paranoia while under influence of weed, its mind boggling.

Thank the Lord mum and sister were not due to arrive soon – I mean life hadn’t even started for me really – imagine getting busted by the cops at that age – what would my mother say? What would my sister think of me? These thoughts kept rushing into my head, kept thinking guess my life is about to ruin any second now…

Nothing happened – G left me a few good nuggets of weed for my troubles and left the house peacefully and quietly. It was sigh of relief when my house wasn’t filled with dealers trying to bag a product.

You’d think I had learned my lesson ‘’never invite a drug dealer to your house’’ but what about getting in his car – guess another lesson was to be learned there.

Few weeks passed and again suddenly one morning around 7 30 am G rang – me worried and confused if I should pick his call, thinking what if he is outside and barge’s in if I don’t. Mum and sis were home too so I didn’t want any trouble so I picked it up – ‘’ what are you up to Adam?’’ he asked in a very calming voice. I told him that I was getting ready for college as I had a class later that morning around 9 am. ‘’I will drop you off’’ G replied.

Even though I told him that it was okay and that I will find my own way he kept insisting. Said that he was passing by, was headed that way and will be outside in a couple of minutes.

I got ready, grabbed my things and sat in his car. We sat off – he kept talking about random things while we drove till, he missed a turn he was supposed to take and then a second one as that was the way to my college. At this point I had realized and it was safe to say we weren’t going to my college.

‘’I think you missed a turn G’’ I said nervously to which he replied ‘’Naa bud we got something to do and then I will drop you off, here just relax light this up’’ pulled out the biggest joint I’d seen in my life from his front pocket– it was 8 in the morning and I was getting high. What had happened to me – what kind of crowd I had gotten myself entangled with. During our drive ‘’G’’ mentioned how he had gone to prison for selling drugs and how he spent time behind bars which was not a very helpful conversation given I was sat in a drug dealers car, smoking weed – the paranoia kept me wondering if this is how I go, is he going to kill me today? What did I even do? But I’d taken death over what was about to happen.

Eventually we pulled up to a car garage, another car which seemed like a taxi was already parked and was coming out of the car garage, the guy pulled up to ‘G’s’ side and said hi – words were exchanged. It seemed like he knew him.

‘G’ pointed to me and said open the dash board and pass me what’s inside – first the dash wouldn’t open but I pulled a bit hard and it suddenly it popped open – quite a few stacks of cash, $100 bills banded together with rubber band fell out of it. Way more cash than I’d ever feasted eyes on. Amongst the fallen stacks was a small black diary too which ‘G’ quickly picked up an put it in his pocket.

‘G’ asked me to count and give him 10 of the stacks – As a math's college student I’d imagined there was way more than $30,000 in that dashboard. I nervously handed G the cash which he passed it onto this driver who was sat in the taxi. In return ‘G’ got a massive bag of weed which he threw in the back seat.

The driver of the taxi gave me dirty looks and said ‘’who is this? I have never seen him before with you’’ to which G replied ‘’ he is cool man don’t worry – yo Adam you cool yeah?’’ I mean getting caught with just illegal cash was one thing but now I had drugs and cash in the car – cool was last thing I was but I replied – ‘’yeah just a little too high’’ to which they both laughed.

The seller in the taxi started asking me questions, where I was from and what I did – perhaps he’d seen the fear in my eyes or had realized that this guy was new to this crowd – the crowd of drug dealers.

Eventually he took off and so did we – parked up a couple of blocks away from college in an alley. ‘’Let’s roll a splif, you gotta try the product you buy’’ to which I laughed nervously – thinking when will this all end, asking the Lord to send help, asking Him that if He gets me out of this safe, I will focus on college and make something of myself.

To my luck the only miracle that happened was that a black sedan with tinted windows pulled up guess we were getting followed – asking ‘G’ to roll down his windows while he was smoking a joint. ‘G’ rolled down a bit of his window.

‘’That smell’s nice boys’’ said the guy in the car after I could hear him take a big whiff. It did reeked of drugs in the car and the massive bag in the back seat didn’t help the cause. I knew we had been caught and my life was going to end rotting in prison being someone’s bitch before it had even started as I wasn’t built for prison. All my dreams and hopes for future shattered.

‘’Take your keys out of the key fob and turn off your engine’’ to which ‘G’ complied. The black sedan started to reverse and park behind us.

I said to ‘G’ ‘’what now man – we are caught’’ panicked not sure what to do to which he replied – ‘’ Adam, they want me not you. I guess they have been watching me, here take this cash, this little black diary which has all my dealings in and this bag – put everything you can in your pocket and get out of the car. I am going to make these pigs run around a little before they catch me. I am not going out like this the less charges the better; I can’t go to prison again’’

He did a line of the cocaine and screamed ‘’get the fuck out of the car’’ to which I complied. Until this day I wonder why he did what he did perhaps he knew I could have a better life.

As soon as I got out and closed the passenger car door, he was off like the wind in his Mercedes – the undercover cops who had gotten out of their car rushed back in and the chase began – I ran as fast as I could home till, I reached home and shut the door behind me. I was home – I was safe for now…

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Usama Javed

In the event that you don’t have anything decent to say, come sit by me, and we can ridicule individuals together.

MECHANICAL ENGINEER 👨🏽‍🔧

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.