Criminal logo

At all cost, don't lose yourself

no matter the circumstances

By Deborah LenzPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
At all cost, don't lose yourself
Photo by Eduardo Balderas on Unsplash

“It's in your moments of decision that your destiny is shaped.” Anthony Robbins

I got home feeling extremely exhausted. Baseball practice ran for three hours straight and I have this chemistry test tomorrow. I feel so stressed. Plus, there was some sort of shooting down at the convenience store a couple blocks down. I was not able to do anything. Eat. Sleep. Think straight. As I was getting ready to hit the hay, something struck me. It was my mother’s voice-smooth, soft and mellow like always. It was telling me to always do the right thing no matter what. She was a wonderful woman.

I woke up still feeling exhausted about last night. I was getting ready to leave until two patrol cars pulled up by my house. I was anxious, frightened-you name it. It was not the first time but everytime the feeling got worse. I acted unconcerned and kept walking. Officer Mike told me that it was a crucial matter. My buddy Daniel was the one who got shot last night and they think I know something about it.

This couldn’t be true. Was this another misunderstanding? Me having to know what happened last night. Like WTF. First of all things on earth why would I be involved in something like that. Seriously. Second, I have been told to stay out of trouble. They kept insisting it was me and I kept telling them it wasn’t me. That it couldn’t be me because I was at baseball practice. (Which I was.)

“Officers are you sure you did not get the wrong guy again?”

“Yes…we are sure this time. We found your wallet.”

“That’s ridiculous. My wallet is right…Shit.” ( I must have dropped my wallet there as I was biking through the shortcut.)

“Sorry Dwayne but we will have to take you with us.”

Just like that, they took me with them. I couldn’t believe this was really happening. Arrived at the station, they started asking me questions. Like in the crime movies.

“I ask you a question,” said Officer Mike.

“I didn’t have anything to do with what happened. I swear.” I responded.

I didn’t say anything afterward. I couldn’t even look him in the eyes. He asked me again if I had anything to do about what had happened and I kept saying that I didn’t. It was the truth. I haven’t even talked to Daniel for over a week. They told me I would have to stay here until otherwise.

Jail is not a place to be. It’s like living in a black hole with no food or nothing such four black walls. They told me I had a visitor. Who knew I was here in the first place? When they told me who, I couldn’t believe it. It was Zane. My neighbor came to visit me. What a surprise?! He obviously knew something about last night. They let me out of the cell to talk to him. We talk about general things until he stopped and asked me:

“Did they ask anything?”

“Dude I’m in jail for crying out loud of course they did.”

“Can you do me a favor and not tell them what you saw please. At least not now”

“First of all I didn’t see anything, not even you. So you’re the one who saw me. Plus, what’s in it for me? I’m the one who might be facing the consequences. I mean have you been in here oh wait, you have so you know how bad it is and you are expecting me to stay here. You must be out of your mind.”

“Please”

Our talking time was over and Zane had to leave before I had the chance to say something. I still couldn’t eat anything not because the food was terrible but because I was still in shock. I kept thinking about what Zane had told me. Not telling the police -what was he thinking. I’m the one locked up not him. I’m so perplexed about everything. Officer Mike came back telling me that they have given me one more chance to reveal what I know. I had twenty four hour to find a way to reveal the truth. I spent the night thinking until I heard my mother’s voice again telling me the same thing. Telling me to always do the right thing no matter what.

I woke up with a brilliant idea. I have decided what I was going to do with Zane and myself. I screamed for Officer Mike because I needed his help for my plan to work. I told him that I knew exactly the person they were looking for. I’ve been waiting for a long time for an answer. I asked myself what was happening in that confession room. Did Zane lie or told them the truth? Do the officers believe him? All these questions were running through my mind all at once. All of a sudden, Officer Mike came out with Zane right behind him.

“I can’t believe you did this to me.”

“What are you talking about? I didn’t do anything wrong”

Zane was pretty mad when he found out that I set him up. He kept yelling at me saying that I’m not trustworthy and all kind of bullshit. I didn’t care all I wanted to know was if this plan worked or not.

After Zane and I talked, Officer Mike came to my cell. Took out his keys and said “You are free to go Dwayne”. They took Zane with them but before they did, I went up to Zane for the last time.

“You know this is for the best right?”

“Whatever but to let you know I’m not done with you Dwayne. Once I get out of here, we will settle this as men.”

“Alright. I’ll be waiting.”

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Deborah Lenz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.