Criminal logo

As Bobby Darin Sings

The Shark Circles

By pamela mayerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4
As Bobby Darin Sings
Photo by Drew Hays on Unsplash

“Babe over here...Come on closer,” he tapped the cushion on the sofa next to him, “Yeah, better. Right?” as he slides his hand up her mini skirt.

“Whatever you say Sweetie,” she murmured. She didn’t want this life - she just got it. A junkie mother, an abusive uncle, thrown onto the streets. The only thing she was proud of was that she could always figure out a way to survive.

He reached for the Sonos remote to the sound system, “I really loved the 60’s,” he made his selection and pushed the button. Mack the Knife* roared from the speakers - the great crooner Bobby Darin filled the room. He cleared his throat and in his rich full voice he began to sing along,

Oh, the shark, babe has such teeth,

dear and it shows them pearly white.

“Ouch, Honey,” she shouted, rubbing her ear, “That was a bite not a nibble.”

Patting her shoulder he sings louder,

Just a jackknife has old MacHeath,

babe and he keeps it, ah out of sight.

He began humming, drowning out her voice.

Ya know when that shark bites with his teeth, babe

scarlet billows start to spread

“Hon, what’s with the violence, blood, knives, sharp teeth and scary sharks,” she interrupted his singing.

“What’s with you,” he moved his arm from around her shoulders, “This is great music. He sure was great,” he moved his face within inches of hers, “So watch it - you want to see pain?” The muscles clenched on his arm and he drew back his fist.

“No, no Honey, keep singing. I love the song. Sorry, forgive me?” she said nervously.

He relaxed, “That’s good. Yep, he was a terrific tenor, that Bobby Darin. You know the meaning of the song?” He questioned and programmed the remote to play the song over and over on a loop.

“Sweetheart, sorry I don’t. Do you want to tell me?” she asked, gazing directly into his eyes.

“It’s about a murderer, a rapist. The bad guy, MacHeath, yeah MacHeath he was tough,”

“You know so much about him - you sure are a super fan. Where did you learn this stuff?” she asked.

“Don’t know. Might have been from a cheap opera in the 20’s. Must have read about it in People or Star,” he smiled.

She took a breath, “ You are real class, Sweetie. Unbelievable, you know opera. That’s very, very cool.”

“Mack the Knife, that’s what made him a star. All from some chichi opera thing like I told you. He even made the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. He was the man. That Bobby Baby reinvented himself all the time, over and over. Kind of like me, right?”

“You are one of the smartest men I’ve ever known,” she gave him a kiss on the cheek.

He pulled back, “Bitch, I’m the smartest man you’re ever gonna know. Got it?”

Tearfully, her voice shrill, “You are Honey. You are for sure, I swear.”

“That’s better. Right? Bobby Boy, I remember, was a Billboard Number One. That’s top dog in my book Sweetheart,” as he sunk back into the couch. Get me a beer,” and he raised the volume on the Sonos and smacked her on the ass.

“Sure thing,” and she hurried to the kitchen.

Oh the shark, babe Has such teeth,

dear And he shows them pearly white,

He pauses and grabs the longneck bottle out of her hand.

You know when that shark bites With his teeth babe,

He reaches for her arm and pulls her onto his lap and takes a swig of the ale, “You are the best. You know when you are the very best?” He doesn’t wait for her to answer, “It’s when you keep your damn mouth shut,” he laughs uncontrollably.

“Why do you talk like that?” she whines, “It hurts my feelings. I’m sensitive, you know? I try to please you. I do everything you ask. I sleep with whoever you want me to. I turn over the money they pay me. I’m good to you,” tears fill her eyes, “I just want you to treat me nice that’s all.

He pushes her off his lap and onto the floor, “I’ll tell you when and where to be nice. I’m the boss here. You are just one of Shark’s Girls. Got it?”

“Don’t be mad,” she cries, “I’ll be good.”

He rips open his shirt and reveals a large tattoo of a great white shark, “See this?” as he points to his chest, “I’m The Shark - You, you are just one of the Shark’s Girls. Don’t you ever forget it.”

*Mack The Knife'' 1928 originally recorded by Louis Armstrong. Composed by Kurt Weill with lyrics by Bertolt Brecht as part of The Threepenny Opera. Bobby Darin recorded his version in 1959 and it remains popular today.

fiction
4

About the Creator

pamela mayer

Pamela Mayer does all things creative — theatre, art, and writing. She is certain she will bump into her Prince Charming in the produce section of Trader Joe’s, Miami Beach very soon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.