Criminal logo

An Adventure to Remember

My Little Black Book

By AriannaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Cabinet Mountains

I used to think I was adventurous and had quite the imagination, especially when I was a child. My brothers and I would dress up and film our own versions of our favorite movies. Oh, how I miss those innocent days of my life. As I sit on top of my favorite mountain in the Cabinet Mountains in Montana, I daydreamed about the promise of something fun and exciting happening. I was craving an adventure and needed one so badly.

I sat on a very uncomfortable rock eating a snack looking up at the beautiful sky. It’s a gorgeous turquoise in color and it reminds me of the oceans in Kauai. It’s easy to see how someone could get lost in thought up here. I reached into my backpack and pulled out my Black Moleskin book in which I used as my journal. I began writing my thoughts and feelings and how I wished for adventure again. After writing for what seemed like an eternity, it was soon time to go and head back home. As I descended down the mountain, I soon realized I was going down a part that I didn’t recognize. I was so lost in thought that I didn’t notice I was going the wrong way. As I walked through a lush forest of Douglas Firs, my foot got caught on a rock and I fell flat on my face. Thats so typical, I’ve always been extremely clumsy. I wiped the dirt from my face and turned to see that I didn’t trip on a rock but it was a large Blue duffel bag. Intrigued of course, I opened it. I couldn’t believe it, there was hundreds of $20 bills. I counted a whopping $20,000 in all. I couldn’t believe my good luck, I wanted adventure and I got it. I was slowly running out of daylight but I took out my little black book and wrote all about my good fortune. What would I do with $20,000? Should I turn it in to the police? Should I not tell anyone? I grabbed the duffel bag and made my way back down to the trail. When I got back to the car I hid the bag in the backseat of my Jeep Compass, under a blanket and headed for home. About an hour of driving, I stopped at a gas station. As I was pumping gas I realized that I had left my journal on top of my car before leaving. I had my phone number inside so hopefully someone will call me and want to return it. As I got back in my car I received a text from a number I didn’t recognize. The text simply said that they knew about the money and wanted a cut of it or they would turn me into the authorities. My face lit up with a thousand watt smile and I couldn’t contain my excitement. I reached into my backpack and pulled out another little black book and began writing another journal entry.

July 15th

My fake journal that I left in the parking lot was found by someone. Whoever they are really believes I found $20,000 in the mountains. I wonder how long I should string them along before I tell them it was all a joke and that I purposefully left my journal for someone to find. I’m sure they won’t believe it was a joke but even if I had really found $20,000 would I really be stupid enough to write about in a journal and then leave my journal behind.

I took one last look at the message and then threw my phone to the ground and stomped on it until it was broken into little pieces. I scattered the pieces around, including putting some into the garbage can And some bushes that were near by. I got back into my car and put my journal away then began the rest of my journey home. As I drove away from the gas station I looked in my rear view mirror with a twinkle in my eye and looked to see my blue duffel bag hidden under a blanket in my back seat and wondered what I was going to do with $20,000.

THE END

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.