Criminal logo

A to Z of Class C Misdemeanor

by smithpatrick 4 days ago in guilty

A to Z of Class C Misdemeanor

What’s all included in Class C Misdemeanor? Let's get into depth to have a better understanding.

Criminal offenses are classified into two categories in Texas: felonies and misdemeanors. The most serious crimes are felonies, which typically entail bodily injury, large-scale theft, or fraud. A misdemeanor is a less serious crime than a felony, and it can result in a fine or a brief period of imprisonment.

Within each of these categories of criminal offenses, there are several levels of severity. Misdemeanor crimes get divided into Class A, B, and C. The lowest category of offense is a "Class C" misdemeanor, which carries a punishment of up to $500.

In this article, we discuss class C misdemeanor crimes, Class C Misdemeanor Texas Examples, and the impact of misdemeanor on your driving record.

What is a Class C Misdemeanor In Texas?

The least serious of all crimes charged in Texas is a Class C misdemeanor. There is no possibility of serving a jail sentence if you are convicted. There is, nevertheless, the possibility of punishment of up to $500. Traffic fines, disorderly conduct, minor assault, and theft of less than $50 are some Class C misdemeanor Texas examples.

On the other hand, a Class C misdemeanor can be far more dangerous if you've been convicted of disorderly conduct or public intoxication three times in a row. This can also happen if you were convicted of disorderly conduct and public intoxication together. If this is the case, the following penalties will apply if the convictions happened within two years of the present offense:

- A 180-day prison sentence

- A $2,000 fine gets imposed.

- A jail term and a monetary fine are both possible punishments.

Class C misdemeanor Texas examples

There is an extensive list of class C misdemeanors. However, the below listed are the most common Class C misdemeanor Texas examples observed in Texas.

- Most Traffic Tickets

- Disorderly conduct

- Simple assault

- Criminal trespassing

- Gambling

- Bail jumping

- Petty theft, incorporating shoplifting of an item under $50

- Carrying alcoholic beverages in a motor vehicle

- Minor in possession of alcohol

- Possession of drug paraphernalia

Although a Class C Misdemeanor does not get regarded as a severe crime, it can still have a detrimental impact on your life in unexpected ways. Receiving a traffic ticket, for example, might result in the suspension of your driver's license, higher insurance rates, and hefty fines. A Class C Misdemeanor conviction could jeopardize your employment search as well.

A person charged with a Class C Misdemeanor must appear in Municipal Court or in front of a Justice of the Peace. A prosecutor represents the state in court proceedings, much as in the event of a criminal offense. You have the right to retain the assistance of an attorney. However, in the circumstances like these, the court will not appoint one.

When criminal proceedings get postponed without a finding of guilt, the court can impose sanctions or restrictions for a set amount of time, as well as a sentence or suspend a fine.

In addition, the court may grant a stay of proceedings. It does not imply that you have been found not guilty, but it also does not imply that you have been convicted. It's referred to as a plea bargain deal since it postpones judgment until the end of a probationary period.

If you complete the terms of your probation, the charges against you may get dismissed. To get a delayed adjudication, you must plead guilty or no contest.

What Is the Impact of a Class C Misdemeanor on Your Driving Record?

You will receive points on your driving record if you receive a traffic citation. A speeding ticket or a ticket for reckless driving, for example, could potentially result in two points getting added to your driving record.

The DMV would add a point if a collision happened during this time. For three years, these points will remain on your record.

The Texas Department of Public Safety will notify you that you must pay a fee if you receive six traffic tickets in three years, according to the Texas Driver Responsibility Law. The first six points will set you back $100, with each subsequent point costing $25.

To conclude:

Under certain circumstances, a Class C Misdemeanor Texas may get expunged from a defendant's record if the defendant meets specific requirements, such as community supervision and deferred disposition. Though Class C Misdemeanors are not the most severe offenses, you should retain the assistance of an expert attorney who can help you either have the charges dismissed or have your record completely wiped.

Head on to The Texas Attorney to get in touch with an attorney and know more about Class C Misdemeanor Texas Examples.

guilty

smithpatrick

Read next: Screwed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2022 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.