Criminal logo

A mother’s getaway

A short story by Sara Karim

By Sara KarimPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

I wish it didn’t have to start like this, I really do wish.

Where do I begin? I wonder how you will all quite judge me, although I do suppose that is your role here. I told myself I couldn’t do it, I wouldn’t be able to and everyone else was none the wiser.

But I did it. It was a cold Wednesday, stuck in a pandemic and becoming redundant was not part of my plans. Rather I thought I would be at my fancy job getting ready to go on maternity leave. Things changed so quickly and I didn’t have a chance to adapt. I simply couldn’t. Pregnant. Redundant. Alone.

My family were miles away, my husband stuck in another country and with borders closed I was going to have to give birth alone. Like I said, I really didn’t think I would be here like this. With not long till my due date, I thought I’d go for a walk and try to stay as active as possible. Doing everything on my own was now becoming extremely difficult, but I didn’t have anyone else. Even if I did, the control freak that I am wouldn’t allow anyone else to do things for me.

Where was I? Ah, a cold Wednesday. I told myself to get out for a walk, although my body was saying otherwise. I was tired and wanted a hot chocolate, I struggled with my trainers and left my apartment. The closest store was a 10 minute walk away, so I started my walk. Slow and steady, although I was finding it extremely difficult to breathe. I am ashamed to say I saw a bench and utterly dissolved into it. I did finally manage to get to the store, only to forget what I came for. Baby brain - the joys of pregnancy.

So I left with a few fruits, leaving with things I didn’t come for. On my way back, I noticed a strange woman. Sat on the exact bench I was at, only she was taking pictures of people walking by. She had frazzled hair, a greasy leather jacket and these horrible boots that looked like they’d been ripped of a dead person.

I didn’t want to walk past her and have my picture taken. So I carried on waddling and hoped she would pay no attention to me. All of a sudden I felt a tug on my shoulder bag, I gasped and turned around. The roads seemed to have emptied themselves, it was just me and the strange woman. She asked me what I had done to my husband. Naturally I was baffled, “I’m sorry what do you mean, I don’t know you and you’re making me uncomfortable now”. “Don’t lie to me girl” she screeched. I could feel myself panicking. She hadn’t let go and her touch felt as though she was burning me.

I looked down, my leggings had just become soaked. My water broke. Immediately I panicked, still had a few weeks to go. The baby would be early and all my worst fears popped into my head. “Please let me go, I need to call an ambulance” I cried. “You have fooled everyone around you, you have lied to your family and now you think you can lie to me?” She bellowed. I could feel myself becoming angry, and not the type of anger where you want to slam a door but the type where you want to kill someone.

“You crazy bitch, what do you want from me” I shouted. Slowly I pulled my knife out of my handbag, and I went straight for her neck. “You do not frighten me girl, I have seen far worse than you”. I was panicking now, really badly. I didn’t think this through and boy am I regretting it. What I did next was not a smart move on my part. I left the body at the scene and managed to make it to my apartment. I cleaned myself up, packed a bag and called a cab to the nearest hospital.

No one would suspect a pregnant woman, right? I was in labour for gods sake who would they believe I thought to myself. I was checked out by doctors straight away, I was in early labour and they would keep me monitored. Great. Who do I call? I grabbed the black notebook. I saw what I was looking for and called the number listed. I said “Bring me a pomegranate” and hung up immediately. That was code for get rid of the body.

I don’t know who arrives at the scene, who takes away the body or what happens. I just know the job gets done and there are no questions asked. How was I getting away with this? I impressed myself. The next 18 hours would prove to be the most painful, backbreaking hours of my life but I welcomed my beautiful baby girl. I called her Rose. She had to be monitored as she was born early but a month later and we were out.

I got away with it. No knew how I had done it and no one would ever know. I walked away a murderer, a mother and rich. Of course the next thing I did was leave the country, the restrictions had been lifted and I shifted to New Zealand. All because of a little black book and some money.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.