Criminal logo

A Gentleman's Addiction

Everything is Not as It Seems

By Victoria TurnerPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

“...to the sum of twenty thousand dollars!”

The crowd broke out into raucous applause. The announcer smiled and clapped along with them as he left his place behind the podium to hand me my check. Thankfully it wasn’t one of those gaudy, oversized ones, but just a slip of paper in an overpriced card. The sum wasn’t as much as previous years, but 2020 had hit the industry hard. 2020 had hit everyone hard. That’s why I held such excitement, even as I smiled politely and waved from my table at the front of the large dining hall. Twenty thousand was nothing to frown at, even as the CEO of a company this size. My yearly bonus would definitely be put to good use. I hadn’t been able to partake in my favorite pastime for almost 8 months for fear of my company suffering for my own personal expenditures. I patted my breast pocket just to be sure. My little black book was safely tucked there, a record of all the pleasures in my life. It was time to add a few more names to the list it contained.

As soon as the dinner ended, my excitement rose to another level. I shook hands, smiled for pictures, and laughed at poor jokes, everything my employees needed to see from their boss to believe that I was capable of holding my position. But the only thing on my mind was leaving that greedy lot behind to get to what really mattered tonight.

After a painful hour of socializing, it was finally late enough for me to excuse myself without seeming too abrupt. I ordered my Vice President to stay until the last guests departed, something he was paid excessively enough to accept without question, and departed to the garage. My driver waited patiently, smoking a cigar, an overly expensive addiction in my opinion, and jumped to attention as soon as I exited the elevator. I waved him off, however. I didn’t need a single one of my employees knowing of my extracurricular habits. I knew what they already thought of me; a rumor like this would definitely be enough to bring about a collective mutiny amongst my various department heads.

I sat in the front seat of the car, something I only did when on one of my escapades, and left the extravagant hotel behind. My first stop: the bank. I would cash the check and take the money my company earned me to fund my obsession. Then I rushed to my second stop: the garage of a different, but just as pricey hotel a few blocks away. I despised the expense, but my clients deserved the best treatment I could give them, even if it was only for a few nights.

Without bothering to check in at the front desk, I boarded an elevator, pressing the button for the 20th floor.

Even though I had all the information it contained memorized, I pulled out my little black book from my breast pocket. I caressed the cover. Years of names filled its well loved pages, each passionately entered in my own hand. Three new names would be crossed off tonight, though I was never opposed in returning to one if they had the interest. Most of my clients would only tolerate my services once, though. Pride did strange things to people, even people in their less than fortunate position.

Jasmine Ash. Floor 20, room 2021. $12,000.

The first name to be crossed off would be quick. Twelve grand was a smaller amount than I normally paid out, but to someone like her, I knew it was a fortune; one that I would gladly pay.

The elevator dinged, and I started down the hallway, taking deep breaths. This experience wasn’t new to me, but to the people I served, this was likely a first and once in a lifetime affair. It took a specific attitude to handle their reactions, even though it was always the same. Tears, some resistance, before they gladly accepted my envelope of money and let me take care of them.

Room 2021. Time to start my night.

I knocked gently, waiting for a response before I entered. I heard the lock rattle and then a face peered out from behind the door.

The young woman was beautiful, but a large bruise poorly covered in cheap makeup marred her features. I frowned. That hadn’t been there when we’d met at dinner several nights previously. I had told her to not see anyone else before I came for her tonight.

“Hello, Jasmine. May I come in?” No one had ever denied me, but I saw no point in being rude.

“Mr. Harrison, of course. I thought you were room service again. They’ve been up here three times today.”

“I called them. I wanted to make sure you were taken care of.”

She looked down. “You’re already doing too much, Mr. Harrison.”

And there it was: the resistance. I will never understand why everyone does it, even when we both know they have no other choice.

I chafed at the delay. Even though this was part of the main event, I always felt better when it was over. “I’m sorry, Jasmine, but I have other people to see tonight. Please stop fighting me on this and just accept.” I reached into my pants pocket and pulled out the first envelope of cash. “Take it. I know you need it.”

“Others?” She seemed genuinely surprised.

I smiled. “Yes. You’re not the only one who feeds my habit.”

“That’s…” The TV turned on and Jasmine turned to face the luxurious room that I had booked for her. A small head peeked out from under the covers on the king-sized bed, tiny hands clutching a remote.

“I’m sorry, Mr. Harrison, I know you told me to come alone, but I couldn’t find a sitter, and I didn’t want to leave him with…”

“It’s alright. I completely understand.” I smiled at the child and waved. He waved shyly back. I turned back to Jasmine. “You have this room for the next two days. Use that money wisely and I expect you’ll be in another state before then. Tell no one where you have gone. Do you understand?”

“Yes,” she whispered.

I nodded and turned to leave. Our arrangement was complete.

“That’s it?”

I turned back to her. This was also normal. Surprise that I expected nothing in return for my generosity. “Yes. That’s it. You owe me nothing. I am only happy to help you cover the cost of escaping that monster. No one deserves to live a life abused.” I stared at the bruise on her face. “Especially not a young mother with a child.”

She blinked back tears and suddenly rushed forward, wrapping my much larger frame in her arms. Almost every single woman, and even some of the men, that I helped reacted like this, but I was always startled by their form of gratitude. This much money was nothing to me, and yet I knew it could change their lives. But physical affection was rarely given in my world. My heart sank. It was most likely given even less in Jasmine’s.

So I hugged her back, as tightly as I could without fear of crushing her. I let her pull away first. We both wiped tears from our eyes as I waved once more to the child and turned to leave. She wasn’t the only person I wanted to help tonight. And, God help me, she would be far from the last.

innocence
Like

About the Creator

Victoria Turner

I write when I can, and dream when I can't.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.