Confessions logo

Why I'll never win a challenge

Confession of a serial noncomformist

By Claire GuérinPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
Top Story - December 2022
86
Why I'll never win a challenge
Photo by 愚木混株 cdd20 on Unsplash

Alright, I'll admit I may have exaggerated a little in the title, just to get your attention. Did it work?

In truth, always and never are far too big words for so little a confession I have to make. You see, I have a vice. Call it a downside, an indulgence, or a weakness if you prefer.

But before I confess, I'd like to express my gratitude to Vocal for a bit. I'm new to the platform, I posted my first story some two months ago, but already I'm glad I subscribed (and they don't even pay me to say this, I swear!). The first reason is that it allows me to publish and share my stories with the world, in just a few clicks. Isn't this something? The second reason is the vocal challenges. They pop up all the time, and they encourage me to expand the limits of my imagination, practice my craft, and above all, they push me to write. Just write, write, write. And at the end of the day, that's all that matters, whether or not people read my stories (please do though, some of them aren't half bad), and whether or not I get a prize for the challenge (though that would be nice, wink wink).

Now that this is out of the way, here comes the confession. Whenever a new challenge shows up on Vocal, my first instinct is to look for a loophole. How can I write a story that, technically speaking, is within the bounds of the prompt, but in truth, doesn't comply to the expectations of the challenge?

The Christopher Paolini challenge was a great vector for my vice to flourish.

A grown dragon finds a lost - or abandoned - toddler in the forest. Write a fiction story about what happens next.

I wrote three stories for that challenge, none of them about dragons, although I will deny it if you accuse me of cheating.

The Usual Suspects

After all, aren't Komodo monitors called dragons? I could argue my story is the only one with an actual dragon in it! What about the Aztec god, Quetzalcoatl? Isn't he the Mesoamerican version of the mythical creature? And of course, there's the pterosaur, a bit of a stretch that one, but hum... His Latin name is Quetzalcoatlus after all.

So, three submissions, none with the classical version of a dragon. I'm pretty sure that was not the assignment the author of Eragon had in mind... Each submission left me with a satisfied feeling, you know the one, when you've prepared the ultimate prank for a buddy and they have no idea?

And I swear, as soon as I sat down to brainstorm theses stories for the challenge, here is the first thing I did: I wrote the word dragon, and listed all the possible candidates of... Non-dragons! Fire breathers are overrated anyways, but don't tell them I said that, in case their throat gets scratchy. Seems like by instinct, my brain finds creativity when looking the opposite direction.

The Murder Weapon - Essentially, a serpent

I had barely recovered from this intense noncomformity (this is hard work, yes yes), that along came the mystery box challenge. Lo and behold, out of my twisted brains came Dark Bee the Soul of Envy. For those of you who've missed it, here is the challenge prompt:

A drone anonymously delivers a mysterious package to your doorstep.

Write a fictional story between 600 to 3,000 words uncovering who sent it and why.

Luckily (or unfortunately, depending on how you look at this), I am a biologist. And guess what? Male bees are called drones! Don't believe me? Ask the internet. So I ended up writing about a package delivered by a bee. And to go the extra mile, I took the 'you' in the prompt to the letter, and wrote in the second person. Quite the experiment and frankly, an education for me.

So there you have it: I am a serial non-comformist, and I systematically write through the loophole. So really, I don't expect these stories to gain me the approval of the Vocal Jury. Not to say that I would win if I were to play by the rules, though one can dream... Let's see how my other, by-the-rules mystery box story will fare.

In spite of all this, part of me does get excited when the results of the Vocal Challenges come out. I'm guessing if you've submitted to challenges yourself, this is also your case, dear reader?

__________________________________________________________________

If you liked this article, you might also enjoy...

3 simple ways to support my writing, for free

  1. Share with loved ones.
  2. Follow me on Instagram.
  3. Subscribe to my newsletter.

Bad habits
86

About the Creator

Claire Guérin

I write speculative fiction and poems. I dream of becoming a published, full-time author. If you like my short stories and poems on Vocal, share them, follow me on Instagram and subscribe to my newsletter! More about me here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (44)

Sign in to comment
  • Joseph Barnettabout a year ago

    Love it! I think those that follow make for an uninteresting world. People that bend, break or find the loophole make the world wined.

  • Noel T. Cumberlandabout a year ago

    This is an outstanding article. I, too, like to color outside the lines, so the idea of the drone story using bees is exceptionally entertaining to me! While I haven't won a Vocal contest, I did get an honorable mention for one story, which got me a year of Vocal free, so there's that! Next stop, unlimited fame and fortune! Please keep looking for loopholes. I'm going to go check out some of your other stuff now!

  • Renee Fesserabout a year ago

    I howled, Thanks!

  • Kimabout a year ago

    Lol to answer your question in the beginning, yes it worked… if you had to win a challenge for most attractive title you’d definitely win if I were judging 🏆

  • DragonFlyabout a year ago

    I know how it feels :-)

  • Jorge Paulabout a year ago

    A typical misinterpretation among shoppers just as merchants is that pouch <a href="https://https://www.plusprinters.com/hemp-packaging//">hemp packaging boxes</a> must be biodegradable so as to be supportable. In any case, as pouches are not and ought not to be biodegradable – we'll clarify why underneath – those customers and sellers wrongly accept that pouches are not eco-accommodating by far. Peruse on to realize why pouch packaging is supportable as long as it's recyclable.

  • Emeka Nwankwoalaabout a year ago

    This is a sweat story indeed. Incredible

  • Meghan Thewabout a year ago

    Honestly, I relate so much to this. I always try to have a twist or something interesting. I’ve been discouraged by the competitions because I don’t know if it’s that the competition is so steep, or that I’m not writing what they’re looking for. 😂 But I keep trying! As a side note, in the debate on what type of writing wins the contests, the only competition I got recognized in was the campfire horror story. And I definitely did not go outside the box on that one. But I’ve seen plenty outside of the box writers win, so who knows! 🤷🏼‍♀️

  • Chelsea Lynneabout a year ago

    Incredibly creative way to approach prompts! Look forward to seeing more of your loop-hole stories!

  • Peter Thompsonabout a year ago

    Great post

  • WOAabout a year ago

    I wish I could write stories like this!

  • P. K. Ganiabout a year ago

    I like your thinking, this was an interesting read, and yes, your clever title reeled me in after I kept seeing it and seeing it ha

  • Annelise Lords about a year ago

    When you find the loophole, kindly share it. Or sell it. Lol. Just kidding. I hope you win. I, too, entered several. Don't give up though.

  • Hank Ryderabout a year ago

    I suspect Vocal's contests are less about quality writing and more about which stories drive traffic to their website. It's a popularity contest not a writing contest. If it helps, I wrote a story that actually did feature 'traditional' European dragon and followed the prompt. The story is called "Embers of Defiance" and it's on my profile if you're interested in giving it a read. It features a dragon struggling with a moral quandry and honestly I was quite proud of it. Sadly it only got a total of three reads and never gained any steam. Same as all the other stories I've posted here. I, too, don't seem to be winning any contests anytime soon but I will keep writing and hoping.

  • Neo Natsuabout a year ago

    The day will come ❤️

  • Natalie Demossabout a year ago

    I, too, often push the limits of the prompts. Maybe not to the point of using bee drones and I love dragons too much to stray too far from traditional views. But my weekend getaway became a horror story. I, too, have yet to win a Vocal contest. Your stories sound interesting. I will definitely be giving them a read.

  • Mark Coughlinabout a year ago

    Indeed, it is also my goal as an entrant to the challenges to attempt to think outside the box. For the previous dragon-based challenge, I wrote my entry from the point of view of a dragon, complete with very limited abstract thinking. That posed its own challenges, to write convincingly as such a character and still give the reader an interesting story.

  • Silver Serpent Booksabout a year ago

    This is an awesome take, one that I completely relate to. Most times after writing something for a challenge, I end up looking at the story with a wince thinking, "Well, not exactly in the box." But those are the best sorts of stories! They help us grow as writers and ultimately give us our own voice :)

  • Lauren Girodabout a year ago

    I feel this a lot. Out of the box thinking, but will it reap the out of box reward? I love your ideas to boot too!

  • Martyna Dearingabout a year ago

    One day the risk will pay off!

  • Kelley Steadabout a year ago

    For the recent “Weekend Getaway Challenge”, the first sentence had to include “we”. But I like writing single person stories. So “we” was a woman and her dead fathers ashes. Not exactly a “we” and not exactly a “getaway”. 😂 so we’ll see

  • Kelley Steadabout a year ago

    I do this too. I try and think of the weirdest story I can write while still technically using the prompt. And then I have to stop and ask myself “do you really want to try and win though?” 😂 Writing is the most important thing. And even if you never win a challenge, my friend, I hope your writing takes you somewhere

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Christian Leeabout a year ago

    Very interesting read. I need to read it again; I'm not so into fiction. But you had something existential going on in your writing in the first half that reeled me in. You have splendid writing technique! Also great control, rhythm, and word choice. And yes, I get the anxious blood rush when the victors for Vocal challenges are about to be announced. Great read once again. I'll be on the lookout for another. :)

  • Madoka Moriabout a year ago

    I was also considering some kind of awful, biopunk take where huge grubs were delivering packages. Alas, deadlines!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.