Confessions logo

Why I Drive Rideshare

It's for the Love of People

By Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual WarriorPublished 3 years ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read
2

I have been asked many times why I have chosen to drive rideshare and work in the gig economy as my way to support myself especially considering the recent murder of Joshua Miller, an Uber driver, here in Dallas. I have a great resume, good work ethic, and could probably get a nice, safe office job making the same amount of money, so why do I put my life and health on the line to do rideshare?

Because of the stories.

Because of the people.

And because, sometimes in my own self-centered way, I think that maybe just by being there and listening, I am making a difference.

· I have listened to marital and relationship problems.

· I have wiped up tears.

· I have sung songs with drunks.

· I have cleaned up vomit from drunks (not a happy thing).

· I have wiped up pee from elderly people (sad thing).

· I have taken people to the hospital in labor.

· I have taken a rape victim (who was hiding in fear behind a 7-11) to the hospital and sat with her until her family came for her.

· I have brought people home from the hospital and made sure they were safe.

· I have hauled a sick goat to a vet appointment.

· I have dealt with unbelievably nasty people.

· I have dealt with angels.

· I have been hit in the head with a book.

· I have been slapped in the back of my head by an executive in a large corporation here because he did not think I was driving fast enough.

· I have had things thrown at me.

· I have kicked people out of my car for being rude.

· I have had drunks try to touch me.

· I have been called “bitch” so many times I cannot even count any more.

· I have been accused of being racist so a passenger could get a free ride.

· I turned off the meter and sat and cried with an Ethiopian woman who was worried sick about her son and his safety in our exceedingly difficult society that hates POC.

· I have witnessed unbelievable acts of kindness from the police as well as witnessed egregious, racist acts from the police.

· I have had to call the police to help me find a drunk girl who had wandered off from my car because I was worried about her getting lost and hurt.

· I had to call the police because a drunk thought I had not taken him home (I had) and threw himself on the hood of my car and would not move.

· I had to call the police when a passenger got aggressive and peed on me.

· I have driven pretty girls home doing the walk of shame and kept my mouth shut.

· I have helped people find their cars after they lost them due to partying too hard and forgetting where they parked.

· I have taken people to jail as they were getting ready to turn themselves in.

· I have driven strippers and prostitutes home. I have driven patrons to strip clubs.

· I have had to scold parents who try to put their small children in a car alone with me.

· I sat with a young man and watched the video of his brother’s funeral who had been killed in a road rage incident.

· I have had passengers try to sell me drugs.

· I have had passengers try to buy drugs from me (as if).

· I have made friends.

· I have had dinner with passengers who insisted on feeding me.

The stories are endless.

On an average day, I drive 15-20 people to various destinations. And every single person has a story to share that they so often leave me with. I am so blessed to hear and have been given these stories whether they are sad, beautiful, uplifting, or heartbreaking.

I cannot tell you how many times passengers have had me laughing so hard my cheeks hurt with their stories or on the hand have me going home in tears needing to light candles and pray for them and their loved ones. As one passenger said, “these are Instant Cup relationships.” But they nourish me.

I am so thankful to God for these stories that have allowed me into so many lives and hearts.

- Julie O'Hara 2023

Thank you for reading my poem or article. Please feel free to subscribe to see more content and if you are moved to, please consider tipping. In addition, my books can be found at https: Julie O'Hara Bookshop

Workplace
2

About the Creator

Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual Warrior

Thank you for reading my work. Feel free to contact me with your thoughts or if you want to chat. [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.