Confessions logo

Who am I?

Julie Lacksonen

By Julie LacksonenPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
17
Please enjoy this original composition as you read.

Please allow me to introduce myself. I am Julie. I started out as a Hannemann.

Minnesota was a great place to grow up as a tomboy. I climbed trees, swam, fished, canoed, ice skated, and rode sleds down our hill (the best in town) onto the frozen river. I played music with my parents, three brothers, and sister. In addition to playing the flute, I played piano and sang.

I outlined in my piece, I’m Boring, that I was a shy person who didn’t like being introverted. In school, I was in the band and choir and on the swim team, but I only had a few close friends, and not once did I even hold a boy’s hand or even go on a date all through high school. It didn’t help that I was self conscious about being taller than all the guys, at 6 feet, until they had their high school growth spurts.

I went to college 90 miles from my home town. Our mascot was a Corncob. No, I’m not kidding. I’m a Concordia Cobber! I graduated with a degree in music education.

I am a survivor. During college, I was raped (off campus). Many people do not know, because I have found it difficult to speak openly about this experience. It isn’t much easier now, knowing people will read this. I can understand why some victims change sexual orientation. I had my doubts, but I never strayed from heterosexuality. The best thing was that I met some patient men.

I didn’t care for the cold MN winters, so, because I remembered my mom telling me after she got back from visiting her brother in Arizona that I would love it there, I focused my job search in The Grand Canyon State. After turning down two other jobs, I landed in a rather small town (bigger than the one I grew up in) called Cottonwood. It's a stunning area, with mountains all around, the Verde River for recreation, and sunshine for part of almost every day of the year.

A view from my backyard!

It does get cold at night in the winter, but nothing like the frozen north. If I want snow, I can go just over an hour north to Flagstaff. If I want heat, I can go just over an hour south to Phoenix.

I married just before going to AZ. I had two daughters with my husband, Paul. Andrea is now a chef, also in Cottonwood. She is the single mom of her 8-year-old autistic son. Ashley moved to Northern California and works as an ultrasound technician. She is married and is now expecting her first child (I just found out today!)

My husband, Paul passed away in 2016 unexpectedly from a heart attack in his sleep. If you have read my story about my dog, you know that I had a tough year in multiple ways.

I remarried in 2019. My husband, Ted, and I met online while he was living in Flagstaff. I consider myself fortunate to have been married to two kind, caring men.

Those of you who are Facebook friends know that I am still Julie Smith there. I honor my first husband in this small way.

I have been teaching music at Dr. Daniel Bright School for 34 years. It has gone through many changes. It was a brand new school my first year, in 1987. At first, our students were K-6, then K-5, K-2, and now K-8 for the last three years. I teach general music, band, and choir. I expect to keep teaching for another 10 years or so. I’m still enjoying it, so why quit?

Like Richard Dreyfuss’ character in Mr Holland’s Opus, I have lots of music in me which I have never shared.

This jazzy composition is called “Smooth Sailing.” The two pieces I shared here - both of which I recorded today - were from a CD I was planning to produce called, “Tides,” which has yet to happen.

Perhaps that’s why Vocal so strongly appeals to me. Each story, poem, or article is a relatively short-term commitment. I joined because I got the crazy idea of writing a YA book series with my two daughters. We got started, but then Ashley moved, and Andrea’s ex moved away, leaving her with little time. I took over the project. I needed practice to become a better writer. Vocal has been great for me! I enjoy reading other authors’ works, and I really believe it has challenged me to improve as a writer. Now, I have to find time to go back to my book series!

I saw an ocean for the first time at age 25. Having found a new love, I later became SCUBA certified and took many trips to Mexico until the death of my SCUBA buddy, one year after my husband passed. I told you that was a tough year.

I like to think that you will be hard-pressed to find a more loving, compassionate, empathetic, generous person than I am.

Now, in addition to teaching, I walk, read, write, play in the Cottonwood Community Band, and spend time with my closest friends and family.

That’s who I am!

Thank you for taking the time to learn about me. Expect me to return the favor!

Humanity
17

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.