Confessions logo

When the net is being blown apart, I can only hold on

I often wonder: the spider web, from the fixed side here to the fixed side on the other side, some can be more than two meters apart, then, how does this tiny spider hang the silk so far from the opposite side? Can spiders fly?

By An angel with broken wingsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I often wonder: the spider web, from the fixed side here to the fixed side on the other side, some can be more than two meters apart, then, how does this tiny spider hang the silk so far from the opposite side? Can spiders fly? But spiders don't have wings.

It was only four years ago that I solved the question when I was young.

That year, I quit my job and went back to my hometown to have a rest for a while.

That noon, I enjoy the cool in the yard under the shade, inadvertently, I found a spider dragging a silk down the tree trunk, stay boring I suddenly came to the interest. Stand by and observe how a spider spins its web: this spider crawls down with silk, which, unlike silkworms, does not come out of its mouth. Silk is produced by specialized organs at the back of its abdomen.

So as he climbs down, to prevent the rough bark from hanging up his silk, he raises his tail and carefully pulls it from the tree. Down to the ground, in order to prevent the small soil particles or small grass on the ground to hang up the silk, the spider is still tail warped carefully to climb two meters away from a tree, the tree climbing process, is still warped tail carefully.

When he had reached the same height as the last tree, he drew in the silk, and slowly a thread ran tightly between the two trees. No sooner had she pulled a thread between the two trees than a breeze blew and the thread broke. The spider did not lose heart.

I raised my hand to check my watch. It took the spider nearly an hour to pull up just two threads. The two strands are not next to each other, but are drawn from one side of the tree to the other, roughly forming a rectangle with the cross section of the two trees.

The spider then weaves its web on this rectangular frame. When busy to nearly two hours, because there is a river in front of my house, the river wind blowing, the rectangular frame of the spider was blown "broken". At that time, I was very upset for the spider, but the spider is still not discouraged, from scratch, continue to work hard.

The next day and the day after that, I went out to visit relatives and friends. When I arrived home on the fourth morning, I found a thick spider web between the two trees. The spider is on the net motionless "lurk", waiting for the small insects hit the net. Judging by the small number of insects on the web, this web has not been formed long.

Although I am not at home these two days, I can imagine that this spider has gone through a lot of difficulties to make a successful web: Again and again the long journey, failure again and again, not discouraged to start from scratch, continue to travel again and again, continue to fail, without any complaints, without any complaints, continue to start again, after many failures, finally put the net successful.

The spider's diligence, silence, tenacity and persistence moved me deeply, but also made me ashamed: I didn't have any of the four advantages that spiders possessed at the same time. So wingless spiders can "fly" high in the sky over and over again; Therefore, the state of mind impetuous, ambitious I can only in the workplace again "down and out".

Having identified my fatal flaw, I left my hometown and went back to work. I have 3 years of work experience is willing to start from scratch, starting from the industry new employees, diligently, silent work, encounter difficulties, carry forward the spider that "tenacious, persistent" spirit forward......

A year later, I was awarded as an excellent employee by the company. Two years later, I was promoted to department manager. Four years later, I was promoted to vice president.

Whenever someone asks me how I can have a good career, I suggest that they carefully observe how a spider "starts from scratch" and builds a web from the very first thread.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

An angel with broken wings

Love, Marriage, Life Story Here is the chicken soup for the soul you need

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.