Confessions logo

WHEN I LOOK BACK AT THE PAST

This is something everyone lives or has lived through, so feel the nostalgia and smile

By Dalmy AlvesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
WHEN I LOOK BACK AT THE PAST
Photo by Smart on Unsplash

When I look back at the past I see a young man full of dreams, full of the will to fight to achieve what he dreamed of thinking that life was easy, that you just have to go after it and you can do it, but it's not quite like that, I think we all have that funny feeling of ourselves when we remember how we used to feel when we thought about our dreams, how easy the dream and the plans for the future were on paper, but not in practice.

Yeah, as my godfather says: ''Map is not territory''

What does this mean? Do you know when you take a look at the map of your city? From one place to another is very close and you even know it, but you know that when it comes to moving around it doesn't work like that, on the map you have no idea of the distance but in practice, it can be very far, that's what this sentence says.

How many of us confidently say: ''I will finish college at 21 or 22'' and others ''I will get married at 25'', I when I look back when I was 13 years old in a conversation with my lovely mother, she asked me if I was thinking of getting married at how old I was and I said I would get married when I turned 20 and my mother many years more experienced in life looked at me and smiled, I was sad and questioned why she was laughing if she doubted it was possible and she wisely told me: ''I do not doubt it my son but life is not as we think, not always what we want and how we want it will be''.

When I look at the past, I see myself traveling, getting to know other states in my country, imagining that I would always travel around the world, but today I have never done an international trip, and I am already 25 years old, it's funny because life is not as we think, and when we are younger there is a huge fire in us that burns all wisdom, all wisdom, and maturity, all caution, and planning, we are immediate and things happen that completely change our course.

I still have dreams and plans, there is still a flame in me, but today I am more mature, I have more wisdom, I know how to plan, all this that I did not have when I look back to the past. Maybe you who are reading identified with something I wrote or thought about your case, adolescence is a beautiful phase but it should be lived surrounded by a lot of advice, every teenager should be surrounded by mature people, no matter how much you live your adventures will know when to calm down, so when I look to the past I thank for all that phase.

Can you imagine what you would be if you didn't live through everything you lived through? Would you know today what you know? Would you know the value of everything you value today? ''What we are today is the fruit of yesterday and what we will be tomorrow is the result of today''

Have you heard that saying? ''If life gives you lemons, make lemonade!'' and this is how I finish this story and I hope it can make you look at life in a new way, thanks for coming to the end, click like to help me and motivate me to write and subscribe for more stories, hugs.

Humanity
2

About the Creator

Dalmy Alves

I'm a young dreamer who seeks to make many dreams come true, one of them is to make a living from writing, I love to write about everything, including the things I love the most, so stay here, maybe you'll identify with me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.