Confessions logo

Vocal Media is changing but I'm not going along for the ride

The evolution of the writing site at this point

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Vocal  Media is changing but I'm not going along for the ride
Photo by Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

Remaining constant in a changing world

My story is that I have been writing for Vocal Media for four and one-half years since April 2018. Things have gradually changed and that is normal because change is constant. Unfortunately, the changes have affected me and writers like me in a not so positive manner. During my first two years of writing for this platform, I had five or six stories that were featured and I was honored.

My stories that were to0p picks were about the Superbowl/puppy bowl, recipes, and current events. Similar articles by other writers were also featured so it appeared that Vocal appreciated quality stories. I also won second place in two challenges where I shared my personal experiences based on what the challenge was about. I am not a fiction writer and now that any challenges are for fiction stories I am not entering.

By Amador Loureiro on Unsplash

The top stories on Vocal used to be encouraging and uplifting but now seem to be centered around political or social justice issues or topics that in years past would have been rejected. It's been several years since any of my stories have been chosen as a top pick but I will not lower my standards and use cuss words or graphic sex imagery in order to gain younger viewers who think differently than I do.

There are other long-time writers on this Standing y platform who are feeling the same way but there is nothing to be done. We are aging and the world is quickly changing and it's as if our views and values are no longer relevant. Those who choose to stories and challenges are obviously not the same people who were doing it a few years back. I wonder if they quit, were replaced, fired or even passed away. The change has been subtle but it's there and the platform publishes what obviously is popular but is material that some of us would never consider writing.

Standing my ground

Values and morals no longer seem relevant and an anything-goes society is taking over as this is the way of the world. What alarms me and other like minded writers? On other platforms where I write, profanity, and sexually explicit content is not allowed but on Vocal this type of writing will be featured.

It's not my platform and I do not make the rules but I will not change my methods to be accepted. I used to write four or five articles a day on Vocal Media but now it may be once a week. I am thankful that although my way of thinking and my style of writing may seem old school, out of touch and judgmental I am allowed to produce content here.

By Kaitlyn Baker on Unsplash

I don't understand why contributors on Vocal can write about witchcraft, Wicca, astral projection, demons, and the occult but cannot write about the Christian faith. I accept that Vocal is changing before my eyes and that I may never win another challenge or have an article featured. There may come a day when the type of writing that I produce could be banned from this site but again I will not dummy down.

I will continue writing based on my life and world view and if only one person reads an article it will be worth it. As long as I am permitted I will share my truth because somewhere out there are those who appreciate what I have to offer and I pray they find my articles and are blessed. Change is constant and what once was disdained is now celebrated. This is where I am today with Vocal media. I am thankful to be on the platform but I am not of the mindset of what is deemed acceptable and that's OK.

Workplace
2

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.