Confessions logo

Very Superstitious

Spellbound...

By Latoya Giles Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

"What goes around comes around." A very common phrase. I am sure you have heard or said it before. I have heard it many times. I have said and/or thought it much more.

My family is from the south. I got family in North Carolina, Georgia and New Orleans. This is my second writing about my family and our beliefs. I talked about spirits a little bit last time. I also introduced y'all to some of the superstitions that my family and I adhere to quite strictly. If you read it, great! If you did not read it, I will summarize a bit. We do not put shoes under a bed because you will hear footsteps. We refrain from getting our significant other shoes because he or she will walk out of your life. Potato peels on the forehead will make a headache go away. Now you are pretty much caught up.

Of course we believe in the common superstitions: do not walk under a ladder or split a pole. No broken mirrors or umbrellas up inside the house. If someone is sweeping, I need to stay out of the way. Why you ask? Well, I need to stay out of the way because if the broom sweeps my foot, I will have bad luck. Life is tough enough, I don't need any bad luck. If a person's foot does get swept, just spit on the broom bristles. That will ward off the bad luck. I will admit though, I walk into a house with my umbrella up if it is raining hard and there is no roof covering the doorway. I don't wanna get wet.

"Oh well." I always think.

I believe in spells and potions too. I made a love potion when I was like 18 years old I think. There was this boy that I liked. I wasn't sure if he liked me back. I kind of suspected he did, but I wanted to be sure. So I made a potion and created an alter in my room. I closed my bedroom door and turned off the light. I lit one candle. I had a picture of him, his used chapstick and strand of his hair. The hair was to put in the potion. It was a simple mixture:

*warm milk

*half a pat of butter

*his hair

I put the ingredients into a cup and slowly mixed it with a cinnamon stick. As I stirred, I had to repeat the incantation 3 times:

"In this cup I mix a potion, to secure love and devotion"

Drink it all down.

Believe it or not, he actually did end up asking me out. That was the beginning of a 7 year of and on attachment situation. I was young. I have grown up. I now know that black magic is not something to play with. I have not made any potions since.

I am getting more spiritually aligned with every passing day though. I walked away from "organized" religion. I was raised Baptist. I consider myself to be non-denominational now. I believe in God. I pray daily. Sometimes I pray more than one time in a day. I have casual conversations with God and the universe whenever I feel like it. Most conversations occur in my car on the way to or from work. I am alone and can speak freely and candidly. I am not evil. I can be mean sometimes, but who isn't mean when someone is being a jerk?. I am not a witch. I am just a child of the stars, a baby of the universe and a child of God all at the same time....

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Latoya Giles

I'm just a single mom tryna make it. Come with me on my journey through life in writing... "A dream deferred is not a dream denied"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.