Confessions logo

To All My Heroes

by Erika Ravnsborg

By Erika RavnsborgPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
To All My Heroes
Photo by The New York Public Library on Unsplash

This is something that I am not used to nor have I ever shared it with anyone. So thank you for giving me a chance to try and give thanks.

To all of my heroes,

I'll try not to be too cliche in what I am about to write but to say that you helped shape who I am today is an understatement. Because of you my heroes both real and fictional, historical and modern, I was inspired to be something more than ordinary. To be independent and free, never backing down when the going gets tough, and remembering that love and life (no matter what form it takes) is to be treasured.

No life has an easy road but it is one of the things that makes everything you achieve precious. I have always wanted to be a writer but never knew where to look. So I look to my favorite stories about the women who changed the world just by being.

The women who are real who I would like to thank are as follows: Gertrude Bell, Virginia Cowles, Jeanne Baret, Drew Barrymore, Christine McConnel, Marie Stopes, Justice Ruth Vader Ginsburg, Nellie Bly, Emily Carr, Amelia Earhart, Tiffany Pratt, and Betsey Johnson. All very different women but they have more in common than most people think. And no! Not because they are all women. It's because they are all brave enough to be themselves despite what society dictates, their determination makes waves and opens doors for the rest of us, and last but not least they followed their hearts with smiles on their faces. What's not to admire about these qualities?

The women who are fictional that I admire are as follows (its okay to laugh): Primm/Tamber/Angela from the mana series, Marle from Chrono Trigger, Aeris from Final Fantasy 7, Miss Phryne Fisher, Velvet from Odin Sphere, Kashian from Brain Lord, Nikki from the Pandemonium series, Abby Chase from Danger Girls, Tressa from Octopath Traveler, Jill from Jill of the Jungle, Rondoline E. Effenberg of the Tales of ...series, Spinel from Crimson Gem Saga, and Adelle Ein from Bravely Default 2. That's a mouthful isn't it?

Yes you'll notice that most of these heroines are from videogames or television. That's the kind of kid I was; obessed with games. It's like being in an interactive book and controling what happens. Each one is an adventure with strong, sympathetic characters. Say what you will but isn't that why we become what we are in adulthood? Because we saw what we liked in some shape of form in something we liked to look at or read?

The reason why I choose these heroines is because they all were adventureous, strong-willed, and kind. I can go into detail in why I liked each of these characters individually but I won't do that. What I can tell you is that they all travel the worlds they are in, they help others in anyway they can, and they never stop having fun along the way. Not too shabby!

We all have our heroes for a reason. It never stops at just one either. It grows like a tree as we get older and our dreams change. It gets bigger, twists and turns to reach for the sky, and takes us in directions that we never thought we would take.

The world is ripe for exploration just like all things in our life is. That is what each one of my heroes has taught me. I look forward to growing and exploring what happens in my life. I am eternally grateful for all my heroes who for inspire me everyday in my past, present, and future. Thanks for being awesome!

Sincerely,

Your number one fan, Erika

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Erika Ravnsborg

Erika Ravnsborg is a writer/blogger/adventurer/explorer living in Canada. Her goal is to travel all over the world and write amazing stories about it. Find more of her adventures at https://www.magicalstoriestoshare.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.