Confessions logo

Those That Wish Me Dead

Part 1

By Mike PPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2

My life will never be the same, the city that I grew up in is unreconizable. Is it all planned or is this how society evolves. I understand a little bit of riff raff, but you can't even walk down the street in some part's. The government warns us about other countries and how dangerous they're. Ha, that's a joke I tell you. Have you ever heard of an individual playing soccer with a man's head he just decapitated in a local park.

In 2012 I was leaving the bar, it was in downtown inner city. The mood was melow, boredom mostly. It was only about 2 blocks from my house, that I will always remember. Sitting at a stop sign switching through the radio station's, a rifle abruptly enter's my passenger window. The man wielding the firearm ordered me to exit the vehicle. I nervously stepped out of my car, not knowing what kind of situation I was about to get into. This is abojut the time I notice another young man holding a wooden bat in his hands. My god, I said in my head.

The man holding the rifle told me to remove my clothes. Me being in a drunken state laughed, and said just don't make fun of my white dick. Trying to get a laugh from one of the attacker's, I don't know some form of defense mechanism. They didn't think it was funny tho, as I smurk trying to play it cool. One of them thought I didn't believe how serious they were, and pushed me against my truck. At this point I proceeded to remove my shirt, whenever it covered my face I was struck. Everything went silent, the world around me slowed down. All I could picture was an image of my son, I told myself that I will see you again. I'm standing there looking at the guy with the bat obviously he's the one that hit me. Guessing he was surprised I didn't fall, from his first initial blow. I was drunk what else can I say maybe it didn't faze me as much. He hit me about 4 times with a bat in the head. Still standing there glaring into the guy's eye's, wandering to myself if I'm alive or dead. Then realized he changed his batting position, I dont know I over analyze things. I knew that if he struck me with a downward trajection the blow to my cranium would more then likely kill me. I strecthed my arm out and the bat smashes into my forearm. Imagine what's going through these guy's mind's when im still standing there looking at them all bloddy and bruised. I would've ran but knowing the speed of a rifle round I knew I had no chance. They pushed me against a fence and took off in my ride.

Phew I made it, I survived. Can't move my right arm but atleast I'll be able to see my son, that's all I could think of. Staggering through the hood knocking on door's at 3 in the morning, helplessly looking for any form of assistance. My glasses covered in blood so I had to tilt my head to see through the clear part's. Finally someone answered, an older lady shocked if not frieghtened by how I must've looked. She calmly said "sit down honey, I'm on the phone with 911".

I remember walking into the ambulance and asking them to clean my glasses. They looked at each other after realizing they were completely covered in blood. Don't worry bud we'll get you hooked up. Three day's went by, I must've passed out in the ambulance. Looking around I determined it looks like a broken arm not to bad. A nurse enter's the room and introduce's herself, " hi I'm chelsea, how are you feeling" she say's. I try to smile and say hello, but soon realize I can't speak. Shocked for a second, Chelsea inform's me that my mouth is wired shut. I think being a stoner and someone who spent time in the medical setting it didn't effect me as much as most.

All I could do was mumble but hey at least I have an excuse now. It took a few hours until I was understandable, speaking with the doctor's. I mention, "it's like everything seem's clearer now". The doctor's only response was yea maybe they knocked some sense into you. Dark humor, so I guess.

Secrets
2

About the Creator

Mike P

My name is Michael, I am an out of work CNA. Trying this whole writing thing. It's something to keep my mind active that's for sure. Just to give fare warning you might find grammer issues, confusing plots.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Lawrence Edward Hinchee2 years ago

    I understand PTSD as I suffer from it. I have good days and bad days. Some of my PTSD stems from being beaten, molested and sexually assaulted as a child. My PTSD was enhanced by being beaten by my roommates while in the military, raped by them some three weeks later. I was nearly killed by a terrorist bombing in Munich. I do have triggers and there are more things that have gone into making my PTSD worse.

  • This was so scary!

  • Mike P (Author)2 years ago

    Planning on adding more to the story for sure.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.