Confessions logo

Thinking About Gig Work While You are Dealing With a Disability?

This has been my experience, so far as a disabled individual, who dabbles in the gig work environment.

By Haley C.Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 8 min read
1
Thinking About Gig Work While You are Dealing With a Disability?
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Let me start off by saying, I'm a delivery driver for a delivery gig platform, it's a pretty fun experience - but it's still not for everyone. I decided to sign up one day to deliver for this platform because their ad popped up on a website, and I really needed to grow my work ethic. I am a disabled individual, and I am tired of living without things that I need - and want. I had been sitting in a depressed state for quite some time, but I found this gig helps me get out of my depression for a little while. When I go and deliver people their food on my own schedule I am optimistic I will not fail.

I struggle with crippling anxiety from PTSD - and I have severe ADHD on top of it. The struggle with being mentally disabled is that the normal work day is not easy - I learned that the hard way - when I tried. The limitations I have, may not work in a normal work situation, but I was so happy when I learned I could work for myself. The ability to schedule myself helps me overcome some of my anxieties.

I have dealt with anxiety in the work place, and a lot of it is due to the inability to communicate properly - ADHD symptoms increase my anxiety - because I am socially awkward. It is not very professional to mix words up when speaking with a customer, but with delivering food to customers, I am able to get my thoughts together before I hand the food to them - I have time in-between social interactions. One of the reasons I feel I can communicate better with delivery driving - is due to the fact I don't have to multitask against my own will. I noticed when I was working for companies that gave me a schedule - I did not thrive - this all had been a problem that derived from my disabilities.

I remember a job I had at a fast food chain - my anxiety was so bad that I was throwing up every time I showed up. Luckily I wasn't fired, because my manager understood my circumstances, she would send me home to rest when my anxiety was this bad. I was relieved when she let me do custodial work only, because the interactions with some of the customers was a challenge for me. Some customers would scream in my face when I was on the cash register - and when a person deals with PTSD, yelling is the last thing that will speed them up; I always end up freezing like a deer in the headlights - Yelling triggers my flashbacks - a positive concept about delivering customers their food, is the not getting yelled at part.

One reason I believe customers don't tend to yell when you are just the delivery driver, is because that is what you are - the delivery driver. There is a saying, "don't shoot the messenger," when delivering people their food - we as delivery drivers, are not responsible for the "special instructions" for food preparation. Sometimes, the customer will ask us to make sure they receive their requested utensils, and extra sauce packets - but that is not a big deal - even if it involves asking the person behind the counter (my anxiety makes it hard sometimes to ask, but I do it for the customer, it's a part of exposure therapy). The thing I have found the most difficult for the job, is apartment buildings, especially for big orders.

I am glad that the delivery platform I use gives us the option to decline orders. When a grocery order comes through - I can decline that order. I no longer accept grocery orders, I can't handle the heavy bulk items, I deal with chronic pain from fibromyalgia - it's not fun. I decided I could not accept grocery orders - what if the next customer lived on the third floor of an apartment building, and had a 24 pack of water as a part of their order? I would be obsolete for the next few days after attempting something like that. The option to decline specific orders that don't match my abilities is an optimistic opportunity in my opinion - I can cope with orders I see as "safe orders" which are usually restaurant orders.

One of the issues I deal with from fibromyalgia - is chronic fatigue. This fatigue can amp up my anxiety in situations where I have to do things a boss would need me to do - which leads to failure to meet the expectations of most employers. While working as a gig delivery driver, I have not had any issues with failure to meet expectations. The convenience of choosing my own hours means I don't have to work on the days I don't have the energy. The person who first invented these platforms really helped people like me (I should search for the first delivery gig platform).

I feel like the ability to go into work when I decide - has helped reduce my anxiety tremendously - even though an occasional panic attack still occurs (but this is expected, I'm learning to cope under pressure, even if it isn't much pressure to some). My illnesses don't have to be in my way - I can find the time to put my energy into something that helps boost my income a little. While this is a great opportunity for people who may have issues with chronic illness, there is still an issue - these gig jobs can't be relied on for a living wage.

I do this side gig as a work ethic developer, and as a form of exposure therapy. I am in college at the moment, I want to further my education; I hope furthering my education can help me achieve success in the long run - even though I am disabled. I am in need of credentials that is well suited to the needs of a work from home employer. Sadly I may need to quit delivery driving because of a recent diagnosis that isn't the ideal match for the gig.

I have a lot of issues, and it's embarrassing to list these all, but I found out that I have narcolepsy (type 2). I can not be behind the wheel all day it is dangerous for me, and anyone else who is on the road. My diagnosis of type 2 narcolepsy left me in shock - I thought what the doctor called "sleep attacks," were caused by my ADHD. I believed, I just intensely spaced out, or something. I have had more days where I'm not delivering food to customers because this illness leaves me feeling frequently exhausted.

So, this gig isn't for everyone - especially full time. Having type 2 narcolepsy doesn't mean I can't drive - I can drive - but I have to make sure I don't feel tired. If I am tired, I don't work, for the longest time I thought my sleepiness was caused by fibromyalgia - but it had a lot to do with my narcolepsy. My doctor told me to take precautionary measures before driving, and I'm on medication to help me stay alert, but I still have bad days. The other day I wanted to quit delivery driving - I had a moment where I hit a curb - I felt a blank out moment occur. I don't want to hurt anyone by accident, I may have to resign from this particular gig. This is why I have joined Vocal.

One of the reasons I decided to join, Vocal is in hopes of having a writing gig. I believe a writing gig can cooperate with my disabilities. I found out that I am able to write better than I previously thought. Last semester I received an A in both my English, and Literature classes. I did not know I was "literate." I may not always gather my thoughts easily through speech - I guess that does not hinder my abilities on the keyboard. I am giving writing a chance - my writings have not been read much on this platform as of yet. I haven't earned enough to get paid - I hope for my Vocal stories to start catching more readers attention - I am determined to have a career in writing - this is something I imagine myself accomplishing.

I don't want my disabilities to stop me from living my life the way I want. I want to be in control of my financial situation. I may be disabled, but there has to be a way to find work that cooperates with my disabilities. I feel like gig work is a great way to start integrating people of varying abilities into the work place. I hope more disabled individuals jump onto the gig work bandwagon because it's a, " you can make it work for you" type of thing, nobody has to feel inadequate in todays society. We may be told we aren't capable because we are disabled, but that's because we are not working with the same operating system as the majority of people. We are able to find a way through this road block, and I believe gig work may be our first option - giving us a boost for finding our way into the work place.

Workplace
1

About the Creator

Haley C.

Hello I'm Haley, I am a current college student. I plan to major in psychology and minor in music. I want to help people by becoming a music therapist. Hopefully I can utilize this platform to create helpful stories, and articles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.