Confessions logo

The Year I Learned to Be Me

I had an amazing experience with my friends on the weekend. They are not only supportive of my ambitions, but they get me excited about them.

By SuccessPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
2
The Year I Learned to Be Me
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

I had an amazing experience with my friends on the weekend. They are not only supportive of my ambitions, but they get me excited about them. I am so lucky to have these people in my life. My friends know how hard it is to let your authentic self shine through, but somehow they understand that that's what makes me happy. That was just one example of how being around them makes me feel more confident and alive.

It is hard to be yourself in a world where everyone wants you to fit into a certain mold. It's even more difficult when society wants you to conform and be someone you're not, but there are ways to learn how to embrace your uniqueness.

In a world where people are so frequently being judged, it can be hard to feel authentic and “good enough”. The idea of high self-esteem is a myth. Those who have it, don’t share their secrets easily because they know how quickly it can all be taken away from them. I have been told that I am beautiful by friends and family members since I was a child, but I never really saw it myself.

The best time I was myself

A lot of people find themselves in a crisis in which they are not themselves. There are many reasons for this, but often it is because they are too focused on pleasing others or they are living in constant fear. It can be hard to tell when you are no longer being your true self, but you need to know when that happens so that you can correct it. That's why I'm writing this article about the best time I was myself.

By Antonino Visalli on Unsplash

I'm not an introvert and I like to be around people. Like most people, I feel awkward and uncomfortable when I'm by myself for too long. But one summer, sitting at home alone, I had the best time of my life. This was because I was forced to spend more time with myself and be more present in the moment than I ever had been before.

The day my true colors shined

I never knew that all of my true colors were hidden deep inside. I was different, unique, and always the one to stand out in a crowd. I was not ashamed of it until I met them. They had their own thoughts on what was considered normal and they thought they knew everything about me. When they started telling me how to act, how to dress, even who I should talk to, I realized that those were the people that truly mattered.

By George Potter on Unsplash

I don't think I can remember what life was like before. I always liked to be the center of attention back in school, but something changed when I started college. Suddenly, strangers wanted to grab me and hug me without even knowing my name. My mom didn't understand why I couldn't make friends quickly like she did in high school, but it took awhile for me to realize that this was just who I am.

Even in the darkest of times, humans have an uncanny ability to find small pieces of light. I remember two years ago when I was in the hospital for three months after being in a car crash. When I woke up from my coma, one thing that stood out to me was the color red. The nurse who had been caring for me during this time had made sure to always have a vase of red roses close by.

When I was the most me

It's so hard to think about being ourselves when everything is always happening. When I was the most me, I remember being at home with my family on a Saturday evening while eating dinner. We would all sit around the table and talk about our days while debating what to watch on TV. When I was the most me, I could tell my brothers about our favorite shows while they would tell me all about their day at school.

By Jessica Rockowitz on Unsplash

When I was the most me, I was feeling happy and content with wherever life had taken me. There was no pressure or stress because I didn't expect much from it. It was rare for me to do something outside of my day-to-day routine, but when I did, it felt like a treat.

My most authentic moment

I think the most authentic moment of my life happened when I was watching a talk show during which the host asked an author about her new book. The author didn't make eye contact with the camera like most other public figures do, instead she stared out into space as if she were trying to remember for herself what it felt like to be on the other end of the camera lens.

By Luke Lung on Unsplash

In the past few years much has been said about authenticity. Many people have come to believe that the only way to live a life of authenticity is through a constant state of fearlessness and self-sacrifice. But this is not true, as I learned when I was at my most authentic moment.

The first time I felt like the world was mine

For many of us, there is one moment in our lives when we know we will never be the same. For me, this moment came in my final year of high school when I was awarded a full scholarship to my desired college. It was an incredible feeling to know that despite the odds being stacked against me, I had been given a chance. In that moment, I felt like the world was mine and nothing could stop me from realizing my dreams.

By Jesse Bowser on Unsplash

Sometimes the world just seems to fit into place. You know that everything is going to turn out alright, and you have a feeling of great contentment. There is a feeling of being in your element and being okay with yourself. In the end, the world is really a simple place to live in. We know that we have a lot of challenges that we will face, but as long as we are doing our best to make the best of what we have, we will be okay.

Humanity
2

About the Creator

Success

Over five years ago, I began writing. As well as writing, I am a social media marketer. My writing helps me create engaging, entertaining, and informative content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.