Confessions logo

The Summer of Something.....

My Summer Broken Down in 600+ words

By Hudson De Witt KellyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
The Summer of Something.....
Photo by Raphaël Biscaldi on Unsplash

What has there not been going on this Summer 2022? For myself I finally broke out of my five year social shell but with so much going on in the world around me of course I do so with pragmatic caution.

That means I usually put $50 in my pocket, grab a pack of American Spirits and head to the local bar. A few times I have dipped my toe into the deep end but that is certainly as far as it will go for the remainder of the year.

But of course I have also found some of the best reality tv that America and even the world has to offer and it has given me much reason to converse and have a good time with those around me. As there is only so much being to yourself one can do before fate just intervenes on your behalf.

Having done the work for the past decade I could not be more excited about the path that is laid out before me. I may not have kissed many boys, broke any hearts but I certainly have came out of my shell and fell in love with myself and not so harsh towards the world in which we live in because the shared space is there for us all.

With eight months behind us and everything from Love Island to Beyonce to entertain us I really can't find to to much to be upset about...that is until I turn on the news and then all the reasons I stay to myself come pouring back. All I can say is that we live in a cruel, violent world in which there are not many societal protections put in place.

No, one wants to die a violent death yet now more then ever violence has taken its cue from the same leaders who swore to protect, serve and ensure that the top will keep those of us in the middle and on the streets away from death and defiance. Abortion is on hiatus for what could be the next 25 years, LGBTQIAS community has no real sense of community beyond celebrity culture and ONLYFANS that it makes you wonder who is secretly gunning for us.

African Americans are in flux because from all sides we have people using us and still leaving us to our own devices. Celebrities of color have come out and rode this wave of success that is unprecedented all the while Jussie Smollett is still a liar and transgenders are still being murdered and all anyone can talk about is Brittney Gainer who not only turned on her country but all the while thought her celebrity could get her a get out a jail free card; in Russia while they are at war of all places.

Yet, we still have monkey pox and covid shots all while back to school sales are on the front burner of families minds. And now that I had a summer of new discovery I do wonder and keep my eye open enough to know that Phoenix, Chicago and Atlanta are riding a wave of criminality that makes you want to catch the next plane to Salt Lake City.

Rent prices are high, a burger went from 3.90 to 5.00 and if you decide to cook at home you will now be spending 127.00 for 16 items and if that doesn't show you that businesses are covid price gauging there we all will need 4 jobs and 4 roommates by March 2023 and that is what scares me and makes me ensure that my rent is tops on my lists that I maintain as I will need time to prepare for the change but also keep in mind change also just comes.

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Hudson De Witt Kelly

I can recall finding this site maybe 5 years ago and knew that once I got a new computer/laptop that this would be the first site I ran too. I am an avid writer of short stories. I love autobiographical books on European Royal Families

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.