Confessions logo

The Secret of joy

How i turned junk into joy through crafting

By Dawn StonePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

Start writing... The Secret to Joy

So first of all, I would like to say that it is more than possible to find a much deeper connection

with yourself and with the universe of creation. I just recently started crafting again. Over the

years, I have attempted many times to enjoy my creative side by doing crafts of some sort, in

one way or another. Sitting down for some time to just actually explore my artistic side and let

my ideas flow into actual creations, always proved to be difficult however. It always looked so

easy as I would watch others come up with beautiful creations crafted by their own two hands.

Memories of looking at what my friends and family took time to invest in, whether it was for fun

or for profit, I was always amazed at what others would invent from their minds. It looked so

easy and fun to say the least. I can recall thinking, “this looks fun...it's like getting to be a kid all

over again!”

For me though, I found the process a bit frustrating because I was a pro at getting started and

the ideas flowed quick and fluid...like water, but actually completing the visions that I had, never

seemed to come into fruition. I was always attempting to get too many balls into one net. Living

my entire life this way...I was a master of ideas but a novice in follow through. Often finding

myself investing time and time again in expensive products and supplies, that would just end up

sitting in a corner for years at a time, I became disheartened and decided that maybe I was just

not meant to craft.

I continued to live my life running around like a chicken with my head cut off, constantly feeling

the stress and push of everyday life, to always strive for more. As my stress in life increased, I

would always look at that pile of items in the corner, and tell myself that someday, I would find

the time and devote myself to just ONE thing that would bring me pleasure. As hard as I tried

though, and as much as the crafting fire burned within me, it just wasn’t meant to be. After

staring at the JUNK corner that contained all my “treasures”, month after month and year after

year, I finally gave in and took all my crafting supplies and dreams out to the garage. I forgot

about my hidden treasures and immersed myself back into the never ending matrix, we call

LIFE.

Life is a growing process and we learn many valuable lessons along the way. Slowly, I started to

realize that all this running in circles was not making me happy. I began to lose pleasure in

everyday things, and each morning, I felt like I was getting back on the revolving belt of a

treadmill. If you have ever been on a treadmill, then you know, it's just the same thing over and

over, time and time again. A path that leads you nowhere... super quick.

I guess with age and experience, one thing that i always promised myself, was that i WOULD,

one day get back to my pile of JUNK, (once viewed as a treasure) that was hidden away. Out of

sight was never out of mind... for me anyway. It almost haunted me. Had I just failed in yet

another one of my dreams? Look, I believe that we are not meant to be successful in everything

we try, but success comes in the things that make us unique! We are not meant to all be the same, we are not designed to be just like everyone else.After years of endless paths that led me nowhere, and finding disappointment in just about

everything that I ever invested myself in, it finally dawned on me. I was a walking zombie, in a

world full of other zombies. I had zero happiness and joy. One day recently, while cleaning, I

came across my “junk” corner. All of a sudden it was like a creative awakening, and this time, I

was going to put myself first. You can almost say, that this time around, it was literally calling to

me. A spiritual experience of the sort, through my creative desires. I jumped in the pool of

artistic creation, feet first.

Getting out my sketch pad and my dollar store scissors, I carved out time in my day, for my

ideas to flow. Friends and family would call upon me to follow the life I had carved out for

myself, and to not be so secluded or to myself. This time was different for me though, I wasn't

having it. No pressure in the world was going to allow me to put down this spark, that was once

again ignited, deep in my soul. For me, this was the beginning of finding my truth! This was not

just “crafting”, this was more than “artistic”, this my dear friend, was a Spiritual Awakening!

You see, I was blind and now I see. My eyes were able to look at life through a different lens. As

my colored pencils and sketch pad united, magic was happening, right in front of me. Yes, this

truly was a spiritual experience, because for me, while allowing my creative side to speak its

truth, my mind was allowed the time to have peace and reflection. My higher self emerged and

started to show me every single thing I had learned in life. All those thoughts that we have in the

back of our head, are NOT just random thoughts. This is the voice of your higher self, calling out

to you from a place of higher consciousness. I would sketch and draw, color and cut, all while

my higher state of consciousness began to expand. I began to eat better, and took up

meditation. I found a completely different dimension of reality, all from a pile of junk! You see,

finding myself through the creationary process, has proven to be the SINGLE most joy filled

moment in my life! All this from some scissors, and colored pencils and paper.

Joy for me, is not just feeling temporarily happy. Joy for me is not just friends and family. For

me, JOY comes in viewing this world, and every single thing in it, through the eyes of my

creator! I see love and experience and find true JOY in every single breath and moment I exist.

I am not saying that it's not possible to experience happiness, or joyful times through our

journeys in life. But I AM saying, that until we see through the eyes of a creation standpoint, that

we are not able to experience All that this path is here to show us. If you don't have the time, i

implore you to find it. If life has got you stuck in the routine and boring repeats of day to day

living, that is not joy! Pick up your scissors and glue, and find yourself. It's way bigger than just feeling like a kid again, it is the SECRET to joy!

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.