Confessions logo

The Rapped Gavel

After 50 years of contemplation, I can lay it down

By MRHPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Painted by Natasha Meier

Dear Mom,

It's over for me, for you, and for us. As you know, I have been holding on to this since I was five years old. Knowing all this time you never wanted me to make a fuss. Despite being raised to be kept under control, I recall moments when I was bold. I tried to understand your choices but my disappointment and the distance I kept were rooted in being self-righteous. Every time I thought I was going to discuss it with you, I would fold.

Since I was young I learned to watch, listen, feel, and then analyze it all quietly. I heard you, in the middle of the night saying, "No", and "Stop". Over the years you would occasionally open up and share a memory of your life before marriage, like opening up a treasure chest and tossing me a gold coin sparingly. I believed I was like you, out in a field, struggling to grow and survive in a vast crop. All the elements of earth, wind, and fire were meant to cultivate me into serving the same 'duty'. Well, in those terms, I was a flop.

I knew, from the very first time, it was wrong. That was the day I picked up my imaginary gavel and clenched it because it was all that I had to hold on to. Saying "No" or "Stop" might have made a difference but I wasn't strong. You even said, "Why didn't you stop it? I had three boys to think about", but at that age, I didn't know what to do. I would lie in bed at night thinking I could tell my teacher or I could shoot him but both options would have broken up our family, and still, I wanted to belong.

Recently I called you to say I began to enter writing contests and there was a pause at your end. You hesitantly asked, "What are you going to write about?" "Whatever the topic is," I said firmly, knowing you wouldn't want me to betray a friend. Mom, understand writing has been good for me, and consider I have been by your side throughout. We both knew this day would come and yes, our time of atonement is at an end. There is something I must tell you before our time runs out.

My final revelation, the last piece of my puzzle, came to me recently after reconnecting with an old friend I met in nursing school. After we shared confessions, I was ready to reveal the one I had locked away even from myself. Once I did, I cried and then laughed at myself feeling like a fool. It felt so good to release it, acknowledging her gave her what she deserved, wealth. I miscarried twenty-seven years ago as a result of domestic abuse and acknowledging her existence has given me the missing tool. I now understand you sacrificed me as you did yourself.

After the abuse, not knowing I was pregnant, I went to the bathroom and passed her fetus in the toilet. Ryan was just three, standing beside me with the door closed. I had a decision to make, as you did, I had a son to think about so I kept it a secret. I knew I would need all my strength to safely start a new life, so I posed. From that day on choosing right from wrong was my outlet. After walking out on three husbands you probably assumed it was because I was predisposed.

Rest assured, I am now at peace with it. After fifty years of contemplation, I have made my verdict, rapped my gavel, and laid it down to rest.

Happy Mother's Day to us.

All my love,

Rachel

Family
Like

About the Creator

MRH

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.