Confessions logo

the raid

A mothers day confession

By Jaysin Lee Published 2 years ago 5 min read
1
 the raid
Photo by Valery Tenevoy on Unsplash

hey mom I know we don't talk much anymore but I need to come clean, I'm about to tell you something I never wanted you to find out. do you remember when Jaylynn lived with us? she's my wife now but at the time we were both fifteen, and we were only dating, at this time she lived with us and the two of us went to see her family on the weekends.

you didn't know at the time but Jaylynn's dad is overall just an awful person, he always treated Jaylynn horribly, he was always drunk or on drugs always trashy, he was never in the right state of mind, and had several felony charges, and eventually gave up his rights to Jaylynn's grandmother. Jaylynn hated him, hence why she lived with us

one weekend, we usually went to see her grandmother but this time we decided to spend some time with her dad. it was probably only the third time I had been to her dad's house, Jaylynn had gotten terrible sleep the night before so once we got there she was sleepy.

she decided that she wanted to take a nap, but was too nervous to sleep there given her dad's reputation. "It's okay love," I told her "I'll stay up to make sure nothing happens, if something seems off I'll wake you up." she nervously agreed and we settled into the twin-size bed in her room.

there was a window directly behind the headboard of her bed, so the way I was laying I could see the driveway perfectly. about thirty minutes later, I saw a white car pull into the driveway. At first, I thought it was Carri, her stepmom's car, but when it stopped the side of the vehicle read "Haskell county Sherrif" just as I went to wake Jaylynn, the police car left the driveway.

now on edge, I sat up, and a few moments later the police car came back, this time with two other cars. I immediately woke up Jaylynn and told her about the cars piling into the driveway. the moment I stopped talking, Chelsey, her step-sister, burst into her room and handed Jaylynn her fourteen-month-old baby! "Please don't let her cry," Chelsey said.

To my surprise, Chelsey was acting like she knew exactly what was going on, she quickly left the room and returned less than a minute later with a small purple box. Chelsey asked Jaylynn if she could hide it in her closet "I promise it's just weed" she insisted and Jaylynn agreed.

now at this point in the story, it's worth noting that only a month before this event, Jaylynn and I had been separated due to reasons beyond our control. so as just recently being reunited, we were more attached to each other than ever. I know that's odd because we were so young, but now we are married and I think our teen love built the better part of our relationship.

the three of us heard the door fly open in the front of the house and their dad yelled several profanities. Chelsey ripped her baby from Jaylynn's arms and dashed to the front of the house. the police were yelling things like "There he is!" or "The back door!" it all happened so fast, eventually after completely surrounding the house one officer called through the house "Who else is in here!"

Jaylynn, now fully awake with adrenaline led me to the front of the house where the officer got our full names and sat us on a slab of pavement on the side of the house. at this point, Carri was pulling into the driveway followed by two more squad cars. she also acted like she knew exactly what was going on and simply asked an officer if she could unload her groceries. In which the officer said yes if she brought them a bottle of water.

Carri came back and explained that I was just the boyfriend here for a visit and I had no idea what was going on, to which the officer replied by saying that I could call my parents or even a friend to come get me and that they would be done here in a few hours.

this may have been where I messed up, I didn't call anyone because I wanted to stay with Jaylynn. I told the officer that nobody answered and they said I could hang out until this was all over. around that time a very heavy man got out of a squad car and started pointing and yelling: "You're going to jail! You're going to jail!" he pointed at her dad "and you Jerry Guy, Your gonna rot in jail!"

At this point I was terrified they were going to take Jaylynn, I even started to tear up, But Jaylynn just laughed at me "These bozos arent gonna do anything with me, I don't even know why their here," she said. I just hugged her and hoped that she was right.

We ended up sitting on that slab in the summer heat for eight hours until a few officers came out of the surrounding woods saying something along the lines of "we can't find him, take someone in for leverage." with that they arrested Chelsey and her baby went to live with Its dad.

upon counting, there was a whole SWAT team, Seventeen squad cars, a helicopter not including the two that were with the news, and two K9 units. turns out, this was the case of Carney hood. A fugitive who had allegedly murdered his wife, he was hiding out at her dad's house because apparently, they were good friends. not to mention that when the police arrived, Carney and Chelsey were doing "the devil's tango".

upon finding this out, Jaylynn said that she didn't take him for that kind of guy and that she had played cards with him last time she was here. Carney also had a dog named meatball that Jaylynn took care of.

months later, The aftermath of this event: Chelsey was released from jail after two weeks, though she never got custody of her baby back. Carri moved away from that house. Meatball was, unfortunately, Put down for trying to Attack an officer. Carney was caught and arrested. Also, Carri and Chelsey were both later arrested because the purple box Chelsey had was filled with meth.

We never went to her dad's house again after that.

Family
1

About the Creator

Jaysin Lee

I'm a great writer, my book nightmare releases in august!

Instagram: @jaysin.lee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.