Confessions logo

The Mistaken Identity

She wasn't who I thought she was.

By Lloyd CarmonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Growing up in the Midwest, friends would come and go. My cringeworthy moment deals with, who I believed to be my friend Alexis and my new job, I started in January 2006.

The young woman in question, is Alexis, while I've been friends with since we were in grade school. Alexis and I have been friends since second grade, and we were nothing more than friends, but we did help each other on a couple of different occasions.

During junior year, Alexis moved to a different school, Neighboring our district. Even after her move, we were able to keep in touch and she did still come and hang out on occasion. After all of this, we lost contact early in 2001.

Fast forward to late 2005, while out bar hopping, on a weekend off, I find a pair of unknown female arms wrapped around me from behind and hear the words, “oh my God, I love you”. At this point, I turned and receive a sweet kiss, from a drunk Alexis. After a night of hanging out “platonically”, we went to lunch the next day. While we were together, we did talk about work and she mentioned that she worked in an office in a nearby town, and while we were out, I received an emergency callout from my work. We went our ways and lost contact again.

With life moving, as it does, I opted to seek new employment and ended up at an office, in the same city Alexis worked in.

I have now started my new job, we are into our second week and we have been taken onto the production floor, to meet our supervision and the mentors, who will be helping with training, after we are in production mode.

As I am walking around the production area, I see a wavy-haired w/ highlights, 5’9ish, long lean brunette with an above-average bust profile (all the things that describe Alexis).

Me being the Mr. Smooth, suave individual I am, I walk over and grab her seatback say “hey beautiful, what's up”, to a highly surprised and somewhat shocked young woman, that was not Alexis. My job dropped and I nearly melted into the floor.

The young woman in question was Stella. Ms. Stella was a very attractive young woman. Also, Stella had an amazing sense of humor, and being able to tell I was as shocked as she was, knowing I thought she was someone else, she replied “surprise surprise, you shoulda picked another door”.

Later that day, when lunchtime came, Stella came to our training room to chat and let me explain what happened, to which we both got a great laugh out of it and ended up being close friends.

Of all the stupidity and craziness I have been a part of, this was one of my most cringeworthy mistakes. Of all the consequences that could have come from a really stupid mistake, I made a new friend, that I still have today.

Friendship
Like

About the Creator

Lloyd Carmon

At 40 goin on 15, I’ve swore I’d never grow up. Having lived and experienced both big city (Columbus OH, Houston TX, and many other metro areas) and country living, making my life in rural southern Ohio. I’m a well traveled father of 3.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.