Confessions logo

The line to no where

V

By Valentine CaseyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

And in that moment not only did I fuck up, those following me realized, they too fucked up.

I’d call myself a leader, and I’ve heard it from others, but this was not my smoothest movement. To be fair this wasn’t a statement I was trying to make, or anything like that, but my intentions would make sense for others to follow, if they are just as clueless. There was no sign, no initiation, it just kinda, well happened.

Let’s back track shall we? A weekend filled with, or lacked really, a sleep schedule that was created for the three day experience of rolling loud Miami 2019. Between flying out to see old school friends, meeting their friends, and just getting lost in mosh pits you meet a few people on the way. People I will never forget and people I am still thankful for today. I found myself merging into a group of people due to meeting one nice Massachusetts boy. A khaki boy that wouldn’t usually draw me in, but even in my sober state of mind I found myself intrigued. Not much too it other than a smile and a spliff, oh and a quick “I love you” off the M. We still make fun of him for saying it, but it was our joke and I maybe needed it at that time. As we part our ways, he to his airbnb and me to the airport, he gives me a phat blunt for the road.

Well I can’t say I was the huge stoner in my day, one nice hit and I was already feeling it, but I knew I couldn’t pack this in my carry on. My friend didn’t smoke so he wouldn’t want it, nor his friends. No time to sell, and the thought didn’t cross my mind to give it back. So what did I do? I smoked it all. The drive to the airport was very nice. I was worried the anxiety would kick in as I entered the airport, or worse the smell would get me in trouble. Six in the morning and the place was filled with zombies from the festival. I was fine. Surrounded by many others that were my age, I was comforted and still feeling the blissful moments of the weekend. A problem however, had occurred. As i’m waiting in line, one of the people working at the airport had advised me to change my flight because it wasn’t looking too likely to make this one. Shocked, I went to change my ticket, and luckily many people had to do the same, in the same direction. It was free, so I wasn’t stressed or bothered by the notion, in fact the extra hour was nice. I strolled around until I found my way to the security section.

Not worried by any means, I find my way in the third line. It didn’t seem like it would take too long til I would be next considering I was first in line, however time was passing. More so than the already slowed mindset. I look at the clock and it had been a solid 10 minutes. I looked behind me to see facial expressions of those who lined up behind me. They seemed patient, but I was getting concerned because I had yet to be called over. I look over in each direction, til someone taps me on the left shoulder as I was looking right.

“The line is over there” he points to the right.

My jaw drops, shocked by the fact that I had just stood there for 10 minutes and NO ONE said anything. Embarrassed I try to look at those behind me with my peripheral vision and I slowly make my way to the real line. I tried to act like that didn’t just happened, and who knows people were out of it maybe they hadn’t even noticed, but let’s be honest here, there’s no way I got away with that.

Embarrassment
Like

About the Creator

Valentine Casey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.