Confessions logo

The lifeguard who saved me.

12/2/2012

By Summer RaynePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - February 2022
7

When I was a young girl at the age of 11, I was swimming at the beach with my mum, dad, older brother and younger sister. It was our Friday Ritual, it’s just what we did. Every Friday after school we would all pack into our white Toyota Corolla and head down to the beach. We would take snacks and sit on the beach with each other, eating, laughing and just enjoying being together.

After a few snacks and drinks we would all race each other to the water. My father and I were the only ones who would dare go out further then the rest of my family. It always worried my mother as I was a little dare devil as a kid. I would do and try anything without fear and this specific day, we decided to test out our swimming skills. My dad and I swam right out until my dad could no longer reach the bottom. While my dad wasn’t looking, I quickly swam further and further away from him and I found myself being taken away, out into the ocean. I turned around scared for my life as I tried my hardest to swim back into shore but the tide was to strong and took me out further and further, out into nothing. I began to panic as I seen my family drift further and further into the distance.

I was beginning to lose my energy fast as I stressfully attempted to keep myself above the water multiple times but I just kept getting pulled under. I tried my hardest to stay above it but I was so very exhausted. I remember being scared for my life, why did I do that? What was I thinking? I thought to myself as I put in the rest of the energy and strength that I had left to attempt to stay above the water. I was only 11, I had the rest of my life ahead of me and I really thought that was it for me that day. Gone, just like that. My family will be leaving this beach as a family of four instead of five, I thought to myself as I gave up and began sinking under the ocean.

All I remember after that is being pulled out from under the water and onto a big yellow board with big red writing that said ‘Lifeguard’. I looked over to see an older man paddling us back to shore and that was you. I remember laying over the board, relieved and grateful that I had been saved. I was okay because of you and I can’t thank you enough.

It really could have been a lot worse but you acted ever so quickly and got me out of there as soon as you could. I can’t thank you enough for that. You did your job as a lifeguard and you should be very proud of yourself. I know I wouldn’t be the only one you have saved but I hope you remember this specific day, the 12/2/2012 because you had a big impact on my life that day. I still remember the last thing you said to me, you said “it’s okay kid, your safe now.”

Now I can’t remember your name as it was so long ago but I would like to say a massive thank you to you. You who saved my life and reunited me back with my family. I am here today because of you and for as long as I live, I will never ever forget you. Thank you again, the lifeguard who saved me.

The day I was saved.

Childhood
7

About the Creator

Summer Rayne

I’m Summer Rayne.

There’s not really a lot to say about me, I’m abit boring but the things you will read on my page will not be.

I don’t have any certain things that I write about. I write about all different things.

Anyway I hope you enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.