Confessions logo

The last call

She had been waiting for her last call

By Jamiu AbolanlePublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like

I made plans to defy the universe , but my plans defied all but the Universe’s plans for me !

The mobile suddenly started beeping –‘Prasun Joshi Calling’.

13 years. She had been waiting for that phone call. Feeling Triumphant Saavi, world class designer for wedding trousseaus, owner of twenty seven brands of women’s wear and recently acknowledged in the top 30 successful entrepreneurs by Zorbes magazine let the phone ring for 7 seconds before picking it up.

“Hello , Is this Mrs. Saavi Aditya ”

‘Yes” Saavi replied cool and smiling.

“Hello Madam, I am Prasun Joshi, Owner of Joshi Groups, a distribution house based here in Mumbai”

Madam- The sound was music to her ears. Saavi was used to being called Madam by almost everyone but this Madam by this Man was special like a million dollar trophy, she has managed to acquire it at last after a decade of struggle.

“Yes” – She Replied – a false tone of impatience in her voice

“It’s my Daughter’s wedding in two months. She wants to have her wedding dress designed personally by you” – Prasun spoke in a polite yet distinct authoritative tone. It was the same voice that used to make Saavi’s blood boil. Today Saavi was surprised to note that she felt nothing more than amused at his tone.

Saavi kept quiet and Prasun Joshi continued after a moment’s pause. “Your Secretary told me you were not taking further orders- but my daughter has her heart set on a dress designed by you.”

“My secretary does not lie, you know” Saavi replied in a soft proud tone that had become a part of her since the last ten years.

“But of course, you are a world famous designer and I am privileged to be speaking to you over the phone. I just thought maybe we could work something out. It’s my only daughter and her wedding means everything to me.” Prasun spoke, the authoritative tone gone and a humble lilt outlining his words.

You cannot break your daughter’s heart but you do not think twice before breaking someone else’s heart thought Saavi bitterly. “I am Sorry Mr Prasun. But I cannot do anything. My congratulations on your daughter’s wedding.” She replied with bitterness that had been a part of her voice since 2013.

“I am sure we can work something out” – Prasun said, the unmistakable plead in his voice.

“I have film stars who want me to design their dresses and they wait for months. You are a Nobody for me” – She replied in a calm haughty voice and disconnected the call.

“I have MDs of companies waiting for an appointment with me, you are a nobody for me”- The words spoken 13 years ago suddenly came back. She had been an executive in an MNC, big dreams, bright eyed; she had been aggressive and energetic as required in sales. And Prasun had been a newly appointed business distributor under her zone. Prasun had been appointed by the branch manager blinded by the 1200 crore turnover and he had a habit of liaising only with top officials, but that did not deter Saavi from starting her business strategies for sales and distribution.

Every day, she would supervise his business and wait for an appointment. But Prasun would ignore Saavi like an invisible fly on the wall. Till one day, they had a meeting and when Saavi pointed out certain practices not followed by Prasun, Prasun Joshi told the fateful sentence that hit Saavi in the soul and left a bleeding dent.

Today 13 years three months 16 days later, Saavi leaned back on her chair and heaved a sigh. A painful lump had been removed and she suddenly felt too painless. She felt elated; she wanted to share the news and picked up her expensive humongous phone. She scrolled through her contents. “Aditya”- Should she call her husband? It had been five years since they separated or was it four? But he was the only one in her contacts who knew Prasun.

FriendshipDating
Like

About the Creator

Jamiu Abolanle

The is great compelling of reading my story as new season and perfect time, i am greatful for your acceptance recognize meeting thanks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.