Confessions logo

The iPhone ordeal

When you think you've seen it all

By Giovanni ProfetaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The iPhone ordeal
Photo by Mike Petrucci on Unsplash

On Dec 22, 2019. I had a bizarre experience involving a client and her 8-year-old son. It was one of those moments when you think you have seen it all and then something comes your way to open your eyes and astound you (in a good way).

Around 2:30pm, my Dad’s business was starting to get some wild visitors as usual. As you might guess, those are complicated days for a dry cleaner. People come to the store asking for miracles in disguise, “I’m leaving town tonight, can I get this fixed, dry cleaned, and ironed by 5:30pm?” A charade of requests in a masquerade ball, where despicable wolves wore their white, immaculate sheep costumes. Believe me when I say that I’ve seen a thing or two around the holidays in my Mom and Dad’s business.

By Alexandra Gorn on Unsplash

A woman came to the store asking for a hem for a beautiful Turquoise long dress she wanted to wear on New years’ eve. The lady must be in her mid-thirties , with a contagious smile and a mid-long blonde hair that floated in the hair with such grace and allure. While she was talking to our tailor, who happens to be a fast spoken, well-mannered woman from Argentina with a particular way to talk to clients. She’s assertive when it comes to her craft but if something is not up to par to her work ethics, she will let you know, she has a tongue that stings like a bee.

From behind the counter, I could not help to be mesmerized by the uncanny attractiveness of the client, her perfume was simply delightful; while under the spell of her addictive scent, something disturbed my chain of thought. I heard her son asking me something from the other side of the counter, I turned around and faced the dissonant chord on this musical masterpiece.

By Jon Ly on Unsplash

The boy asked, “Do you have an IPhone charger?” to whom I replied, “Sorry, mine is at home, I don’t have it here.” Kind of upset by my response, he managed to say something funny and sad at the same time.

Frowning, this 8-years-old boy in a serious and cumbersome tone added “With all due respect, let me give you a piece of advice,” he continued with the scary, “I can see that you have an iPhone, never leave your home without your charger, mine is at my Mom’s car, if you’re interested in doing business with her, you better have an IPhone charger.”

By Rex Pickar on Unsplash

Amused by the comment I simply replied, “well, I had it here yesterday, what a shame, sit over there, your Mom is at the dressing room.” I continued with my chores trying not to laugh at his insightful remark on how to do business with her Mother.

The funny part is the fact that the little guy misunderstood a poster that we got here in store. We offer the service of pre-paid phone line recharge, he saw the image of a phone and the caption “RECHARGE HERE.” He said just before leaving, “How come they can’t recharge iPhone’s, what kind of business is this Mom?”

After they left I laughed out loud as I heard the lady trying to explain why he was not able to charge his phone on this store. When I told the Argentinian lady about the “recharge” ordeal, her cheeks became red as apples behind her sewing machine. “He is lucky that he asked you, I know how to control an insolent and rude boy like him.”

We laughed for day remembering the little spoiled brat. I got to say it was eye opening to be schooled by an entitled 8-years-old-boy, I found it amusing to say the least.

Bad habits
Like

About the Creator

Giovanni Profeta

Swimming through life one stroke at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.