Confessions logo

The End?

A chance to say goodbye

By ADAM GOLDSMITHPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
1
The End?
Photo by iSAW Company on Unsplash

April awakened to the incessant buzzing of her cell phone that lay on her nightstand. The bright light of the screen hurt her eyes as she strained to see who was calling her so late. Hello? What time is it, and this it better be good she said. There was no voice of the other end at first just the crackle of static over dead air. Like you used to hear before cell phones. She was about to hang up when she heard a man's voice speaking. April is that you? This is Bob Court, do you remember me? Of course, I do she said. Why are you calling me? It's been what, 37 years and now you call me out of the blue and wake me up? I guess I should be pleasant and ask how you're doing but frankly I'm more confused than anything. What do you want? I'm sorry April and you're right to be angry for getting woken up. I'm not quite sure what time it is. Not too late though, I don't think. I'm honestly not sure what possessed me to call you, other than I really felt like I owed you an apology for what had happened. Huh? What happened? April asked. That weekend back in 1981 when you wanted to come over and I wouldn't let you. I had met a quick fling and obviously didn't want to say anything to you about it. We spent the weekend together, but it meant nothing to me. Unfortunately, though it ended things for us, and I always felt guilty of that. You seemed to get over quite quickly though. I don't think it was two weeks before I was calling you and you wanted nothing to do with me. Found someone new very quickly and it hurt me a lot, but I know I had it coming. I realized how much I must have hurt you and I always felt guilty about that! So then after 30 some odd years you call me to alleviate your guilty feelings, Bob? Well, honestly, I really don't remember it as well as you seem to. So, let's just say then that it was obviously not a big deal, I absolve you of all your guilt. Thank you for calling, now can I go back to sleep? Yes, April thank you and again I apologize for everything. No worries Bob talk to you in another thirty years, click... The phone went dead.

Honey, I hear your cell phone. Thanks Sue, I got it. Hello? Hello? Who’s calling? Is this Terry? Yeah, you got him who is this. It's me Bob, Bob Court. Bob? What the hell man, how are you doing? It's been what like 20 years? Are you in trouble again? You need bail? Haha and no Terry, nothing like that. I've been thinking for a long time about what happened to you. Yeah, I think about it too Bob, just not very often. Water under the bridge you know. What are you going to do? I know Terry you're right. I just never got a chance to tell you though that I did try and clear you that night. Honestly, I think that detective was just out to get me. I was sure I was going to get strung up. I tried to tell him that it was the other kids' idea to steal the jewelry from that old lady. If he questioned me anymore, I'm sure I would have broken. Instead, and I will never know why but he changed his mind and figured you did it. I know man, he wouldn’t listen to anything I said. That jerk was convinced he had his big score before he shipped out of state. I was his last big case that he could crack so the asshole could go out as a hero! Jerk... I know Terry and I'm really sorry. I tried. Yeah, Bob I'm sure you did. Look it turned out not to be that bad. 2 years of Probation and a fine. Of course, I lost my job, my car, my girlfriend, and my apartment because of you but hey at least I didn't go to jail right Bobby boy? Listen it's been a kick talking to you, but I got things going on. Call me another time, eh? But not too soon though haha! Yeah, okay Terry and look I'm really sorry. Yeah, okay Bob. See you. Hey Terry, his wife asked, who was that on the phone? Just a loser I used to hang with. He's the one I told you about that got me in all that trouble way back when. Oh yeah, what did he want? It's been a long time. Yeah, it has. I don't know maybe he's in AA calling all the people he's wronged all over the years. I hear that's part of getting clean. Apologizing and stuff. He can stick it up his ass for all I care. Loser.

Now, there is nothing quite like the smell of a freshly mown grass on a warm summer day. I am not sure what compelled me to show up here but I'm glad I did, if for no other reason than it is glorious day. Bob? Is that you? Hey John, sure is! What the hell are you doing here? I haven't seen you in a coons age. I know and I don't even want to think about how long it's been! You look good Johnny boy, a little older, but then hey, aren't we all. Bob come on in man have a beer. Thanks John I'd love to, but I don't think I can stay really, I have a few more visits to make. Aww come on man really? You show up randomly after what 37 years and say “hi, see you got to go”? What the hell is that all about? Are you in some kind of trouble? No John it's weird I can't even say for sure myself all I know is that there is a list of people I really want to see. It’s like those animals whatever they are, I can't think of them offhand, but they're drawn by some mysterious forced to migrate. I'm feeling the same way. Life is weird John. Tell me about it! But hey, what about you Bob? What have you been up to? Are you still playing? Did you bring your guitar? Haha John no guitar sorry. I would give anything to jam with you but right now no time. Besides, I told you way back when after what you did to my new 12-string I'd never let you touch another one of my guitars again! Huh? Oh yeah I think I remember something about that. John gave me that boyish grin of his. I swear if he made it to even a hundred he would always look like a young Kurt Russell! Hey, we had some good times didn't we Bob? Some so good I don't even remember them! Remember the time you fell down the basement stairs and broke your knee? Every time it rains, or I go down some stairs John! I myself haven't touched a drop of Wild Turkey since that night. Hey, listen John, as much as I am enjoying seeing you, I just can't stay. I have to get along. I have to go and see Gary and Rodger and a few others if I can even find them. I just really wanted to stop by and say how much I always loved and admired you. My life was much richer with you in it. I'm sorry we haven't seen each other so long but hey, life huh. Well thanks man, we really did have some good times and I love you too! Well stop on back again soon and bring your guitar with you next time. I will John, we will play again! Be well buddy, I'm off.

Sir can you hear me? Sir you've been in a car accident. Just hang tight we're going to get you out of here, okay? Tom watch out we're going to cut out the door and get him out of there. Did you stabilize his neck all the way? Yeah Captain I did. I think though that it's broken. He's in and out of consciousness. We’re gonna have to move fast if he's going to have any chance. Did anyone find any ID? Yeah, I found his wallet on the seat. His name is Robert Court. Not from around here. Okay Mr. Court hang in there. We're going to get you out of here and get you to the hospital.

Tom, look I'm sorry about your rescue Mr. Court. I'm afraid he didn't make it. His neck and back were broken so badly, and his spinal cord was severed. That had to have been one hell of a wreck. He must have really been moving for this much damage. Thanks Kathy. I have a feeling either he fell asleep at the wheel or is just a medical emergency of some sort. Guess we'll know for sure after the autopsy. Yeah, no skid marks, single car, ran right off of I95 into the woods, head-on into a big, old Oak. He didn't have a chance. Based on the damage to his truck he had to have been doing at least 90. He was alive when we arrived but unconscious. He was in and out as we were getting him out of the truck. Oddly enough though he had a weird look on his face. As if he had already died and was at peace. Yeah, I noticed that too, really kind of odd. I'll tell you Kathy, we've had this conversation before, but I still don't know if it's better to go quickly with a minimum of suffering or slowly which at least gives you a chance to say goodbye to people and make your peace with your past. I don't know even after all these years, I still just don't know...

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.