Confessions logo

The Curse of Vehicular Mishaps

Life Goes On

By King-Justice ShawPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
The Curse of Vehicular Mishaps
Photo by Katie Moum on Unsplash

Nationally, in 2009, an estimated 2.2 million people were injured in vehicular-related accidents, states the National Highway and Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).

In 2009, at the young age of 9, I was involved in my very first vehicular accident on the interstate of Waco, Texas (North America, USA), which was a 2-vehicle crash, with one being an 18-wheeler semi truck, and the other being our large red SUV. Several witnesses claimed that the semi-truck veered to the right of the shoulder, slamming into the back of our vehicle, causing it to flip over in the air 6 times, landing on the roof. My family and I were pulled over so close to the shoulder that the passenger, my grandmother, could not open her door due to the concrete median.

We had the hazard lights, or as some people might associate them with "4-Ways or 4-Way Signals" activated the instant we began to veer to the right. Following the incident, thankfully, there were no fatalities, but very serious injuries to all 3 occupants. I was injured the absolute worst, having my left arm and right leg fractured, with 2 broken ribs. The feeling was unbearable when I came to in the hospital bed. I have no recollection before, during or after the accident. The driver of the semi-truck was intoxicated and was found at fault.

It was night time, but the weather and roads were both dry and clear.

9 years later, in 2018, I was involved in a major, 4-car chain-reaction accident, which is essentially when each vehicle rear-ends the vehicle in front of theirs due to whoever started the chain reaction. There were no injuries or fatalities, but every vehicle was totaled out and immobile. The driver was operating a box (company) truck and was texting on his phone while traffic was at a complete stop. What makes this out of our control is that all 3 cars were at a complete stop for at least 5 seconds, and next thing you know, "BOOM"! The driver was found at fault and was cited for neglegent, reckless and distracted driving.

It was daytime, but the weather and roads were both dry and clear.

1 year later, in 2019, I was in my third accident, only this was a fender-bender, rear-end type, which was much less serious, resulting in NO injuries or fatalities. A sedan read-ended my minivan, causing no damage, only whiplash. I was the only occupant. This accident involved 3 vehicles, but was deemed a hit-and-run. The vehicle behind mine was rear-ended and because the person did not increase their distance before making a complete stop, they therefore rear-ended me. This was traumatizing because I began to realize a pattern. One accident is plenty, but another happening 10 years later is beyong my understanding.

It was daytime, but the weather and roads were both dry and clear.

3 months later, I was involved in a solo collision with a concrete median on the interstate in Dolton, Illinois (North America, USA), in which I mysteriously lost control of the steering wheel while manuvering lanes from the slower traffic lane (far right) to the passing traffic lane (far left).

I was not engrossed on my phone at all. I was not drinking any beverage, nor eating anything. I was not intocxicated in the slightest. I was not switching radio stations or playing sith any steering wheel controls. I was thinking and had vision as clear as day, just like the weather and roads. I did not have a blow-out, a flat tire, or any obstruction in the road. There was nothing wrong with my tie-rod ends, control arms, ball joints, sway-bar links, or power steering system, which all have a vital role in steering and manuevering the steering wheel.

It was daytime, but AGAIN, the weather and roads were both dry and clear.

Upon being involved in my fourth vehicular accident, my vehicle was a total loss, so I gave up driving for 6 months. After the passing of my lapse, I purchased another vehicle. As I was approaching my SOLID green traffic control signal, mid-way through the intersection, a driver t-boned my passenger side front bumper, only this time, I had 2 passengers, my father and sister. There were no injuries or fatalities for either of the vehicles occupants, thankfully. My vehicle was drivable but was missing the complete front bumper.

It was nighttime, but the weather and roads were both dry and clear.

2 years later, in July of 2022, I was driving along the intersate in Chicago, Illinois (North America, USA), and suddenly lost control of my vehicle while manuevering into the left passing lane. There was no speeding or reckless driving involved. No alcohol. No electronic or entertainment related distractions. This was a 2-car accident, resulting in one injury, no fatalities. They occupant was transported to to a hospital, and at this time, I was petrified.

It was daytime, but the weather and roads were both dry and clear.

The very first time ended in hospitalization and now's it's call coming back to haunt me. I discovered that this time, a tie-rod end was malfunctioning, which caused me to lose control. No obstructions in the road. I am recuperating mentally from these uncontrollable accidents, but at this point, anytime I step in a vehicle, it's the new norm for me to be apprehensive of an accident occuring.

Till present day, it hasn't even been 24 hours since my last accident. My person being in a vehicle means that an accident will likely occur, but same goes for any and all motorists opertaing a vehicle or any machinery. All of the times of trauma, I was buckled up.

What many shall begin to fathom is that of all the vehicular mishaps and injuries that occurred, there were many that you are still unaware of in my past life...

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.