Confessions logo

The binge in me

Binge eating.

By Olalekan AdeekoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

To do things moderately is to live a healthy and less dramatic life.

Really you will agree with me there is definitely no need to be excessive or act excessively. But then, I have for a long time realized that there is always a part of humans that loves to do the opposite regardless of the consequences it may bring. We most times enjoy to do and act excessively and most of the times it isn't warranted, or should i say avoidable.

A lot of times i have seen and been with such type of people and as a matter of fact, I have been in that state or position before, and in fact, it was for a very long time. Not until i was delivered. Really when i say delivered it isn't the type of deliverance you might be thinking about, I wasn't surrounded by prayer warriors raining prayer on me. But really if that is the deliverance you need to step out of bingeing then you need to get it done. To be honest, I didn't know my actions were bingeing, I thought i just loved food generally, I consume a lot of food, and i mean a lot of food, especially when it's my favorite i am really lost whenever i passive the aroma or set my eyes on it. Due to my binge eating, I was given an AKA by my siblings "Consuming Fire" which's what they call me. I have got my own special plate for food and no one dares drags my plates with me, not my parents or their visitors.

It doesn't matter to me when the food is cooked, I don't waste time dealing with the food, I am really laughing out loud now because i can actually picture the way i do when it comes to food. I consume mine and eat that of my siblings or parents, each time or most times i am always the first person to finish my food. Once i am done with mine, I start hitting my spoon gently on my plate making different sounds, at the sound of my plate my parents and siblings already know the "Harry Potter" boy is done with his food. My eye contact with theirs says it all. My mom then replies back with "If you think i'm going to give you my food, you must be dreaming, because i will finish this food." I am always not touched anytime she says that because i know everyone cannot be like my mom, I still have my dad, my dad then replies, "Bring your plate, let me give you out of mine." With a side-look at my mom's face, I proudly get the food from my dad and eat.

Time passed and i got addicted to doing that, little did i know i wasn't doing myself any good. It got to a point where whenever i eat i feel pains in my stomach. It aches as if i was experiencing menstrual pain. Boys don't have menstrual pains i tell myself, most times i have to lie on my stomach for hours to be relieved of the pains, the next day i start having constipation, and that runs throughout the day. Any small relieve for me is a feeling that i am okay and good to eat again.

Binge according to oxford means a period of excessive indulgence in an activity, especially eating, drinking, or taking drugs. Like i said earlier it got to a point where i realized what i was doing and i went through a rigorous process of deliverance. Now i take extreme caution with foods and all other related things. I am aware that yours might not be with food, Just the way it was defined, it might be with drinking, drugs, and other areas and activities you engage yourself with.

Pay the price of discipline, and constant consciousness when around such things. If you need to go for therapy do not delay.

A healthy and happy life is the goal. Never get it out of your sight.

Bad habits
2

About the Creator

Olalekan Adeeko

Olalekan Adeeko is an author, podcaster, public speaker, and he advocates for gender equality.

He loves traveling, and meeting people.

He is the author of the best-selling book "Success is free; only if you are ready to pay the price."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.