Confessions logo

The anxiety that hides within

Insights on how a young dancer deals with anxiety and her passion of dance

By Amanda RamosPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The anxiety that hides within
Photo by Andre Hunter on Unsplash

your feet may start to feel heavy but yet your body remains still. You may have your eyes closed yet you start to hear the sound of waves. Easy there your mind is now creating an alternate mind state. Take a deep breath keep your eyes closed. Pay attention to the way your breath feels when you inhale going the your nose ,the expansion of your chest then calmly pay attention to the way your body feels when you breathe out. Slowly feel the air as it fills your stomach.

That’s right these are the words I constantly play in my mind to calm my thoughts, while I’m standing on stage or in front of a camera. The music pulsing underneath my feet as my muscles expand and tense up to the vibration of the music blasting through the speakers. Welcome this is my life, and that brief sentence you ask? Oh that was just a tiny glimpse into my mind as a dancer. You see dancing is one of the many reasons why I strive to keep living. There are so many people in this society to many to count now that I actually sit down and think about it, but everyone has something in common. Whether it’s a goal to chase their dreams or whether it be for the mere hussle of it all.

Competition,envy, money or heck even fame! Maybe some may say real passion. Truth is at first you do fall into the temptation of chasing your dream for fame, and some lose sight of what their main goal in the beginning was. I have to admit I’m no longer in that mind state. Yeah fame would be nice, but I for one prefer helping others ascend to figuring out their life’s purpose. The ones who suffer from the anxiety perplexe. Which I also experience whether it be showing and inspiring others to find different ways of dealing with their anxiety, and letting it be through dance.

Mind boggling, I know. So even though there may be millions of people in this world. First let’s stick to the basics the land of dreams, you guessed it the big apple otherwise known as nyc. The city that never sleeps that’s one you hear often. I for one love being a New Yorker, well new-yo-Rican to be exact. I am of Hispanic descent, and I was originally born in nyc. Yet my parents of my parents were not. So that would make me both American,and Puerto Rican. Just helping for those of you that have never heard that term before.

I know it’s funny,and confusing but hey the nickname works for me. Yes I am aware if I may sound like I am promoting a trip to a bunch of confused tourists, but the food honestly is great. Well in some places,and the entertainment in Times Square is super exhilarating well Atleaste to me. In case your wondering why I’m mentioning this let me revert your attention to the crowd. Who are now circling around the dancers standing underneath all those shiny bright lights and huge billboard screens. This is the sight I see every afternoon on my way to you called it drumroll please…

Dance class eeeepp I can’t hide my excitement. My all time favorite whether it be beginners class or any level really, where I get to meet new faces, learn new dance routine, or simply just find creative ways in moving my body. I walk up the steps and hear 5,6,7,8 ta ta boom, ta dada, and left ,and clap and en-er-gy. “Come on guys feel it no judgement here, I can hear the choreographers voice shouting this proudly from the other side of the room. I am an aspiring choreographer myself so the little rhythm I just mentioned is an example of how to grasp choreography without hearing the beat of the music.

Trick is first you watch the teacher, then you you close your eyes, listen to the counts and instructions. Last you execute the movement being demonstrated to the best of your ability , there are no rights or wrongs. Only perseverance and having a good old time. I really enjoy dance for a multitude of reasons, but another reason would be to entertain. Those of you reading this who are dancers understand where I am coming from, we dance to entertain. To show our emotions,and our voice to the people.

Just make sure that everyone who is watching feels good and have a moment, a moment where they are saying wow ! I really felt the emotion in that performance. I saw the story the dancer was trying to demonstrate. It was so heartfelt! And lastly relating to the audience. Matter fact Ever since I can remember from a time of hiding underneath the teachers desk clueless about the world or or merely existing in my mother’s womb I have been dancing.

No literally!! My mother once told me a story of how she would put the radio player to her stomach and feel me moving to the beat. To a time of me existing fully dancing through the crowded aisles in the supermarket. I was about five at that moment,and from then to now ive fallen in love even deeper.

Chapter 2…….

Workplace
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Ramos

I am a woman of many thoughts mostly on what’s happening in our world and look forward to giving the public some insight into a slight peak in what secrets lie in the forefront of the career of a entertainer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.