Confessions logo

The Aftermath Of Taking Back A Husband Who Has Left You For Another Woman.

It's Not Easy.

By Courtney BenjaminPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Aftermath Of Taking Back A Husband Who Has Left You For Another Woman.
Photo by Artem Kovalev on Unsplash

If you have read my story 365 days +91, then you are familiar with what transpired between my husband and me. What I didn't touch on in that story a lot was in the aftermath. I did say there were aspects of our relationship that were going well and things that needed to be worked on. But how am I? How is my mental health after what happened? It has been an uphill battle, constantly worrying. The girl he had met that he tried to or almost, whatever you want to call it left me for, he met at his work, I made him leave that job, in fact, he never returned once he was let back inside the home. My suspicion did not fade, I found out she had his phone number which he had changed, and he had given her when they apparently decided to just remain coworkers, obviously, I asked why he would, he said it was in case she ever wanted to chat, my initial reaction was or is it in case she ever changes her mind? I tried to bury that thought in the dark recesses of my mind hoping beyond hope that I was just being paranoid, and he truly did decide that he wanted to really be with me, that he did really love me and recognized the error of his ways. I made him change it again, and although he had been more attentive, the thought is still in the back of my mind, will it happen again? Every girl he comes across, especially at work, my initial reaction, is this the one? Is this the girl who is going to change his mind? Make him leave again? The constant checking of his cell phone, the suspicion when he keeps in close. I know it's not healthy and I try daily to push it out of my mind. The fact of the matter is I love this man, and very much want to be with him. How can one fully recover from a betrayal like that? I don't even know if it's a hundred percent possible to fully recover, the guilt of watching him try and do things the right way is overwhelming. And let's not forget the dreams, the constant dreams that it will happen again, honestly, I somehow welcome them, I know that may sound strange, in a sense I feel like they are preparing me just in case it does. Maybe I was crazy to take him back, but love does make you do crazy things. I don't feel like I made the wrong decision, I know people always say forgive and forget, and I truly don't think he actually cheated on me physically, he definitely did emotionally, and although it is easy to say forgive and forget, it is not so easy to actually do it, I had thought I had forgiven him and I think I did forgive part of it, how can I ever forget it though? Unless I got my memory mysteriously wiped for that entire week and a few days past it I do not think I will ever fully recover, or forget, so does that make me crazy that I gave him another chance? Or continue to try and move on from it with him? I really don't know, I just know that I am seriously trying, trying to move past the betrayal, the thoughts, the paranoia, move forward in the relationship. He knows it's been a long road, and we are not even halfway through the trip, he tells me daily this is where he wants to be, I am who he wants to be with, and he loves me. The question still remains though, Is there that one girl who is going to make him change his mind?

Secrets
Like

About the Creator

Courtney Benjamin

An actress and writer with over 70K reads across all platforms, Stories available on Dorian and Episodes, as well as Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.