Confessions logo

That dreadful night which still haunts me!

Read further for a real life scary story!

By Prem Kumar ChettriPublished about a year ago 3 min read
That dreadful night which still haunts me!
Photo by Elti Meshau on Unsplash

During our childhood days, the elders used to tell us different kinds of stories, they varied from family stories to self experiences. I loved those personal experiences and always fantasized for such experience myself. Now I can share tens of those experiences which personally influenced me at different levels. Amongst them, today, I am going to share a horrid experience that happened during my school days and it goes like this:

I still remember that I was in the 9th standard in 1972 and I was overly fond of cinema, any kind. I liked to watch action movies and that night I had gone to watch a wrestling movie of late Dara Singh(prior Indian wrestler and actor). The movie started nine at night, we were two, my late nephew Chandra Thakuri and I. As it was a Sunday, we had planned for the night show. We really enjoyed the movie, a lot of wrestling stunts, which ended around 11:40 at night. It was at Rink Cinema Hall, Darjeeling, so after the movie, we both strolled down( as Darjeeling is a hill station) to the Petrol bunk in front of the Darjeeling Railway Station in order to head home. From there, my nephew headed to his place and I took the sanitorium road and headed towards home at Dhobi Talaw. I looked at my watch, it was almost 11:45 pm so I began to walk fast, almost like jogging. So, in no time, I came to the foot of the sanitorium, from there I had to slow down. As I was walking fast earlier, I hadn't seen a bald man standing near the lamp post at the curve. When I neared him, he asked me " Brother, what time is it ? "I looked at my watch and it was close to 12 midnight which was concerning for obvious reasons and I responded to him, "10 to 12, sir", without a hault so he accompanied me without my consent. I noticed that he was a little taller than me. He also asked , "Where are you going ?" Without even bothering to turn my head towards him, I replied, "Dhobi Talaw". I didn't bother to even enquire about him but still he said "I dwell just below the Govt. High School". I was not in a mood for lengthy conversation, so I didn't ask much and kept walking .

After walking a few steps, I realised that all of a sudden, he is as tall as me and that was alarming because as far as I recall he was easily taller than me just a few minutes ago. I couldn't help but my heartbeat began to go fast, though, I always assumed myself as a brave brat and had walked the same road and some others, even worse, numerous times. But, at that time, I was feeling very uncomfortable, Why ? Until then I hadn't seen at his face and now I had no courage to do so. I began to walk fast . Just before the Govt. High School Gate, he said "Brother, I need to depart from here because I am going through the school gate to get to my place". I didn't reciprocate to that or maybe I didn't know how to, but unwantedly, I watched him going down the gate. You will not believe me, but as he entered the gate, he transformed into a small kid with his head full of long black hair. I haulted for a bit to see him go but before reaching the first curve of the road, he more or less disappeared. Now, my was racing and without wasting a moment, I ran home. Reached home, knocked the door, mother opened the door, I forced myself in. At this, my mother chastisized, "What, why so hurry , did you see a ghost or something ?"

I didn't respond and went to bed, I heard my mother was murmuring, "Walk at night and what can you expect ?" I still didn't utter a word and went to sleep. Only the next morning, I told my family what had happened last night and my second to eldest brother- in-law had already experienced something similar just a few weeks ago. Trust me, I was flabbergasted and perplexed. My son still asks me about it and I still recall that acquaintance every time I walk that way!

Along with this, I have numerous experiences as such, which I will be mentioning about soon! So, keep an eye on it!

Childhood

About the Creator

Prem Kumar Chettri

Join me as I share insights, opinions, and experiences on various topics that interest me. My genre ranges from simple lifehacks to real life horror experiences and from cooking recipes to philosophies!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Prem Kumar ChettriWritten by Prem Kumar Chettri

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.