Confessions logo

Subtraction is making our lives lazy

"Use subtraction to clear the clutter out of your life. The simple life is good and right." -- Is that absolute?

By DenisePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Somewhere along the way, we seem to be stuck with the mantra of simplicity. There was a time when I was a devotee of simplicity. This mantra has become a popular trend, but we must be vigilant.

I've recently begun to think that the old belief that everything is more beautiful when it's simple is all wrong. If everyone pursues simplicity, the world will become boring.

Now, I not only despise subtraction but also love to do addition in life. I want to add something new to my life while maintaining my original sense of balance. I have a hunch that this pleasure may make a future age more alive.

Take clothing matching, for example. I wear white shirts a lot, but I don't think "white shirts and simple pants are the best thing to go with." I love white shirts, but there's more to dressing up than that. I take a risk with colors, I take a risk with patterns, and I take a risk with different clothes. It would be boring to ignore all these adventures and just think, "This is easy, this is the way to go." Instead of putting any thought into it, it would be boring.

"Simple is best. This classic is my thing."

If blindly immersed in this fixed thinking, the taste will be solidified, the world can not expand.

The so-called subtraction method is clever and efficient, but it can lead to risks if used incorrectly. What would you think if you heard such a story?

There is a manufacturer that has long produced a plate with a classic pattern. I do not know whether consumers have been tired of seeing, in short, very bad sales. So the manufacturer called in celebrities to figure it out. The celebrity's advice: Replace the entire plate with only half of it. The plate is suddenly neat and clean. At first glance, the brand new feeling is amazing, so the plate has regained the favor of consumers. Although this is only a hypothetical story, there are many similar examples in reality. Subtraction, at first glance, is cool and easy to do, but just simplifying the color or simplifying the pattern doesn't completely change the nature of things. I don't think it's beautiful or new.

Some people think that a well-organized, clutter-free routine is the best. The room was empty, like a model apartment, with no flowers, no favorite books on the pillow, and no children's toys scattered about.

I know some people who yearn for such a "simple" daily life. Such a home may indeed look enviable. But if I had to live in such a home, I would be confused. Not only is it boring and boring, but it's also very inconvenient to live with all the supplies being put away.

In my opinion, to give up their taste, blindly pursue the superficial "simple beauty", and obey the rules of subtraction, is a boring idea.

Deciding to get rid of everything, living in an empty room, wearing simple clothes that look classy... Of course, it's easy and simple. However, in an empty room, we can't enjoy our hobbies and life is not fun. Clothes that look classy just look classy and are not fashionable. Because of this, I want to mobilize and exercise my taste from now on and want to challenge life by doing all kinds of addictions.

"It feels a bit like summer today, wear a floral T-shirt!"

I woke up in the morning and suddenly thought. So I began to think about which graphic T-shirt to wear. After choosing a T-shirt, you have to think, "What color pants should this T-shirt go with? Which shoes do they go with?" This process may be a bit tricky, and it may fail, but I want to have fun. Only in this way can the dress sense develop quickly.

Others will say, "It costs money to do this." But I think as long as I can afford to hone myself and gain experience and help myself master certain skills, I still want to spend money on this kind of investment in myself.

Once believed in "simple", I changed my mind.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.