Confessions logo

Storytelling My Life

From Birth to Adulthood (Covid Times)

By BigSteff SAPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

Queens born and raised/ Will never forget my stomping grounds, it lives on as I age/ I’m bent on still remembering those days/ More like inclined/ Elementary I was known as an artist in his prime/ That got into some fights and wore vests a lot, when I wear it it shines/ In middle school I fell in love with Hip-Hop, so to my peers I got in line/ Started rapping and having more girlfriends, man I been the guy/ Loved 50 Cent and G-Unit music, plus they persona, no more in the binds/ Parents took me out of school mad lost track of counting times/ Finally in 8th grade they took me to GH to live, reside/ Recorded with 1Blaze, met May & Proph Steve kept my eyelids in the blinds/ Left to come back to the States, no win in my mind/ First experience returning without my parents, I was beginning to find/ Ways of adjusting to Jersey, it was bound to happen, all in due time/ Newark was where I found myself living/ The remainder of my teenage years until my early twenties, felt like I went down to hell in an instant/ Right from the rip I could tell here was different/ Went to high school, graduated/ Off to college, somewhere along the line realized I couldn’t make it/ Then started working/ From one place to the next, but loved interning in Ernst & Young, it regarded IT Risk & Assuring/ Worked at UPS the longest at this point/ First preloaded, then unloaded, feeling stressed but the strongest in the joint/ Got with wifey/ Then planned to tie the knot, get married/ Bought my first plane ticket/ Ebola caused problems with travel, what a plague that made people kick it/ The disease was driving the world insane, it was wicked/ January 2015 we flew to GH, finally came with British/ The wedding took place/ What a beautiful ending, it was great/ Everyone was there/ Afterwards we were very hung, seeing what food will be prepared/ My moms, pops, bestie at the time was in attendance/ It was lit, the MCs were live and you just had to love it, it was epic/ Fast forward a year later/ My first born, a girl named Emily, congrats she was certified on mere paper/ She was as adorable as she once appeared, more greater/ Facial needed some fixing, courtesy Operation Smiles/ They did some operating purposely to get rid of this thing, so she can really smile/ Went to Apam/ Then the North, I meant to tag along/ Except I wanted to go see my dad and my mom/ It came to an end, like convicts lives that are kept in Nsawan/ That are left to get eaten up by it like sharwama/ Opened a foot modeling studio/ Took clips and made sales, they be posing as they look modest & beautiful/ Then came Omega, became a bother/ Walked and it was far away, I say it was farther/ Felt financially abandoned by my father/ Was a security guard as a result at Tema harbor/ In the trenches/ Inspected vehicles near the entrance/ And later worker IDs, I also guarded a private residence/ Rented by CHEC, the company extending the port/ But the main office first, sitting in front, some people tried entering with force/ Stressing ya boy/ Luckily no deading any scuffle or tussle/ Guys stole things at the residence, got Will and Pioga in trouble/ They got locked up, it was really supposed to be subtle / Had to eventually take over there/ Guarded both the main office and residence/ Omega bosses remained thoughtless, it was evident/ Skip ahead a lil, I decided to quit Omega/ The pay wasn’t quite cutting it, precisely I dipped for better/ Returned to the U.S. and got Amazon/ Almost returned to UPS, applied even to Security Secuitas, but I had to opt for Amazon/ Best thing that ever happened/ Rest is history and I never looked back since/ Based in Ship Dock/ It was just perfect for BigSteff, yeah that was his spot/ Where I learned a great deal and did a lot/ Filed for wifey/ She came in 2019, it put a smile on my face, I was happy/ Emily followed a year later right into the pandemic/ Went and got her, returned the next day, it was epic/ A Covid-19 take over was where we were headed/ It became deadly and everyone was staying at home/ Social distancing, masking up, and praying it would be gone/ Virtual learning, Zoom video calling, stimulus checks and getting vaxed/ Covid testing, tracking cases and trying not to get in mishaps/ Sanitizing hands, lockdowns and working remote, a blessing for some, facts/

Childhood
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.