Confessions logo

Sitting In My Chair Upside Down

By Ryan Wilkins

By Ryan WilkinsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

My friend of countless years,

Did sit across amongst our peers,

I pondered why I felt dismay,

A seat apart, afar and away,

This cursed state, I sat and stared,

How no look was found, nor shared,

knew naught why and was unaware,

The vex I felt, caught and ensnared,

The truth behold, untrue and unfair,

I look to you, who has been true,

Light does shine, sparkle and hue,

So fair a face I glanced to see,

A chance, an expression, a mirror to me,

A fate untold my friend of many years of late,

What was a whimper then spoke, now debate,

I wanted you to spy me too,

See what was, what could, what can I do,

The need did grow to bear a truth,

Which crept upon me as moss to the tree,

To look from on high, stoic and see,

What bliss could be. Anon, never and No,

I will not risk, not shine, not let grow,

Not sow, not joy, not toy,

And what could I even speak,

A prospect cold and dark and bleak,

Diminish now a friend and king,

To leave alone, a gutter to swing,

A ship to shore and saddle to steed,

A cloud to the heavens and knight to his creed,

I need not your love, I live untethered and freed,

No longer will I stare, what I hope can never be seen,

Not show, never grow, nor fruit, no been,

I leave this childish daydream, a living nightmare,

Caught in hopes to fall too far, in one stare,

No farther will I ride this hope, answer no siren’s call,

The task too tall, too perilous a fall,

Let me rest, gather my head and my heels,

Let her not see a heart that reels,

Frozen and dead, it beats no more,

I bury my hurt, lost love, undone,

Throw off my clasps attached to no one,

Only a monster, it screams and it growls,

Claws and teeth, up late it now howls,

I will calm this beast, soothe to sleep,

Unprepared It walks on hands and feet,

A newborn, swaddled, unready, unsteady

Tender, young, unworldly, it becomes a kitten,

I meet her gaze, she smiles, unstaged and unwritten

Our eyes lock, time stops, and now I am smitten.

Friendship
2

About the Creator

Ryan Wilkins

Don’t Panic…

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.