Confessions logo

Seven years later, we met in a taxi

Meet

By 黄小二Published 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

Everyone's life is like a car. Many people will get on and get off. There are too few people who can sit with you until the end.

I have a mature face beyond my age, and I don't have a cute girlish heart. My dream is that I have 24 hours to sleep every day, and I won't lose my hair every time I comb my hair, and I won't gain weight after eating meat. Believe in a word, all dreams are illusions.

Taking a taxi in rush hours or rainy days always has the tradition of strangers carpooling. If I am on the way, I will also accept this mode - as if to save some good luck for myself in the next rush hour.

It was raining heavily that day. I just got into a car when I came out of the hospital. I was looking down and returning to wechat. I only heard a girl's voice: "master, are you going to the square?" Her voice sounded familiar. I looked up and looked out the window. It was her.

Our acquaintance was in the summer vacation of senior one to senior two.

At that time, just after the arts and Sciences were divided, all classes were disrupted and reordered. Those with excellent grades can get priority in the ranking - enter the key classes of Arts and Sciences respectively. At that time, my grades were good, and I entered the key liberal arts class. The key classes begin classes two weeks after the holiday, which is a summer sprint course specially formulated by the school for the key classes. There are only three students in the new class, two boys and one girl. I am the only girl left, and the rest are unknown students. I didn't want to sit with the boys I knew or make new friends, so I found an empty seat by the window and stared out the window in a daze.

The learning pressure of the key classes is still great, and the teachers of all subjects will not be anxious, but they just have an inexplicable sense of anxiety - everyone is the top students admitted from the senior one classes, and no one wants to be reduced to the "poor students" at the bottom of the ranking. At the beginning of the tutorial, the class was silent all day, and everyone was studying hard. Naturally, I didn't know anyone except the two boys in the original class and the girl sitting next to me, ah Yue.

This secret competition was put on the bright side after the beginning of the second year of senior high school - the first full-level test after the division of classes. The rule is that all the examination papers of Arts and sciences are the same, but the key class still needs to complete two additional big math questions, and the examination duration is the same.

There was a saying among the students of that year: "those who get math from liberal arts students get the world." As the first in mathematics, I have enough capital to stand out from the crowd. Coupled with the evaluation after the exam, I am confident that I will get the first in mathematics.

The grades and rankings came out soon. The first class that day was mathematics. The math teacher took the ranking table and the test paper and went straight to the podium. With an undisguised smile on his face, I bowed my head and secretly rejoiced.

"Our classmates did very well in this test. The first place in a single subject of mathematics is in our class."

That must be me, I thought.

"The last two additional questions are difficult, but we still have two students who got a good score of 120 (out of 120). Now come and get your own test paper."

I raised my head in shock. As the teacher announced two names, not surprisingly, one of them was me. What about the other?

I stood up and prepared to go up to get my "Medal of honor". Unexpectedly, a girl in the first row also stood up. Her name was Yang Yang, who was as good as my math classmate.

The teacher began to explain the error prone questions on the test paper. I didn't listen attentively and looked out the window in a daze. "I'd better find a chance to meet that girl", I thought.

The number of key classes was small. There were 36 girls and 9 boys in our class at that time. After the test, in order to ensure that everyone sits closer to the podium and prevent boys and girls from sitting at the same table from affecting their study, the head teacher created a unique seating method according to the principle of parity of the number of men and women - three people sitting together, just three groups of boys and 12 groups of girls; It is divided into 3 columns, a total of 5 rows.

In this way, I sat with Yang Yang. Naturally, we know each other.

At first, I just wanted to observe what kind of girl this math score can match me is. She is very quiet, with a ponytail and neat bangs. Although she has single eyelids, her eyes are big. When she writes, there are always a few broken hair across the smooth oval face with the amplitude of her bow - unlike northerners, it is full of the gentleness of women in Jiangnan Water country, which is completely opposite to the girls who are strong in Science in my imagination.

I found that although her math scores are good, the accuracy of problems is not as high as mine, so most of the time my math scores are still higher than hers; Her Chinese performance is better than mine, especially in ancient poetry reading and composition; We are strong in politics, history and geography, and we can get high scores without rote learning; Our English is average, and we are often taken to the office by our English teacher to open a small stove alone

Probably because there are too many times of English teaching alone, we gradually get familiar with it. In this way, we were promoted to senior three.

One of the things that impressed me most was that on the way out of the geography improvement class together, we talked about volunteering.

"I want to apply to Suzhou University, no matter what major is good, just simply want to stay in that city, Jiangnan Water Town, how beautiful."

"It matches your temperament very well. If you're in Suzhou in the future, I'll go to play with you."

"What about you? What do you want to learn?"

"I, ah, may apply for finance, like the Central University of Finance and economics. Good math, no need for nothing."

In a few words, we have outlined the beautiful ideal of future life.

But ideal is only ideal after all.

After the college entrance examination, I went to a 985 college in the South because I slipped. She didn't go to Suzhou University, but entered Jiangsu Normal University.

The friendship in high school seemed to end abruptly after the college entrance examination. Until graduation, I couldn't find her to play.

During the interval when she asked the taxi driver, all the memories about her flashed in my mind stayed seven years ago. When I was stunned, I only heard the master say in embarrassment; "Oh, it's not very convenient, girl." I hurriedly called out her name, and then turned to the master and said, "it's all right, master. On the way, go to the square first."

At this time, she noticed me in the car. I motioned her to sit in and moved her ass in.

"What are you doing in the hospital?" We spoke in unison, followed by a moment of awkward silence.

I took the lead in saying, "I'll come and have a heart examination. How about you?"

"A Yue wanted to have a physical examination, so I came with her. There were too many people in the queue, so I had something to do and left first."

"Physical examination?"

"Well, she passed the primary school teacher examination and asked for a physical examination."

"That's good. How about you? How does it feel to be a teacher?"

"It's not bad. High school students are easier to lead. I'll take a class now and help with some administrative work. There are two holidays. At that time, I was running for the winter and summer vacation to report to the normal school."

"That's good."

Silence again.

She asked, "did you say your heart was uncomfortable after a cardiac examination?"

"Well, it's just a little bradycardia. Yesterday I stopped beating, so I'll see if there's any problem, but fortunately, I just didn't rest well. It's no big deal."

"That's good."

By this time, the bus had arrived at the square.

"Then I'll go first." "OK, I'll make another appointment when I'm free." But it has been seven years since we met.

"Master, turn around."

At this time, a wechat prompt sounded on my mobile phone. When I opened it, it was Yang Yang's wechat red envelope: "thank you for taking me today." I confiscate it. "You're welcome. It's on the way, and it's difficult to take a taxi when it rains." "Hahaha, OK."

I didn't reply to her again. Just like our stagnant friendship, our dialogue also stopped.

Looking out of the window, I suddenly thought of a sentence I saw from somewhere one day: "everyone's life is like a car. Many people will get on and get off. There are too few people who can sit with you until the end."

Passers by are in a hurry. We can't ask everyone to run with you in the long river of your life. A period of time is enough. Thank you for this encounter after seven years, which made me recall our friendship again.

Friendship
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.