Confessions logo

Self-Resolutions

Time to Respect Yourself

By Alys Maeve AmoréPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2

Every year when the ball drops, we tell our friends of these new skills we’re going to pick up or what bad habits are behind us in the new year. It’s always something that we think people will like about us. This year let’s not worry about what others think. It’s time for us to focus on ourselves. Bring ourselves some personal joy. Live for our happiness.

For years, I have hidden who I am from the world. I came out last year as a transwoman, but since I’ve come out, I haven’t done much of anything to correct people who misgender me or call me by my dead name. In 2022, Alys starts to put her feelings first. She isn’t going to allow others to walk all over her for their convenience. I will be as loud and proud of my gender identity as I possibly can be.

Back in October of 2021, I decided to take a break from schooling. I decided I needed to focus on my finances first. Since then, I haven’t been back to school. I plan to change that this year. January 2022 is when I resume my classes for my degree. Not only do I plan to do the work, but I plan to strive in my classes. I want to get as much out of these courses as I can. On top of that, I am going to pick up the language learning app that I haven’t used since November. I’ve always been interested in learning new languages, it’s about time I put effort into doing so. As little as fifteen minutes a day could get me closer to my goal than doing nothing about it. I know learning a new language seems like a big endeavor, but nobody said it had to all be done at once. I hope everyone reading this will take a little time out of their day to do something they love doing. Not something that has to be done, but something you want to do.

My final resolution for this year is to not overwork myself. I don’t want to be the person I’ve been this past year. I’ve gotten through this year but I’m honestly in a worse place than when I started this year. I plan to take care of myself first and foremost. My mental health comes first, my physical health comes first, and my sleep is not optional this year. Knowing one’s self-worth should always be a top priority if we are to make it through the year successfully.

Every year I always say I’m going to start working out or I’ll push myself to be a better worker. This year will be different. When we get to 2022, I refuse to hide who I am. I will expand my knowledge as I can, and I will get the rest I need. I plan to work on myself more. Not for the sake of others, but for my convenience, my sanity, and my sake. Each year is another year we could leave as a better person. Someone who isn’t running themselves ragged, but to be someone that understands their needs come first. You are not here to serve others. You are here to live. Live for yourself, and live life to the fullest. That doesn’t mean you have to be more athletic or spend a fortune on lavish trips. Living life to the fullest means taking care of yourself. Give yourself some time to relax. You don’t need to work yourself down to the bone. You need to know when it’s time to give your aching bones a rest. Treat yourself this year, you’ve earned it.

Humanity
2

About the Creator

Alys Maeve Amoré

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.