Confessions logo

Scene 16

A Letter to a Farewell Friend.

By Ali RyersePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Dear Av,

I have noticed you've been oh so silent. Your Instagram going white, nowhere to be seen, no calls, no texts, and I have sent many letters that went unnoticed by you. If you wish to end such a long friendship like this, so be it. However, your silence will not be the last word, for I have much to say..

The only conclusion I can muster from your sudden absence from me is because of politics and opinions. I noticed you watched a video of me speaking, in your eyes, foul viewpoints on some of those more controversial topics. You are very out-spoken as well to the contrary; however, more leaning in favor of the opinionated principles of our legislation. I'm sure you wanted out of this relationship the first time you disappeared, I can recall your word perfectly, "I need to hang out with people more like me; heading in the direction of success." Yet, for some reason, you invited me back. It stung but I knew better for your age says a lot about your mental state. Don't worry, you'll catch up, and I believe you are, as well, destined for great things. What baffled me, though, was how you were placing value on someone else based on personal perspectives and feelings. It is that very same attitude my mother had about everyone else. You are not superior, nor am I in any capacity. It is utterly childish and your behavior has only been comparatively so throughout the years.

You seemed more headstrong than anyone else, and I even considered you a wise scholar. However, to be a wise scholar setting aside opinions for a moment is needed, and you lack it in every aspect. My views and my morals, as you softly put it, start and end with me. I can agree that neither of us lives or takes responsibility that belongs to another but you have taken it upon yourself to be just another sandbag. Do you even know what you stand for? Doubtful. You are still growing, not to mention your brain has barely begun adulthood. Is that why of the sudden disappearance? You were very loud in 2016 as well as contributing to the BLM movement. Are you embarrassed that a lot of what you believe has been pulled apart and tossed? I would be too. The embarrassment that is the current White House is surmountable compared to those who made his win happen. I believe in the proposed illusions they placated for us; nothing that happened was real. The division spreading like wildfire throughout our nation and the world, is worrisome.

I never passed judgment on your character based on what you believe, through and through. Ironic, isn't it that you are too quick to be a hypocrite. It's because of your current demeanor I started opening my eyes more. You are willing to hate just because the media told you. You are casting aspersions down every patriot and unvaccinated individual because the media told you. You blindly follow the extremists in feminism, the LGBTQ organization and frankly allowing that evil to breed within every decision you make. Nothing you see is what it is, and what it is is never as it seems. Open your eyes and read something other than a piece of literature based on feelings over facts. You will be a lot happier, and I promise, a better scholar than the one you pose to be. I am no better though I recognize that even some of my own beliefs are not set in stone because I know there is an opposing challenge I crave to encounter.

I shall leave you with this if nothing else resonates with you-- the moment you realize the majority of viewpoints are only obtained by what we allow ourselves to know, the better you will be at handling the buried information that leads only to the blackened ends of the truth.

So long, Farewell Friend. Until our paths cross again, I hope the best on your journey, for you have expressed, will be a lot better without me standing in the way.

Friendship
2

About the Creator

Ali Ryerse

Instagram: alirye.

Read on and entertain yourself with my life stories, poems, and opinions of the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.