Confessions logo

Save me

Chapter one

By Ianis😜Published 2 years ago • 17 min read
Like

Jared

I park my car in front of the 80-story building where I'm supposed to run my own business. The porter comes to me with a polite expression:

-Hello, Mr. Shaw!

-Hello, Tony!

I give him the keys and go up the stairs to the imposing building. The doorman opens my door and greets me just as formally and I respond in the same way. In the small name. I know every employee and it seems normal for me to know as much about them as possible, even if there are quite a few. I take the elevator and go up to the top floor where my office is. As soon as the doors open, I find Meli, who has been my secretary since I set up the business.

-Good morning, Mr. Shaw!

-Hello, Meli! What schedule do I have today?

-You have to sign some documents that I left on your desk and you have to choose someone in Beny's position.

I nod. Beny was one of my employees. In fact, he was the closest person to me in this building, but he had to quit his job because his wife wanted to move. And they did as she pleased. I didn't understand why he gave up everything he had here just to move to a whole new place just because his wife wanted to? I mean, where else does he want? ,, You will understand when you will be married and you will have children! "He told me. Well, good luck with that. I haven't had a stable relationship in years, I've been busy with muca, what can I say about marriage? I'm already 27 years old and I've been alone for so long that I've forgotten what it's like to "Be with someone. Have duties to your partner. But nevertheless, I never forgot what it was like to love, but I never forgot the pain of loss."

When I finish my program I get up from the office and repeat the thing with the jumps only this time I'm in the opposite direction. From Meli to Tony. I'm leaving the building where my car is waiting for me. I like to drive so I would never hire a driver. I get into traffic and drive home. I go into the yard and park the car.

-Hello, Mr. Shaw! You have food in the oven!

-Thank you, Karla!

She smiles at me and leaves. Karla is a woman in her 50s who works for me. She cleans me twice a week and eats me every two days. After I eat what she has prepared for me, she goes upstairs. I go to my room and change into a flawless but uncomfortable suit in a pair of sweatpants and a simple T-shirt. I check my emails in the office and then go to the living room. I look around and realize how big this house is. Too big for one man. I spend a few hours in the library until it's late and decide to go back to the bedroom. I go to bed and review all the thoughts I have. I'm on one subject. My business . Everything revolves around the business. That's what my whole life is all about. My mother keeps bothering me to find someone too. I tried for a while but it doesn't work. They fall in love with me and get involved, but I can't give them anything back. I can't love them. I just can't. I don't know why . Maybe something is wrong with me but I know what love is and until I find something more than what I had I will never get over it. Lexie2

I stop the annoying beep of the alarm and roll over in bed. I didn't sleep for more than four hours because I stayed up all night looking for information and finding ways to convince one of the three big companies that my company was the best choice for them. It's not like he doesn't have hundreds of other offers. "If we don't get any of these contracts, we're done, Lexie! "That's what my boss told me, Bob. The future of the company where I work depends on my ability to persuade people. No pressure, I call myself sarcastic as I brush my teeth. and red shoes, I take my bag and folder with everything I need and then I leave.

When I park in front of the building where I will be giving my speech, I feel like I'm fainting. For the most part, I can control my emotions. I have always done well in this job but today is an important day, my job depends on the decision of these three companies. I have to convince at least some of them. I take a deep breath and enter the building. I walk with my back straight and determined steps to show that I am in control of myself. I arrive at the reception where a secretary with a perfect bun on her head and immaculate clothes smiles politely at me.

-Hello, how can I help you?

-Hello, it's Lexie Jensen, I have an appointment for 11 o'clock.

-Just a moment.

Check your computer to see if this is really the case. I look around and I can't help but admire the interior designer of the building. So well developed and I am convinced that very expensive.

-Domana Jensen?

The secretary's voice interrupts my thoughts.

-Yes?

-Forget the access card here. You need to get to the 30th floor. Then go to the second room on the corner.

-Thank you!

I take the card in my hand and cross the hall. I see a movement to my left. Something catches my eye. It's a feeling that makes me turn my head and look away. I see a man and a woman hurrying after him but at a respectable distance. I look at him, he is dressed in an impeccable suit and he has an imposing posture. The elevator is coming and I'm stepping inside. I look at that man again and the incident causes him to turn his eyes away at that very moment and our eyes meet. His people frown and mine are amazed. For a moment I forget to breathe. I can't feel my body anymore, all I see are those eyes. The doors close but the image does not disappear from my mind. I take two steps back almost to collapse, but I lean against the elevator wall. Everywhere I look around me, I see only those eyes. Maybe younger, more innocent but the same. The same dark blue. I take a deep breath trying to recover. I remember the presentation I have to give and I try to come back to the present. The elevator doors open when they reach the 30th floor and then go out to look for the conference room. When I find her, I go in and arrange my things in the 5 minutes I have left until the commission has to come. I'm agitated, more agitated than I've been in the last few days and I don't think it's because of the presentation. I try to concentrate, to repeat the speech but I can't, those eyes appear in my mind again and again and I can't help but hate the fact that it bothers me so much. Even after so many years. The elevator doors open when they reach the 30th floor and then go out to look for the conference room. When I find her, I go in and arrange my things in the 5 minutes I have left until the commission has to come. I'm agitated, more agitated than I've been in the last few days and I don't think it's because of the presentation. I try to concentrate, to repeat the speech but I can't, those eyes appear in my mind again and again and I can't help but hate the fact that it bothers me so much. Even after so many years. The elevator doors open when they reach the 30th floor and then go out to look for the conference room. When I find her, I go in and arrange my things in the 5 minutes I have left until the commission has to come. I'm agitated, more agitated than I've been in the last few days and I don't think it's because of the presentation. I try to concentrate, to repeat the speech but I can't, those eyes appear in my mind again and again and I can't help but hate the fact that it bothers me so much. Even after so many years. those eyes appear in my mind again and again and I can't help but hate the fact that it bothers me so much. Even after so many years. those eyes appear in my mind again and again and I can't help but hate the fact that it bothers me so much. Even after so many years.5

10 years ago

I step on the feet of a stranger who has already drunk too much to worry about confusing the world, and I try to move on, followed by Bia, my best friend. In the end, we managed to get past all the people and get to the yard. We're at the end of summer party. Last weekend until school starts. The last year of highschool. Last year of torment. All I want is to get the hell out of here. To fly somewhere far away, somewhere where I have a life of my own and most of all somewhere where my parents are gone. We just don't get along. They want a perfect daughter but I'm not. Anyway, let's get back to the party. We got here ten minutes ago and got two plastic glasses of the drink and now we could sit in the yard and enjoy the party:

-Psstt!

I look at Bia.

-What the?

I ask her when I see what big eyes she made:

-He's here!

- Really?

She nods.

-Damn it ! I say through my teeth.

I look around to see him too, but Bia stops me:

-Don't look, maybe he won't see you!

-Just tell me where he is now.

-He's about to leave the house, but Thomson stopped him from saying something.

-Why do I always have to ruin my good mood?

By him I mean Ashton Fray. My ex-boyfriend . Ashton is the most coveted boy in school, and the two of us were together for a year until we caught up with Lily, a girl a year younger than me, kissing in the girls' bathroom. I gave him my slippers right away but he kept trying to apologize even though I didn't care about his apology. I wasn't going to forgive him. But he kept writing to me, calling me and even following me. This whole thing was getting annoying, so I tried to avoid it. And now I was here, and I knew he was looking for me. And he would see me in a maximum of 3 minutes, so I had to find a way to get rid of him. I looked around and realized that the only way out was where I entered so I couldn't pass while he was there and if he had come here to see me through the door he would have seen me. I had to hide somehow until he crossed to the other side of the yard. I pulled Bia a few steps further and saw that Thomson laughed at something Ashton had said and then left and he went out into the yard. He began to move forward. I realized he hadn't seen me yet, but that was going to happen the next minute. I looked around desperately to find a loophole. There was a group of boys next to me and that's how the dumbest idea I had in my life came to mind. I hesitated for a moment and then said one: I looked around desperately to find a loophole. There was a group of boys next to me and that's how the dumbest idea I had in my life came to mind. I hesitated for a moment and then said one: I looked around desperately to find a loophole. There was a group of boys next to me and that's how the dumbest idea I had in my life came to mind. I hesitated for a moment and then said one:

-Damn it !

Between my teeth I kissed one of them. DO NOT reject me. Please don't reject me. If he rejected me, I'm sure a scene would have come out, and then I would have drawn all my attention. But fortunately he did not reject me. He hesitated for a moment when he was probably too shocked, but then he answered me. Her lips were soft and they seemed to fit perfectly with mine. I opened my eyes and looked over his shoulder. Ashton passed without me noticing. I pull away from the kiss so violently that I lose my balance for a moment. I look up for a moment, just a moment, at the one I kissed to see the confusion in his blue eyes, and then I lower mine, apologize, and pull Bia, who is speechless. We quickly cross the courtyard and the living room of the house. Then we run to the car. I go to the driver's seat and Bia stops:

-Wait, you just ...

-Yes!

I say exasperated and with red cheeks.

-Now get in the car!

She obeys but still with a shocked expression. My hands tremble when I put the key in the ignition and drive. When I get two blocks away from the party, I calm down.

-Now I can talk?

Bia asked. I look at her and raise an eyebrow as a sign of what you're going to do.

-You just kissed a stranger!

-Damn it!

-You must have seen his expression. Not that I wasn't totally shocked, but still.

-Hey, at least Ashton didn't see us.

I say in my defense.

-Yes. Even so.

He bursts out laughing. I laugh too. We were silent for a moment and then we looked at each other and we laughed, which could be heard all over the car.

-I can't believe I did this thing.

-At least the good thing is, you should never see him again.

-Yes. Even so. The present

Jared

I wake up in a bad mood for a reason I can't explain. I go to work without any desire and I almost express the exasperation I feel when Meli tells me that I have a date today. I walk into my office and do nothing until 11 a.m. when Karla tells me it's time to leave if I want to get to the center on time. Normally this thing should have been done by Beny, but since he left and I still haven't found anyone to take his place, I have to do this job.

I go downstairs to the building with Meli following me. I can hear the banging of his heels on the floor. When I get to the front desk, I head for Carla.

-Mr. Shaw!

-Hello, Carla! I leave you responsible. Don't leave anyone in the building unless they have an appointment.

-Sure sir!

I'm leaving but something catches my eye. A female figure climbing the elevator. I look at her from thin, long legs to the molded black suit she's wearing. But when I get up and catch her eyes I feel my legs soften. I frown and look more closely to make sure my mind isn't playing tricks on me. I still see her. He's there and he rolled his eyes. I just get stuck while the elevator doors close and she disappears. Her eyes, so many memories. I know it's her. I could never forget his eyes. But is she here? After so many years?

-Domule Shaw?

I hear Meli's voice waking me from my dreams and bringing me back to earth. I look at her and I think for a moment my expression scares her because she is startled. I look around with my heart beating so hard. How he hasn't beaten me for so many years. The two women look worried as I think I'm not looking. I turn to Carla:

-Carla, do you know who that woman was who just got on the elevator?

Carla looks at the elevators but has nothing to see, she is no longer here.

-Aaa ... I think it was Lexie Jensen, sir. Represents A&Z company. Have a presentation today on the 30th floor.

"" All right. Thank you!

Her name, her name. That's her name! So it's true. She's really here.

-Melis go to the conference. I didn't care who he was, I was busy. And cancel whatever else I have in the program today!

Meli frowned for a moment but recovered immediately and answered me seriously:

-Yes, sir!

-Good!

Then I leave, letting them know what they want from me. I take the elevator and get on. I feel agitation all over my body as I get out of the elevator and head for the door at the end of the hall. A door opens for me to say hello and I answer quickly and then enter the door. As soon as my presence is noticed in the room, there is silence. The three men at the table stood up.

"Sir, Shaw!"

But I didn't care about them or their formalities. I'm the only one who cares. And he's looking at me. He holds a folder in his hand and shows it to a projector, but now he just stands, as if petrified, and looks at me. I realize everyone in the room is looking at me. I straighten my voice:

-I decided to take part in this presentation. Mrs. Jensen, please go on!

It takes her a moment to recover from the shock or maybe she thinks they are just in her imagination.

-Sure .

He says after a moment and smiles. He returns to her projection and speaks further. I can't hear anything he says all the time. I'm just looking at her. I look at her full and pink and full lips that utter every word so resolutely. She is more mature, but she has a body as perfect as ever. Much more arranged in terms of clothing. She has wavy hair left on her back with a strand that keeps falling on her perfect cheeks. But her eyes can't take their eyes off me. They are so dark in color. Almost black, you can hardly see the difference between the pupil and the iris and that makes them look even bigger. He doesn't look at me at all while he's talking.

-... This project involves setting up a center to help children with cancer. This involves an investment of 500,000 thousand euros to provide the center with everything it needs. I know it's a lot of money, but it's a noble cause. These kids deserve it!

He ends his red-cheeked speech from the decision with which he spoke.

-Okay, Mrs. Jensen, we'll decide and let you know what we've decided ...

Start one of the men at the table, the ones I put in this position. They will refuse it. I know they will do it because it exceeds the budget I allocated for donations by 200,000 thousand. I think she realizes that too because I see the corners of her lips trying to lower them even though she's trying to keep them high.

-No no . We will finance the project. Mike, make sure all the paperwork is ready!

Everyone looks up at me but no one comments:

-Sure, sir!

- Thank you, Mr. Shaw!

She says after a moment. I look her in the eye and this time she holds my gaze.

-With pleasure!

Then I leave the room and go to my office where I sit and meditate on everything that happened today.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Ianis😜

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.