Confessions logo

Quality Time: A Gathering With Loved Ones.

The dining room is my favorite place in our house or is it?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 17 days ago β€’ 3 min read
7
Quality Time: A Gathering With Loved Ones.
Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

What's your favorite area in your living space and why? by Rupi Kaur's Gratitude Writing Prompts

This took me a while to decide. I spend a whole lot of time in my office. A spare bedroom that has a Murphy bed that is used on occasion, otherwise it is my office space set up just exactly how I like it! It has the equipment and storage space, I need and want.

Then I think about how I am mostly alone in the space and that means I can write and get work done. I like that but I am a big family person, so it isn't my favorite spot.

Another living space is the bedroom. This is where I can read, decorate with Native American art that I enjoy, and have bookcases, jewelry, and photos stored. I have a television where I can watch Hallmark when the hubby is watching something I am not interested in.

There is a walk-in closet and a bathroom with French doors. And the bedroom is where we have sex. Yes, that is important to me too. However, as you age it doesn't happen as often as when younger.

Okay, so what is it then? I enjoy every room in our house except maybe the guest bathroom or his bathroom. It needs work.

What I love about the dining area is that when we have company over, we can all fit at that table. There are table leaves when the standard table won't work. We have tablecloths that fit too.

There is a beautiful hutch at one end and cabinets with good dishes separating the kitchen from the dining area. We have no view of the television which I like. In the kitchen the television swivels to watch it in the kitchen also.

We can have a meal, visit and play games or cards at the table. It is a perfect area for family photos too. I have some plants that are next to the window and I enjoy having them there as well.

Before the plants got huge and took over the window space, what stood out was the bench which was a great place to take off and put on shoes and boots. There is a nice storage space on the bench too.

Now, we can eat, visit, and play games. We especially enjoy playing cards at the dining room table now.

My mother and daughter, my son's fiance' are all competitive card players. I learned how to be okay with giving the game to others when it is so important to them. Not so that they know. My husband and mother-in-law figured out that I was purposely giving up the game.

My husband teases me and will say, yes, she thought she would give me the game and I double-skunked her. That was okay with me too. He decided he didn't want to play cards all of the time now as I am no competition for him. That is okay with me also.

We play with others and that is enough for me. I played a lot of cards as a kid.

It is always lots of laughs getting together with family. I so enjoy those times. I have noticed though that I can't handle the whole experience like I did at one time. It gets to be too much cooking and cleaning up for me. It is not like when I was younger and had no trouble at all.

I would much prefer bringing a dish to share at the daughter's house or meeting at a buffet or pizza place and covering the bill.

So maybe my favorite place for loved ones is their house or somewhere else! And that may make my favorite spots in my living space my office and bedroom. With an occasional company entertainment in our dining room.

Family
7

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk16 days ago

    Our family used to play some mean games of canasta...I miss that

  • Mark Graham16 days ago

    What a great way to state our favorite places. Good work.

  • The only place I like in my house is my room because I can sleep there and sleep is my most favourite thing to do hehehehehe

  • Daphsam17 days ago

    Looks like you have some great comfortable places to be. It’s always fun when you have variety. Thank you for sharing, you created such imagery with your words gave me a cozy feeling.

  • Im glad you have some favorite spots! Well written!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.