Confessions logo

Procrastination is killing me ⚰️

This Blog about my procrastination.

By MuraliPublished 10 days ago 4 min read
5
This image was generated by Meta AI

It started many months before I even began my Vocal Media account. I fell into darkness, a darkness called "PROCRASTINATION." All people have issues in their lives, but mine is procrastination. I'm struggling with it; I don't know what to do or how to handle it. During lockdown, many people had mental or other issues, maybe even procrastination, but in my case, that didn't happen. I didn't have mental issues, especially procrastination, during lockdown. However, now I'm dealing with procrastination. When I mentioned this to my parents, their reaction was, "This all happened because of your Android phone." In my opinion, that's not true. My friends say, "Me too, bro; everyone has some issues; it comes and goes." While that's true, it doesn't feel that way for me. I'm posting this here because my friends and family don't know what to do, and I don't have any social media except WhatsApp. That's why I'm posting about it here.
 

This comment is similar type of mine. 😅


Even in lockdown, I watch useful YouTube videos such as movie analyses, science, educational content, and some entertaining videos. However, nowadays, I only watch useless YouTube shorts. I find that my concentration level for watching long videos has decreased. I've even watched some videos on how to handle procrastination, but they only seem to work a little bit, not most of the time.
 
Sometimes my teacher gives me assignments to do within a few days. I literally complete them because there's a time limit, so I do it since otherwise, I wouldn't get any marks. I do this work because they push me to do it, not because I push myself. 
 
I have a big watchlist of movies, especially international ones, like "On the Silver Globe" (best sci-fi ever), "Hard to be a God" (sci-fi similar to "Dune and 1984"), "Come and See" (best anti-war movie ever), "I Stand Alone" (most controversial movie, especially the ending), "Tree of Life" (about existentialism, with great cinematography and music), "Stalker" (about faith, hope, and existentialism), "Fantastic Mr. Fox" (a children's movie definitely not for children), and "8½" (about writer's block).
 
I also have some anime series like "Ergo Proxy" (the best sci-fi and philosophy anime ever), "Steins;Gate" (a time travel message), "Haibane Renmei" (full of melancholy), "Serial Experiments Lain" (sci-fi about the digital world and real-world), "Eden of the East" (an underrated series), and "The Twelve Kingdoms" (the best isekai, similar to "Game of Thrones"), etc. Additionally, I have some mangas like "PTSD Radio" (horror, on hiatus because the author was disturbed after writing it), "Usogui" (STL arc is peak among the peaks), "GTO" (it's about life lessons), and "Ichi The Killer" (from the author of "Homunculus").
 
I also have an ebook list including "The Problems of Philosophy" (about epistemology), "Metamorphosis" (best fiction about Kafkaesque), "Kafka on the Shore" (best fiction ever), and "Beyond Good and Evil" (Nietzsche's work). The reason I mentioned these fiction and non-fiction works is that you might also enjoy them. I am too lazy to attach hyperlinks to these works, but you can just Google them. However, I am literally not getting into these works.
 


My favorite song was "It All Comes Down To This!: Oru Naalil." This song is about everything, literally everything (a philosophical song), which is why I liked it. Before procrastination, I liked to hear this song many times. It was not boring, but now, even though it was my favorite song, it has become boring, and I can't bring myself to revisit this masterpiece anymore, and I don't know why.
 
You could say, "You posted some articles and poems and also read others' articles, stories, and poems, and you even commented on them." In reality, I am reluctant to do those things, even though I do write articles. I have many questions about it, like, "Do you really want to do this?" I like games and have some on my Android like "Gris," "LIMBO," "Mini Militia," "Old Man's Journey," and "Sky: Children of the Light." But I still don't want to play them now. I play "Mini Militia" during free hours at college because my friends force me to play it, not because I want to (even though I like to play). It has become even worse.
 
I am literally writing my first fictional story, a journey of a man named "Vira," titled "Failure." I started this work 1 1/2 weeks ago, but I haven't finished it yet—not because of writer's block, but because of procrastination. Maybe I will finish it within this month.
 
I am happy, but I can't do my work because of procrastination, which makes me sad. Procrastination is my biggest enemy; it has broken me into many pieces. That's why I can't do my favorite things. I still don't know what to do. If you have experience handling procrastination, your advice might help me. Please help me. I really want to overcome this, but I don't know how to do it. The people around me have their own problems to deal with, so they can't help me. I am becoming a weak person.
 
Thank you for reading my article.

SecretsBad habits
5

About the Creator

Murali

Hi guys

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Manikandan Blog Writer2 days ago

    superb

  • very good

  • Haha. Lol, procrastination = humans 😂. but we must avoid it.🥰.

  • Omgggg Oru Naalil is my favouriteeeee song!! Gosh I never get tired of listening to it!

  • Omgggg Oru Naalil is my favouriteeeee song!! Gosh I never get tired of listening to it!

  • Andrea Corwin 10 days ago

    Oh my.🤔 I do think that this Information Age and social media give people more impatience and short attention spans. Even on Vocal, few want to read longer stories; they pick the short ones to check out and comment on. Do you have ADHD? Can you try short goals each day? Write down 3 things to accomplish that day; maybe do morning, afternoon, and evening items. Cross them off when finished. Do it for 21 days straight because it takes 21 days to change a habit. You have a lot of things on your list to watch (most things you listed I haven't heard of, but I'm probably like the age of your great-grandmother). I found it hilarious when you said you were too lazy to include links. I find it helpful to ALWAYS do the items that MUST be done and that are disliked, FIRST, to get them out of the way. It frees up space for things you enjoy which could just be looking out the window.🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗

  • Mark Graham10 days ago

    Interesting column you wrote here. Procrastination is something that we all go through sometimes on a daily basis. Good work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.