Confessions logo

Peter Pan

The twisted mind

By Ayra MirzaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Yes, I feel lonely. Yes, I have feelings too. In fact, my feelings tend to be what others care the least about. After all the kindness I've shown, and the fun adventures I take them on, they still tend to want to leave. Why? Because they miss their parents? Because they miss home?

I miss my parents too. But what do you do when they eventually replace you? Not wanting you as their child anymore.

I’ve made my own world now, that I call “home”, and they should too. I’ll be with them forever, unlike their parents, who can’t give them the happiness and joy that I can. The kids don’t know what they want. What they need. So, I decide for them. If they really want to miss out on the chance of being with me all the time, then, might as well take their soul to keep forever.

Wendy and the boys have been quite an amusement to be around. Something about Wendy makes me feel much more at peace; the way she smells, the softness in her eyes, and the care in her voice...it reminds me of someone who I've loved very deeply in the past...someone who didn’t love me back. It was my mother who she resembled.

Though I’m happy that someone like her is near me, and that I'm able to provide her with the joy that’s been missing from her life... I wanted to hurt her; harm her in some way that would make me feel better for the anger and loneliness I've had to deal with because of a person like her. But I remind myself that she’s just like me, a kid, wanting to live her childhood like there’s no tomorrow.

“I think we should return back home. It’ll be morning soon and we don’t want mother and father to be worried.” Wendy suggests.

She looks at me, waiting for me to act; waiting for me to take them all back.

“Yeah. I definitely wouldn’t want your parents to worry either.” I answer sarcastically, but none of them seem to notice.

I lead the way back to their residence, making their wish came true by letting them spend their morning in a way which they’re used to.

I continue to keep an eye on them as they go about their day. Being woken up by their mother’s voice, having breakfast together, their father telling jokes, all of them sharing a laugh, playing together, and lastly, a tight hug and goodnight kiss from each parent. I watched it all.

Although it causes annoyance and irritates me to see a big smile on the children’s faces by spending time with their parents, I know I must keep myself calm and let them live in that moment every now and then to keep them from distress. After all, they’ll realize soon enough that it’s all a dream; that they’re long gone from the actual world; away from cruel reality. They’ll realize soon that it’s all their imagination which they can make come true, here, in Neverland.

They’ll stay young, just like me, and be happy with the eternity of their childhood; not having to worry about growing up. Forgetting their parents and other family and friends won’t be hard for them, after they see their wishes come true; after they see that whatever their heart desires shall appear in front of them.

The true world is nothing else but a place which fools the eyes and ears of the living. The truth so easily hidden; people easily becoming the victim of deception by the use of false words and emotions.

I’ve done the kids a favour by keeping them away from such people who are waiting to deceive their precious, kind and innocent souls. They all seem to be fascinated by their own thoughts and imagination, and it’s better to keep it that way.

Again, during the “night”, Wendy, John, and Michael would come and play. I’ve told Tinker Bell to take care of them and take them on the adventures they yearn for.

And as for me, I sit and watch. I watch the misery the parents are going through in reality, knowing they’ve lost their children. I feel a sense of satisfaction in hearing them blame themselves for the parting of their child’s soul; them being too far away to touch and feel the warmth of their hugs and the beating of their little hearts; being too far to hear the laughter and playfulness in their voice.

My eyes finally got to see the waterfall of tears dripping from the parents’ eyes. My ears got to hear the screeching of their voice, leading them to lose their breath. I could smell the fire burning within them. All of which my senses were longing to experience. The pleasure I got out of their pain was indescribable. Taking a long, deep breath was like, inhaling the sweet fragrance of a flower and exhaling as if all the weight that I carried was somehow lifted, so easily.

I return back to Wendy and the boys, needing to spend time with them before they go back into their “fabricated world”.

I find them sitting together on top of a hill, enjoying the atmosphere around them. I smile, knowing that I won’t be left alone anymore; I have my family with me now. I approach Wendy and take my place beside her. The fragrance of roses, reminding me of the perfume which I gifted my mother at one point. Putting my head into her lap, I begin to weep, along with taking in the scent of her clothes, forgetting that there is anyone else there watching me. Wendy sets her hand on my head in order to provide comfort.

“There there Peter,” she says in a calm and quiet voice, not asking any questions regarding my sudden change in emotion.

I don’t remember the last time I felt this comfort; the last time I truly felt at peace. I wipe away my tears with the back of my hand, close my eyes, and drift away into my happy place in which my mother’s love rests.

Childhood
Like

About the Creator

Ayra Mirza

Short story writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.