Confessions logo

Passionate for Love

A Need to Help

By Adriane KirbyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Passionate for Love
Photo by Mihály Köles on Unsplash

Did you know that there are 53,0000 homeless people on the streets every night. 25 % percent of the homeless are people with severe mental illness. 30% of the homeless population are children. Where you aware that out of every 10,000 veterans 21 are living on the streets? Helping these people and showing them love is my passion. There is nothing like the feeling that comes with not knowing where you are going to lay your head down during the night. I speak from personal experience, I know what it is like. There is a deep feeling of dreed that comes from the fact you have no safe place to be.

Most people do not have a lot of compassion for the homeless. When you pass one on the street you think to yourself, " Why doesn't he just get a job." Or you may figure that the dirty homeless man, with torn shoes and jeans is begging for money so he can enjoy another cold one. Most people figure that there is enough work out there. If someone wants to work all they need to do is to go out and find a job. I have thought this way before and I passed those same judgements on the homeless. This is why I know the majority of the people think this way about our less fortunate.

My favorite quote is," They choose to live that way." That is the best one of all. Think it over why would someone choose to go to bed at night laying on a sidewalk cold, dirty and hungry? Who would want that? My guess is nobody. And I am pretty sure no one grew up wishing they could be homeless. The fact is life happens and sometimes awful situations can not be avoided. The most successful person can loose everything they have in a blink of an eye. Homelessness can happen to any body for several different reasons. I don't believe one single person should have to spend one night being homeless. Nobody should have to suffer from being cold and hungry. And if I had may way about it nobody would. My heart goes out to anybody in need.

Yes this is a serious passion of mine. I have given food to people on the street, taken people in my home that where on the streets, and given money to people who where on the street. And it is not just about that if you take the time just to talk with them and show them one act of kindness it makes a difference in there lives. The time I spent volunteering to serve food or volunteering to do work at a homeless shelter has been more rewarding to me than anything. Can I get people to follow me. Yes I can, I lead by example what I say I do. I don't just talk I take as much action as I can. I have given talks on the subject using my own personal experience. I try to spread the message of hope to anyone who will wants to hear it.

I also let the homeless I come across know that I was also in their situation at one point in my life. If I can pull myself out of that situation anybody can. And I tell them how I worked to do that. After a person becomes homeless they need a lot of help to get started again on the right path. We have to solve the problem of what caused them to become homeless in the first place. Be it a drug addiction or mental illness, or if the person is just down on there luck at a time. They need a safe place they can be. A place where they can start their lives over. They need a place where they can go shower at night and wake up the next day, and actually go look for a job. Nobody is going to hire someone who looks like they are fresh off the street.

What they need most is to be shown love. And to know they are worth helping and fighting for. They need to know people are there for them. They need a second chance, there is no harm in giving that to them. It only takes two seconds to be a blessing in somebody's life. If you have two seconds to spare be that blessing. You will get back so much more than you give. I do not have a problem with parting with .50 cents if I am asked for it on the street. I have everything I need what, is the harm in sharing that blessing with someone who does not? We are coming to a point in this world where there are more have nots than people who have everything. If we do not share our blessings and reach out to help others, What is the point in having them? After all aren't we suppose to love no another?

I have a goal in the future that I will be able to open two homeless shelters. One for the addicts and one for the mentally disabled. I am wanting in the future to help as many people as I can. Because at one point in time there where people there that helped me when I needed it. We all face times in our lives where we need help. We just need a friend a person to tell us they understand what we are going through. A person to give us the guidance we need to get through what life is handing us. Some just need it more than others. If I can make a difference in their lives that makes a big difference to me. You see it also reminds me of where I come from. I can relate to the hopelessness and fear they fell. Nobody talks about that much. In a situation where people do not see a lot of hope. The best thing you can do is tell them you know it can get better.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Adriane Kirby

Living the dream here in Texas.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.