Confessions logo

Partnerships that work.

It takes two to tangle.

By Olalekan AdeekoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

There is a popular saying in the community that I am from, they say twenty children cannot play for twenty years. I really do not understand this until I became of age and noticed all that they had been saying to us when we were young were true and all through.

Writing this great piece reminds me of my childhood friend and partner in crime as they call us. Our closeness had no bounds as we are always found doing things together, we virtually even sleep at the same time. A lot of times people will come to my parents and try to ask if we both were of the same parents, they keep asking because of the closeness they saw radiating between us.

My parents will always tell them no, most times a few people aren't convinced we are not of the same parents, they walk up to us directly and ask us if we were siblings.

The great childhood memories we had together rings a bell every blessed day and I cannot but sit and imagine how bad and troublesome I was with my friend, show me your friend and i'll tell you who you are they say, I think this is actually talking about me and it's true.

A long time ago during my childhood days I had a close friend named Mark, Mark and i went to the same elementary school, we were in the same class and he lives close to my home, so each time my dad comes to pick me up from school we go home together, he later drops at his place while we drive the next two houses to mine.

It happened a long time ago but i still have a vivid picture of how it played out and was successful. My friend and I noticed anytime my dad comes to pick us up, there is always a lady that waits patiently for his arrival time and she hops into his car telling him where she would drop off. We both were annoyed because we didn't like the fact that she waits for my dad and we are pushed to sitting at the back all because of her.

Now this is the most interesting part, we both agreed to put an end to what has been happening now the question is how did we intend to go about it?

We came up with a plan to find our way out of the school after closing hours we wait patiently for the arrival of my dad. We stopped my dad before he got to the school gate snd made sure he turned immediately after picking us. We kept on doing this, day after day, she walked up to, my friend and i then she asked this question, Has your dad been coming to scool to pick you guys up from school?

Our answers were echoed aloud, No! are you sure she asks and we replied No he hasn't been coming to pick us from school he always s sends someone to come pick us now.

The look on her face tells it all, we didn't mind what her facial expression was, all that mattered to us was the fact that our actions were carried out without stress.

I can really remember the feeling that very day. My friend was the first to take the position where she had always sat in my dad's car. He sits and mimics her for a while without my dad getting or guessing who the person was or is.

My friend and i both had lovely night rest after achieving the great tasks we gave ourselves. Childhood memories still play vividly in my head. My childhood was a time what spending and experiances.

Childhood
1

About the Creator

Olalekan Adeeko

Olalekan Adeeko is an author, podcaster, public speaker, and he advocates for gender equality.

He loves traveling, and meeting people.

He is the author of the best-selling book "Success is free; only if you are ready to pay the price."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.