Confessions logo

Park Central Vibes

He called me a Barracuda 🤘🏽

By The Vibe Podcast Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I’ve had the pleasure of working at several properties in New York City. After a couple of years over at the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan, I moved on over to its sister property. The Park Central Hotel, the realest property I have ever worked at and I have plenty of stories to tell!

From Union drama to flames with no names, to famous people I have met, to guests wild behavior and to the wildest name to have ever been called!

I have been called quite a few things in my day, but Barracuda by a high profile guest... how dare you!

Do you know who I am?? I am Karen Vasquez Paralegal!!

Oh the memories!

This was at the height of my depression way back in 2014. Fairly new mom to babygirl Mia and although she was an absolute joy, I have always been missing something..

I just didn’t know what, proving that you can indeed suffer depression with a good job and new baby at home.. in time you’ll learn why and how I recovered.

Now that I have recovered, I do have plenty of stories to tell and fortunately lots of funny ones like the night a guest called me Barracuda!

I gave him the name; Papa Smurf!

Papa Smurf himself one evening calls the desk demanding compensation because the heater in his room was not working.

My response was simply, “No sir, what I can do is send Engineering up to the room to take a look and then we can take it from there.”

Something about my face and voice have always gotten people confused like I can easily be intimidated or something.

But no darling I have been through too much to be intimidated by anyone.

Unfortunately, often times I have to correct folks on their manners.

I have respect, I have no fear so please Papa Smurf control yourself.

Something in the tone of his voice told me, Papa Smurf may have just lost his temper when he did not receive a comp night!

How dare I say no to Papa Smurf!

He responded, “No? I’m coming down” and in New York we have a term.. have you ever heard the term; “I’m coming for you”? Or “she came for me”?

Well, that’s the vibe that Papa Smurf gave me with his nasty and demanding response. I knew he was going to come to the Front Desk blazing and I needed to be ready so I prepared myself and got back up... that’s right, I got Hotel Security on deck ready for Papa Smurf and his shenanigans.

Papa Smurf was a high profile guest, who came to the front desk ready to attack Karen Vasquez Paralegal.. not that night darling I was born ready.

Mr. Smurf once again demanded a comp night and I said, “No”.

He attempted to get close up to me however, my two guys stopped him and his response was... she’s a Barracuda!

I say this, Darling tell me something I don’t already know!

I’ve had the pleasure to work at this property for just about a year and have plenty of stories!

Good ol New York City!

I cannot wait to revisit my old stomping grounds!

Beautiful property right in the heart of NYC!

Oh the Union rules and regulations and they send me for fire safety training in Brooklyn???

Like I mentioned previously, plenty of stories!

Near Central Park, and an awesome team!

The realest property ever!

Lots of funny stories to tell that teach a lesson which makes me happy.

Shout out to everyone at PC! Thank you for reading our blog!

Karen Vasquez Paralegal Vibes!

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.